We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great Italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
2180 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA
+1 530-600-2220
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro opened in February 2012 serving authentic Italian recipes and the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Reservations and to-go orders are welcome.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not that great Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Skip this one if you know good Italian food. The red sauce was not that flavorful (they take pride in calling it gravy but by any name this was not a good flavor). My chicken piccata had a nice lemony flavor but the chicken was tough. My husband's pasta dish was completely average for what we get in So. Cal and my 17 yr. old son didn't like his pasta with seafood - it had some other strange things in it. The best thing there was the Tortilla soup - bizarre for an Italian restaurant - but that was the only good thing of the evening. A must skip and we were sorry we went.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    15
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“By far, best Italian restaurant in South Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't be deceived by the restaurant location or decor. It is the best Italalian Restaurant in South Lake Tahoe. Excelent, freshly made pasta, served "al dente". great appetizers & specials. Not an extensive wine list but superb Italian's very reasonalby priced. Very, very attentive service - while perhaps too informal this might be a California thing. Overall a great place which we will surely return every time we're in Lake Tahoe

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“Conventional Menu, Exciting Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've eaten at Primo's 3 times. The menu has very conventional Italian restaurant items, but the specials can be almost anything: wild game sausage appetizers, various unusual homemade raviolis, etc.. The menu items are delicious and very large servings. The specials are far more interesting (to my tastes), as they are much more experimental. Service has been very good when I've been there, but that can, I imagine, vary with day and server. The last time I was there, my server had also been the chef who had prepared two of the specials, and so was especially capable of describing them to us. Though the food is high quality, the atmosphere is quite casual: exactly what I like, but not "fancy" if that is what one is looking for. Tables are close together and it feels natural to talk with other guests. Not somewhere that allows you to have a "private" meal for two.

Going back for Valentine's Day 'cause we like it so much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent food and very friendly and accommodating folks.
The food is very, very good. The homemade pasta is wonderful and the specials are delicious. Prices are reasonable, especially for Tahoe where you can spend an arm and a leg for something you could make better at home.
I've been here several times and the service is hit or miss. Nothing horrible, just that they seem to need some standardization to the service model. I'm sure there is a resource for this in the industry. The service at the bar is very good and it's a nice atmosphere.
It's nice to have a restaurant in town where they offer something unique (homemade pasta). They have nice Italian wines too.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food okay for a Tahoe standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food we ordered were Eggplant Ricotta Pizza, Linguine Clam, Meat Lasagna, and Chicken Parmesan. They're all okay, the Linguine Clam in red sauce was particularly good. The server was also attentive and accommodating of our needs. Our only complaint was the tiramisu dessert. The lady fingers were too soft, the cream too heavy and thick, and the sprinkled powder should be coffee powder instead of dark chocolate powder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo's Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.