We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent a accommodation ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent a accommodation ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Grand Residences are right beside the Heavenly Gondola and the ski hire shop so convenience for skiing couldn't be better. It's a pity they had so little snow this year.

We had a 2 bed unit with a very large living room in the middle which could have slept a further 4 I believe.

The kitchen was good and the maid service was flawless.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    167
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
206
191
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Firstly, the staff at the Marriott Grand Residence were superb. Very helpful and courteous. So my lack of stars here is about the room and general poor value for money.
We stay at a lot of Marriotts. So many in fact that my husband is one of their gold level members (whatever that means, if it means anything at all?)

I understand that this is a 'vacation club' so perhaps room standards vary, however you're paying a lot and expect Marriott quality and brand promise.

At check-in the staff were super and helped us to upgrade our room for an extra price per night. No complaints there. Top notch customer service.

However, the room wasn't great. It was well equipped but for the price I would have expected something way better than a very thin, cheap, mean queen bed. With equally thin duvet. The bed was something you'd find in a basic 2 star motel. The top mattress even slid off slightly it was that thin and light.

Our daughter was to sleep on the sofa bed which was a little soiled (something goey stuck on there). Gum also on one of the bar stools. But here's my big gripe: Elevator noise! Our room was 3200 and every time someone arrived by elevator it would bong two loud chimes. BONG BONG!!! No big deal at 8pm, but annoying at 2am, 3am, 5am and so on. I think the walls must be paper thin. I must have heard that bonging noise hundreds of times during our stay.
I could also hear it despite wearing ear plugs.

So all round two nights of poor quality sleep. I even tried the sofa bed one night and frankly the floor would have been better.

I really feel that for the quality this place is overpriced. Yes it's very convenient for the gondola, shopping and restaurants but you can find much better quality rooms / suites at the Timberlodge Marriott opposite (we've stayed there too) for the same price, or many other great hotels in the area.

The fact that the staff were so lovely made
up for a lot, but we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review on your stay at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe. It is wonderful to learn you found the service from associates resort-wide superb. It is a letdown to read you found the accommodations disappointing overall due to the overall villa, specifically both the bed and sofa bed comfort as well as noise experienced from the elevator. Your comments have been shared with the management of the resort and we thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you at any Marriott Vacation Club resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This time share property had great rooms and public areas and a professional staff that was up to Marriott's high standards. I stayed at the property in October so I can't comment on the skiing at Heavenly but you are walking distance to the lift so it is perfect for ski season at Heavenly mountain. You can walk to all the casinos in town and some great hiking trails up Heavenly and a public beach are very close. In summary, the property has great facilities and access to everything South Lake Tahoe has to offer year round.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Ross! Thank you for the feedback on your getaway to Lake Tahoe. It is wonderful to read you found the resort up to the Marriott Vacation Club standard due to your overall visit. We look forward to seeing everyone again soon at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great property, terrific location, but very poorly managed.
As a mixed race family we did not feel welcome here. My wife could go where she pleased without hindrance, while i was hassled by security - manager says "they have a homeless problem"

Unfortunately we prepaid the vacation package and had to rough through it.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location. Good services. See below for more of the positives.

Complaints - almost every time we called either front desk or the valet the phone rang many times or went to voice mail. Can't think of any other location out of 100s of Marriotts we've stayed out before that this has happened.
Also several times we went to front desk the staff there were nice enough but their standard response to delays was "my computer is acting up". If that's traveler a new system and if not then improve the staffs efficiency of using the system.

This is an awesome location for ski gondola , shops, restaurants, casinos and just about everything else

Connie the concierge is AWESOME!!!! She goes above and beyond anyone else at this hotel. Makes you feel like you are part of her family. Such a warm and caring person far beyond the mandates if her job. We absolutely love her!!!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Scott! Thank you for the review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe! We are happy to hear you had a positive overall stay due to the efforts from associates like Connie. We thank you for recognizing her and please know your kind words have been shared with her manager. We apologize for the service failures encountered at the front desk and valet and thank you for bringing them to our attention. The details of your experience with the front desk and valet have been shared with the resort management. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed in a 3 bedroom 3 bath suite. The room was enormous, and had just been refurbished. We easily slept 7 people in the suite. The kitchen was fully stocked with all modern appliances and utensils. The facilities, especially the pool and hot tub, were great. The staff was very helpful, and took a genuine interest I'm making sure you were enjoying your stay. The location is spectacular, if you are skiing heavenly there is no better place to be! It is also within easy walking distance of nightlife, dining, entertainment, and the casinos. I would reccomend saving on the valet parking and parking for free at the Harrahs down the street. Marriott really outdid themselves with the grand residence. It was a truly excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the five-star TripAdvisor feedback on your stay! We are thrilled to see your expectations were exceeded during your recent visit as you found the villa both spacious and well-appointed and the associates service-driven. We look forward to serving you on a future getaway to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best Marriott Vacation Club location we have ever stayed at. Construction originally was started as a Residence Hotel by another company and was bought by Marriott before it was finished. Rooms - Villas in Marriott VC terms - are almost all slightly different. We were looking for a 3 bedroom unit with it's own washer/dryer facilities and turns out we ended up with their Penthouse version. Over 2200 square feet. Corner unit on the top floor. 2 levels high. Master bedroom & a second large bedroom on the first level. Huge living room, dining room & kitchen. Second level had a 3rd large bedroom, sitting area with a wet bar, and the outside access to a private deck & hot tub overlooking both lake Tahoe & the mountains. Every bedroom had it's own bathroom, large screen TV & fireplace. Plus there was a "visitors" bathroom on the 1st level. Additional TV's & fireplaces in the Living room & upstairs sitting area. We were thoroughly blown away! You are just a few steps away from numerous restaurants and shops plus the Gondola. When it comes time to find a top notch restaurant just for the adults - ask the concierge. They know all the good ones and will make the reservations for you. Check in/out was easy & quick. Front desk staff remember your name and call you by name ever time they see you. They only have valet parking but being MVC owners we did not have to pay the daily valet fee.

Room Tip: Best views are from the top floors. It you want to look over the lake just ask for a lake view. Same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey Levon! Thank you for the five-star review of your family vacation to Lake Tahoe, CA. It is exciting to see you describe the resort as outstanding because of the spacious, well-appointed villa and top-notch service. We look forward to exceeding expectations again at Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.