We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located to explore South Lake Tahoe within the bustling friendly atmosphere of heavenly village. Within the hotel is very calm and tranquil to enjoy and relax by the pool or in the hot tubs.

We stayed 3 nights in one of the studio queen rooms which were ideal to make your own food in the kitchen provided or go out for a meal.

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfy and reasonably sized with free high speed wifi and air con. The bathrooms are large and very clean.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful especially the concierge staff. There is a private beach down the road which you get free access too while staying at the hotel. The hotel has a good fitness centre and laundry room on each floor.

One recommendation for the hotel would be the lack of a bar to sit and relax in at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    171
    48
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
197
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived on July 4th with our daughter. The first time she has seen the fireworks on the beach. I made a reservation for a room with a bed and sofa sleeper as per the hotel's reservation operator. We ended in a very small room that only had a king size bed and they were completely sold out! :( We had to bring in a lounge chair from the deck to make a bed for her. The front desk did apologize and sent up several more pillows, blankets & comforter, so I could make a bed for her. They did change our room charge for the inconvenience. Unfortunately my daughter still didn't get a good nights sleep and ended up with back pain for a couple of days.

The front desk staff is very friendly and did try to help.

The small room & bath were both clean. Nice tub! Bed was comfy! We had an extra large deck off our room with a wonderful view. Had a fireplace in room.

Room had a coffee pot, but no outlet close to it. ??? had to move it to the bathroom.

Close to shopping, restaurants and a few blocks from the gaited beach area (easy walk).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

As a travel agent I like to try different places. A sort of site inspection if you would. This place was fantastic.
The bed was very comfortable, employees were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much we altered our travel plans and stayed another day.
It was easy to get in and out a close walk to the casinos as well as shopping, the tram to Heavenly was a two minute walk.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the crowded 4th of July weekend and never had any problems getting in or out of the place. First of all, it is located at the end of the Pioneer Trail, a shortcut just past Myers that drops you right at the hotel, avoiding all the Lake Tahoe Blvd. traffic. We easily save 20 minutes. Right across the street is a Raley's Supermarket with all the groceries you could possibly need. We were impressed with all the organic and health conscious products. Surrounding the hotel are shops, restaurants, entertainment, and a movie theater. There's a gondola right outside that will take you to the top of Heavenly. I imagine this would be super convenient during ski season. The casinos are a quick five minute walk.

The hotel has access to a private beach on the lake four blocks away. We were able to watch the spectacular fireworks display sitting on the beach. It's worth the trek up to Tahoe to view the fireworks. Way better than any show in the Bay Area.

The rooms were typical Marriott timeshares, i.e. clean, spacious, well equiped. The sofabed was larger than most. We liked the counter height bathroom counters. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is not a five-star property but more like between three & four. The appliances and furniture are a little outdated but still pretty good. We rented a one-bedroom for two weeks and very happy with it. It's spacious, including the bathroom. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The town of South Lake Tahoe in itself in not that nice, but this property is in the only area that would be considered nice. There is a large grocery store across the street which is very convenient. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location - quick walk to casinos, but much quieter than staying at the casinos. Next to Heavenly tram, beautiful views from Heavenly. Very comfortable and spacious room. Full kitchen with supplies. Friendly Staff. Access to Lake Tahoe beach. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I moved to this hotel after I left one I had reserved which was pretty bad. I was told I could only stay two nights because they had been booked up for 8 months for fourth of july (not true). The woman who checked me in was cold and officious. I rented a studio--strange--had a full kitchen for a reasonable price. Air conditioning, nice pool, with restaurant service around the pool. Centrally located but be prepared to pay $26 a day for parking--outrageous! The best people there were the valets, sweet and friendly. NO ROOM SERVICE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.