We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to our anticipation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Orchid
Main Street, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Lived up to our anticipation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We heard the Silver Soup here was absolutely delicious but did not have time to sit down and eat as we had to get back home. We took 2 large containers of it to go -and then had to smell it in the car all the way back to Sacramento. We could not wait to see if it tasted as heavenly as it smelled - and it did!

The restaurant was very busy at 1 pm on the Labor Day Monday. I would say that 75% of the customers in the restaurant when we were there were Asian. A very good sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    11
    11
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was looking for a good Asian dinner in South Lake Tahoe, and even though the outside of Orchid didn't look very appealing, I was totally satisfied by their good service and food. We had some very basic Pad Thai and Cashew Nuts dish, but they were great!! Good job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Slow service but GREAT food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After arriving to a very busy restaurant and eventually getting seen to and our meal brought to us, we were very impressed! The food was evidentially freshly made and tasted delicious. The serving sizes were much smaller and more appropriate compared to other restaurants we have eaten in around the area. Although the service wasn't great, the food definitely made up for it, I would recommend this to others, just don't go hungry and expect to be in and out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had the pumpkin curry, a house specialty, and it was delicious. My husband had a crispy fish dish which was also very good. They brought our dishes out before the appetizer and then asked if they could bring the appetizer while we ate our meal. We thought that was kind of ldd. We said no and the food came out when it was supposed to and it was still hot. To their credit, they gave is 10% off our bill to make up for the mistake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent flavors, great lunch price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lunch is a great value here, under $8.00 - the ingredients are fresh and the dishes are really authentic

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.