We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to eat in S. Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Pizza Co.

Base Camp Pizza Co.
1001 Heavenly Villiage Way, Suite #25A, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530 544-2273
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The place to eat in S. Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We couldn't help notice that this restaurant always had a crowd, live music and seemed like the place to be in the Heavenly Village. With indoor and outdoor seating they can hold a good crowd. Due to a surprise thunderstorm we decided to sit inside. We were immediately greeted by a friendly hostess. All the servers were incredibly friendly and wanted to know about our vacation, what we've done, where we're from, etc. But we can't forget to mention the awesome pizza! Our kids each had their own personal pizza. They loved them! My husband and I split the Big Mountain. Yum! It was so full of flavor. We enjoyed every bite. We'll be sure to go back next time we're in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    187
    34
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great place for anyone to eat. Located in Heavenly Village behind the gondola. We went for the margarita pizza which was excellent. Also shared a small caesar salad, which was a little too small. For 2 people I would get a size bigger. Drinks come in very large mason jars. We camped out to watch some hockey finals while we were there so its a good place to catch a game. They even changed the channel on a TV to the game we requested. Outdoor seating as well, there was live music on the night we went.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed a Friday evening meal at Base Camp. There was a band playing and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the music. The Tai Chicken Pizza is delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Camp here for dinner at least one night in Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Super cool family place. The night we went there was a band, bean bag toss, and a hula hoop show outside. The garlic chips are excellent with pesto. The pizzas all have a signature twist. Some are quite unique. I had the pear and Gorgonzola and enjoyed it. The salads are also good. The base camp and mountain high (meat lovers) are both very good. The service was a little slow but the place was crazy busy. The kitchen made a small mistake and the manager gave us a free pizza for later. Overall great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent pizzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the place near the Gondola. Family atmosphere, very busy, about 45 min waiting time for dinner. But worth it! Food was very good & so was the service. We didnt have to wait long for the pizzas. The Greek salad was very nice too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Pizza Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.