We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade pasta in South Lake Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
2180 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
+1 530-600-2220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian, Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro serves authentic Italian recipes and boasts the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Large parties, catering, reservations and to-go orders are welcome. We also have quarterly wine pairing dinners.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent food and very friendly and accommodating folks.
The food is very, very good. The homemade pasta is wonderful and the specials are delicious. Prices are reasonable, especially for Tahoe where you can spend an arm and a leg for something you could make better at home.
I've been here several times and the service is hit or miss. Nothing horrible, just that they seem to need some standardization to the service model. I'm sure there is a resource for this in the industry. The service at the bar is very good and it's a nice atmosphere.
It's nice to have a restaurant in town where they offer something unique (homemade pasta). They have nice Italian wines too.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food okay for a Tahoe standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food we ordered were Eggplant Ricotta Pizza, Linguine Clam, Meat Lasagna, and Chicken Parmesan. They're all okay, the Linguine Clam in red sauce was particularly good. The server was also attentive and accommodating of our needs. Our only complaint was the tiramisu dessert. The lady fingers were too soft, the cream too heavy and thick, and the sprinkled powder should be coffee powder instead of dark chocolate powder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

have now eaten 3 times at prmos...i will be back soon as there food is excellent and the fresh pasta is unreal.....best ffod i have had in a long time....price is ok ...very clean...and staff very freindly....keep it up boys

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good local Italian food; great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A local told us to go! Very small and casual; small menu but daily specials. Fried ravioli app was delicious! Pizza and pasta very good, nice portions, nice wine list. Frank T. was an excellent host! Prices very reasonable. Just a few miles from our hotel, went early and got right in. We would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wow! We've been tyring to find time to dine here and are so sorry we didn't make it sooner. Awesome Italian food. Touted as homemade and tastes it, too! All four of us had a different entree along with salad and appetizers. Everything was incredibly delicious. Our waiter was attentive and helpful - describing the various entrees in detail. Wish we'd had room for dessert as they sounded delicious. By the time we left shortly after 8 PM the place was packed. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo's Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.