We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an ok place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Orchid
Main Street, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food in an ok place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for early dinner. Place opened at 4. We were the first customers of the day. No problem: food and service were superb. We'll likely go back.

In a place where food is plentiful but good food is not this place stands out above the rest. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Lived up to our anticipation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We heard the Silver Soup here was absolutely delicious but did not have time to sit down and eat as we had to get back home. We took 2 large containers of it to go -and then had to smell it in the car all the way back to Sacramento. We could not wait to see if it tasted as heavenly as it smelled - and it did!

The restaurant was very busy at 1 pm on the Labor Day Monday. I would say that 75% of the customers in the restaurant when we were there were Asian. A very good sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was looking for a good Asian dinner in South Lake Tahoe, and even though the outside of Orchid didn't look very appealing, I was totally satisfied by their good service and food. We had some very basic Pad Thai and Cashew Nuts dish, but they were great!! Good job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Slow service but GREAT food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After arriving to a very busy restaurant and eventually getting seen to and our meal brought to us, we were very impressed! The food was evidentially freshly made and tasted delicious. The serving sizes were much smaller and more appropriate compared to other restaurants we have eaten in around the area. Although the service wasn't great, the food definitely made up for it, I would recommend this to others, just don't go hungry and expect to be in and out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had the pumpkin curry, a house specialty, and it was delicious. My husband had a crispy fish dish which was also very good. They brought our dishes out before the appetizer and then asked if they could bring the appetizer while we ate our meal. We thought that was kind of ldd. We said no and the food came out when it was supposed to and it was still hot. To their credit, they gave is 10% off our bill to make up for the mistake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.