We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good value for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We walked in and got a great rate for the season. Parking was an unexpected $26 expense, but the room was clean and comfortable (we stayed in the studio) and the location was awesome for walking around. Four hot tubs was awesome as well. We had a great visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    148
    42
    25
    14
See reviews for
177
170
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Right beside the lift at Heavenly but not ski-in/out. Needs updating as getting a bit tired/worn. Skiing at Heavenly has stunning lake/desert views but lots of cross mountain skiing to go from Nevada to California side. Glad to have gone but 3 days plenty !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As an owner I always stay here when coming to Tahoe and I am never disappointed. The service is excellent and the rooms are well kept. This trip I had a 3 bedroom, 4 bath villa and it was huge with plenty of room to spread out. If you want a sure thing when visiting Tahoe you can't go wrong with the Grand Residence Club.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wandered prior to our visit looking at reviews what accommodation would be like. I must say that our stay was excellent. Accommodation was not what we had requested. We was on 2nd floor and not top floor. First night was the noisy. The area around lake Tahoe is beautiful and well worth a visit. I would not have paid for valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited here end of summer. Great location. Easy checkin. Had a one bedroom with slightly odd configuration of lock-out...lots of doors and one opened onto refrigerator. Wouldn't have worked for four people but for one it was fine. Bed comfy. Small bathrooms. Decent kitchen. Living room small but ok. Good for summer not sure would be my preference for big ski gear trip. Wonder if Timber Lodge larger?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in a 1 bedroom, 2 bath, king bed condo for 4 nights. There are several options of types and sizes of accommodations - ours was huge and beautiful with a full kitchen, dining table for 6, living room, 2 fireplaces, 2 televisions and 2 full baths. We were on the top floor near the end of the hallway, so it was unusually quiet in our area. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location of the Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe is right in the middle of Heavenly Village right by the ski gondola - which we did take up the mountain to spend a couple hours strolling the trails (beautiful views in September - even out of ski season). There is a grocery store right across the road, lots of shops, and restaurants, and a casino all within walking distance. There are daily activities and a large, heated pool - and of course, there is the beautiful Lake Tahoe area to also enjoy. Dear friends of ours were also at the resort and they took us to several of their favorite places in the area. It was a wonderful part of our California adventure. We would definitely recommend the Marriott Grand Residence in Tahoe and would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to South Lake Tahoe for a family wedding. We stayed in the Marriott Timber Lodge for the first three nights, but had to move over to this location since they were booked on the fourth night. They are very close together, which does help.

The service is very good. The people working at the desk and at the valet area are very friendly and helpful when needed.

The value is very good, as well. We actually stayed for free because my in-laws are Marriott Vacation Club members. This is one of the properties, and they had a couple of free certificates, so we were all able to stay using those. I did look at the prices for this particular time, and when you consider the space that you have, it is a very good deal. The one downside is the parking. It is $26 a day, whether you are an "owner" or simply a guest. That really adds up. We did NOT park here; we found another location. It just sort of makes it a pain. When we stayed in NYC a few years back, our parking was FREE at our hotel, and the room was actually very well priced. So, the $26 fee is rather aggressive, I think, especially when other places have it for free.

I did NOT sleep as well in this place as I did in the Timber Lodge. The Timber Lodge rooms had been very recently updated and the beds, as well as the sleeper sofas were very, very comfy. Our family of 5 crashed in the middle room, where there's a sleeper and two places to sleep along side the window. The sleeper sofa was not very comfortable.

The rooms are very clean initially, but you do not get daily maid service, so things get a bit messy.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is right in the area of shopping, restaurants, skiing. The views are lovely, and it is just perfect, as far as a great location.

The rooms are very large. This room was actually even larger than the fabulous corner room we stayed in at the other Marriott in town. The center area was bigger, here as well. However, the rooms could use a bit of updating. They are just starting to look a tiny bit outdated. The only reason I really noticed this was because the Timber Lodge rooms had been updated and looked so incredibly nice. It was very nice to have THREE bathrooms, rather than just two, though.

If you need a lot of space in a great location, consider staying here, but you may also want to check out the other property, as well, just to compare. It's such a great town that, no matter where you are, you'll probably enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.