We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please open a branch in my hometown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Pizza Co.

Base Camp Pizza Co.
1001 Heavenly Villiage Way, Suite #25A, South Lake Tahoe, CA
530 544-2273
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Please open a branch in my hometown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was fantastic food! The pizzas are amazing and there are plenty to choose from for every taste! The spinach artichoke dip was so good that we cleaned out the entire dish (with forks!) The service was also very good and they had outdoor entertainment several evenings. Would definitely go again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    334
    161
    29
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do not miss if you like pizza...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The pizza, beer, and service is absolutely NOT to be missed. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable; the beer selection is great, and the local beer is definitely wonderful (with great guidance by the knowledgable staff); and the pizza was absolutely awesome. In our group, we tried the Mediterranean, Base Camp Pizza, Fire Medley, and the amazing Pear/Gorgonzola... and ate every bite. The atmosphere is very laid back and friendly - no one even noticed our hiking attire and we didn't feel out of place. Lots of live music right out on the patio.
Definitely do not miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was pretty disappointed with the pizza here. I had high hopes due to the glowing reviews, so was surprised at how bland it actually was. I definitely would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A locals hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pizza was great! Service with a smile. There were allot of locals hanging out in the covered area outside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas I've eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Base Camp Pizza Co. located near the ski lifts @ Heavenly Ski Resor in South Lake Tahoe- couldn't be in a more appropriate place- the pizza was just that- heavenly! A friend and I were shopping in the area and trying to find the perfect place for lunch. We opted for Base Camp Pizza Co. and were glad we did! We ordered a medium make your own with sausage, pepperoni and pineapple. It was delightful. Not only was the food great, the service was just as great and the atmosphere as well. You don't want to miss this. Your trip to Heavenly isn't complete until you've tried this pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Pizza Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.