We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I find myself in South Lake Tahoe, I will definately dine here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
2180 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA
+1 530-600-2220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro opened in February 2012 serving authentic Italian recipes and the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Reservations and to-go orders are welcome.
Scottsdale/Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If I find myself in South Lake Tahoe, I will definately dine here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

On my first visit to the Lake Tahoe area, I found that, not surprisingly, it is a extremely beautiful, fairly casual town with a good mix of locals, visitors, and probably a fair number of seasonal residents (my season was summer, some probably live for the winter sports). I came to South Lake Tahoe area first and foremost for its beauty and to be outdoors (I live in Phoenix, this year, we've had 118 degree plus days) and hoped to find good food (not 5 star restaurants that you would find in San Francisco, Chicago, NYC, or other big cities of the World, but, good food) and I found it here. The wine list was of note (they had a wonderful Valpolicella), the bread was warm and crusty, the Caesar Salad was on point (including Anchovies), all of my table of three had wonderful entrees, but, there was no room for desert. The service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“To Go..NO NO!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I ordered three varieties of pizzas to go. I had prepaid with a generous 10 dollar tip and what we discovered when I got them home was disgusting. Ice cold, soggy and greasy with very little toppings. So disappointed..I've lived in Tahoe for30 years and never have I experienced a pizza as horrible as these..Hopefully they take better care of their in-house diners..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at Primos tonight was a dining joy. The veal piccata and ravioli was outstanding. Service was top notch. Take the time to find this little gem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had two of their specials tonight, I had their duck ravioli and my wife had shrimp and scallop risotto. Both very good. Really good. Service was earnest and attentive. All good. Far above and beyond your typical olive garden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best kept secret of So Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This little Bistro had better Italian food than we had in Italy. Charming small restaurant in a strip mall, behind a restaurant named Orchids. We found it through our Consignee at our timeshare. The cooks were trained by the Italian owner. Lunch is 1/2 the price of dinner & has ample servings. I had Eggplant Parmesan & it came with Fettuccine and red sauce. My husband ordered Ravioli & Meat Balls & both were delicious. We were served fresh, hot bread, just out of the oven. With drinks & tax (including one red wine) we paid $26.50. To be sure I liked the wine, the waitress brought me a sample glass before she served the wine. The waitress (who is usually there during winter months) was very attentive, fun to talk to, had a cute European accent & made our visit very enjoyable. We gave her a larger tip than 20% as the service was so good & the total price so low. There were table clothes and Italian music playing (even for lunch). We wanted to go back again during our week there but ran out of time. Primo's will be at the top of our list for our next trip to Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo's Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.