We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We heard this was place to go for great pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Pizza Co.

Base Camp Pizza Co.
1001 Heavenly Villiage Way, Suite #25A, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530 544-2273
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We heard this was place to go for great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our first trip to Tahoe and heard this place had terrific pizza. It was very good and the service was equally good. We were fortunate that we didn't have to wait long for a table. We ordered the Base Camp Pizza with pepperoni, sausage mushrooms and onions. It was very good. Definitely would go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    210
    36
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Pizza, salads and service were all excellent, the atmosphere was fun and lively with music and surrounding shops. We ordered a large Greek salad which was plenty for three of us and a small pear and walnut salad which was delicious. The personal pizzas were just the right size and the choices were many. They also make gluten free pizza which my daughter had and said was very tasty unlike others she has had. We would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Terrific pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The wait is long to be seated; we were there on a week night (yes, it's summer, I know) and waited an hour for a table outside. There were no heaters where we sat so we were offered some blankets. Great idea.
The pizzas arrived piping hot. They were larger than we expected; we'd order a smaller size next time for 2 of us. Three couples, collectively, had an entire pizza leftover after stuffing ourselves on one personal sized (about 10") and 2 mediums.

They have live music which helps pass the time, as well as 'corn hole' for people to play while waiting.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Pizza served here is not only delicious but it also has a great, fresh taste for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MUST GO!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hands down the VERY BEST pizza we have ever experienced. Service was very good, atmosphere (outside) was wonderful... We enjoyed this place so much we visited twice in four days! Huge thumbs up from us!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Pizza Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.