We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the crowded 4th of July weekend and never had any problems getting in or out of the place. First of all, it is located at the end of the Pioneer Trail, a shortcut just past Myers that drops you right at the hotel, avoiding all the Lake Tahoe Blvd. traffic. We easily save 20 minutes. Right across the street is a Raley's Supermarket with all the groceries you could possibly need. We were impressed with all the organic and health conscious products. Surrounding the hotel are shops, restaurants, entertainment, and a movie theater. There's a gondola right outside that will take you to the top of Heavenly. I imagine this would be super convenient during ski season. The casinos are a quick five minute walk.

The hotel has access to a private beach on the lake four blocks away. We were able to watch the spectacular fireworks display sitting on the beach. It's worth the trek up to Tahoe to view the fireworks. Way better than any show in the Bay Area.

The rooms were typical Marriott timeshares, i.e. clean, spacious, well equiped. The sofabed was larger than most. We liked the counter height bathroom counters. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    159
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
191
188
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is not a five-star property but more like between three & four. The appliances and furniture are a little outdated but still pretty good. We rented a one-bedroom for two weeks and very happy with it. It's spacious, including the bathroom. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The town of South Lake Tahoe in itself in not that nice, but this property is in the only area that would be considered nice. There is a large grocery store across the street which is very convenient. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location - quick walk to casinos, but much quieter than staying at the casinos. Next to Heavenly tram, beautiful views from Heavenly. Very comfortable and spacious room. Full kitchen with supplies. Friendly Staff. Access to Lake Tahoe beach. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I moved to this hotel after I left one I had reserved which was pretty bad. I was told I could only stay two nights because they had been booked up for 8 months for fourth of july (not true). The woman who checked me in was cold and officious. I rented a studio--strange--had a full kitchen for a reasonable price. Air conditioning, nice pool, with restaurant service around the pool. Centrally located but be prepared to pay $26 a day for parking--outrageous! The best people there were the valets, sweet and friendly. NO ROOM SERVICE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just checked out of hotel. Great experience from beginning to end. Four of us in a 1 bedroom unit. Pull out couch for kids, 2 TVs, gas fireplace, full kitchen with breakfast bar and legit dining table. 4th of July week so Tahoe was packed, yet the staff was not overwhelmed. Very very clean, great customer service, supermarket across the street, Starbucks on the corner, free laundry. We played mini-golf on site, swam in the pool, walked to shops. We walked to Lakeside Beach - maybe a bit too much for little kids but no problem for us ($5 per person to access beach). Also rented jet skis and a boat at Lakeside Marina. The hotel has shuttle buses, which we didn't use, but it ran to different spots. We used the valet parking so don't know the other options if you didn't want to pay $26 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Centrally located within South Lake and close to everything. The hotel it self has a great staff, great location, great pool, and the rooms are very good with kitchens which are helpful with meals for families. Also if you do not need the kitchen, plenty of restaurants in the area. hotel is also a short walk from a nice beach on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the road
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Tahoe for a short getaway, and chose this hotel (based on TripAdvisor recommendations) because we wanted a kitchenette. We found ourselves in a well-appointed one-bedroom apartment. The bathroom was spacious, and had the large jacuzzi we'd requested. The kitchen was more than just a kitchenette; it was a fully functional apartment kitchen. There were separate thermostats for the living room and bedroom. It didn't have a view, but overlooked the pool, which was okay.

The wi-fi was free and stable. (This is crucial for me.)

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location convenient. The large Raley's grocery is just across the way; it's convenient to the main roads, and not far from the lake. The setting is very urban (walking distance to casinos), but that's fine at night. In the day, we drove to the lake anyway and didn't stay in the room.

The only thing we really disliked was the parking situation. I knew we'd pay $26 per day. What I hadn't known is that it's only valet parking. You have no access to the car. If you want something from it, the valet has to fetch it or fetch the car. You don't have to give a tip each time, but we felt it was only fair; we quickly ran out of small notes. They're nice about it, but it's still a nuisance. I underestimated how annoying it would become. Eventually, we just left the car in the market parking lot across the road, and only brought it in for the night (and paid the $26 anyway).

I would hope Marriott would re-think this compulsory valet parking. I had a similar issue with their Walnut Creek property earlier this year, but there I was able to access the car myself so it bothered me less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.