We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Tallac Trail

Mt. Tallac Trail
Mt Tallac Road B trail head, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Awesome views of Tahoe and the the area. I didn't see anyone for five hours and had the summit to myself - cool!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view, but hard to find trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We really loved this trail, but it is a miracle we made it to the top. The trail has no markings at all. I suppose that this would not be a problem if there was no snow because you could see the trail, but we had to stop about 5 times to look for the trail.

We went up the steep way that goes past cathedral lake. It is not bad until just before the rim where it is nearly straight up. Then it is not bad for about another mile, and then the scramble at the end is free for all.

The view from the top is unparalleled. Be sure to do this hike on a clear day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Most Difficult and Most Awe Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I just finished perhaps my most difficult hike ever, to Mt. Tallac. Yet I also have to say it was a real rush! And the views were awe inspiring. I actually found it to be a spiritual experience. When you see the marvelous sights of nature, it's hard not to be moved.

What made it so difficult?
1. It was very long. It took me 8 hours to travel the 11 miles of the hike.
2. The trail was very rocky and at any given moment the rocks underneath you could shift and leave you unstable.
3. The incline was significant. Elevation at the Trailhead: 6,480' and then at the Summit: 9,735'.
4. During the spring there is a glacial bowl that is covered in snow. The snow field blocks the trail, so you have to improvise. Think of some way to get up there.
5. Additionally during spring as the snow melts, it often creates a stream in the trails. That can make the trail a bit unstable and even dampen your shoes.

What made it so awe inspiring?
Before you get very far at all, you are on a ridge that gives you a remarkable view of Fallen Leaf Lake. Then 1.6 miles into the hike and you are at Floating Island Lake, 2.3 miles to Cathedral Lake and
4.8 miles to Mt. Tallac summit assuming the trail is available. Incredible views persist along the entire route to the summit of this peak, which dominates the SW shore of Lake Tahoe. The summit affords without question the best panorama in the Tahoe Sierra.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not quite to the top ... yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been on this trail twice in the last few weeks. Snow at the upper elevations make it hard (impossible) to go all the way, but that's coming this summer. Meanwhile the vistas of various Lakes is still worth getting up this trail even if only for 2-3 miles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Back country skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice summer hike with unbelievable views from the top. Be sure to bring your camera. Also great in the winter when there is lots of snow for skiing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Tallac Trail also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Mt. Tallac Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Tallac Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.