We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4130 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Tracy, California, United States
1 review
“excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Traditionally been staying here for the past 4 years for my birthday bash. i have no complaints. Rooms are reasonably priced and very close to the all the casino's. The manager provided my party quality customer service. If i planned a tahoe trip in the near near future i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
24
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is an old lake Tahoe Motel near stateline and although it shows it's age my room was clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. The manager went out of her way to ensure my room was clean and that I had enough towels. Apparently, that had been an issue earlier in the week. I stayed here during a ski weekend and would do so again.

Room Tip: Well located on a quiet street near stateline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I came to South Lake Tahoe to see the sights and relax.The staff was friendly, the room was clean and heated, and it was close to the shopping center and beach. However, the room was very dated; felt like being bad in a 1950's time warp. The free breakfast was a joke, very noisy due to the plumbing sounds from the neighboring rooms, the jacuzzi was filled up with snow and the free wifi was very slow. Since the bed looked very dated, we slept on our sleeping bags.
Our tip for the Ambassador is to make it welcoming to guests. HIRE A DECORATOR.

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Check-in and -out was easy. Room was quiet, clean, and spacious. Our first room had a mini-fridge/microwave combo. TVs are old, but have 4 sports channels. When toilet got clogged and overflowed, they moved us to a new room, quickly and without any fees and charges.

Continental breakfast included bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, bananas, chewy granola bars, oj and coffee.

Rooms are a bit dated, only 3 pillows provided for a queen mattress, but there is a bottle opener in the bathroom--nice.

Room Tip: The fan in room #3 makes sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I've stayed there last two years in a row and always get the room w/ a kitchen. It's clean and the staff is very accommodating. They have a heated pool, really good continental breakfast w/ fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, milk & cereal, juice, coffee and energy bars. They also pay extra each year to allow their customers to enjoy the lake front beach just down the street at no cost to you ($25 a day). It's walking distance to casinos and all the main strip (hwy 50).

Room Tip: My family and I really like room 21 w/ a kitchen and shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel was fine. It was clean. The bed was fine. The desk clerk, Carolyn, was lovely. The beach was great.

However.

No air conditioning.

No hair dryer.

Dirty pool.

They booked us into a single queen room, event though I said we were a couple with a toddler. Then they charged 10 dollars for a rollaway.

Just things to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We've stayed at the Ambassador every summer for years and have always had a great time! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and it's so nice to be able to take our little dogs on vacation with us! We've never had anything but a positive experience at the Ambassador--including this summer--June 2012. Thank you Ambassador for making our vacations always so pleasant and memorable. Our family will see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Ambassador Motor Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motor Hotel
Ambassador Hotel Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motel Lake Tahoe
Address: 4130 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Motor Lodge, nestled between large pine and poplar trees, steps away from the pristine shores of Tahoe's Lake, one of the largest lakes in America. If golfing is your passion we are a breath away from the "celebrity noted" golf courses in California. "When you can stay here, why stay anywhere else" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.