We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I moved to this hotel after I left one I had reserved which was pretty bad. I was told I could only stay two nights because they had been booked up for 8 months for fourth of july (not true). The woman who checked me in was cold and officious. I rented a studio--strange--had a full kitchen for a reasonable price. Air conditioning, nice pool, with restaurant service around the pool. Centrally located but be prepared to pay $26 a day for parking--outrageous! The best people there were the valets, sweet and friendly. NO ROOM SERVICE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    143
    42
    25
    14
See reviews for
172
167
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just checked out of hotel. Great experience from beginning to end. Four of us in a 1 bedroom unit. Pull out couch for kids, 2 TVs, gas fireplace, full kitchen with breakfast bar and legit dining table. 4th of July week so Tahoe was packed, yet the staff was not overwhelmed. Very very clean, great customer service, supermarket across the street, Starbucks on the corner, free laundry. We played mini-golf on site, swam in the pool, walked to shops. We walked to Lakeside Beach - maybe a bit too much for little kids but no problem for us ($5 per person to access beach). Also rented jet skis and a boat at Lakeside Marina. The hotel has shuttle buses, which we didn't use, but it ran to different spots. We used the valet parking so don't know the other options if you didn't want to pay $26 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Centrally located within South Lake and close to everything. The hotel it self has a great staff, great location, great pool, and the rooms are very good with kitchens which are helpful with meals for families. Also if you do not need the kitchen, plenty of restaurants in the area. hotel is also a short walk from a nice beach on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the road
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Tahoe for a short getaway, and chose this hotel (based on TripAdvisor recommendations) because we wanted a kitchenette. We found ourselves in a well-appointed one-bedroom apartment. The bathroom was spacious, and had the large jacuzzi we'd requested. The kitchen was more than just a kitchenette; it was a fully functional apartment kitchen. There were separate thermostats for the living room and bedroom. It didn't have a view, but overlooked the pool, which was okay.

The wi-fi was free and stable. (This is crucial for me.)

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location convenient. The large Raley's grocery is just across the way; it's convenient to the main roads, and not far from the lake. The setting is very urban (walking distance to casinos), but that's fine at night. In the day, we drove to the lake anyway and didn't stay in the room.

The only thing we really disliked was the parking situation. I knew we'd pay $26 per day. What I hadn't known is that it's only valet parking. You have no access to the car. If you want something from it, the valet has to fetch it or fetch the car. You don't have to give a tip each time, but we felt it was only fair; we quickly ran out of small notes. They're nice about it, but it's still a nuisance. I underestimated how annoying it would become. Eventually, we just left the car in the market parking lot across the road, and only brought it in for the night (and paid the $26 anyway).

I would hope Marriott would re-think this compulsory valet parking. I had a similar issue with their Walnut Creek property earlier this year, but there I was able to access the car myself so it bothered me less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Grand Residence for a week. We rented a 2 bdrm upstairs/downstairs with a loft. There was 5 of us and we could have slept 4 to 5 more comfortably. It was centrally located, clean, with a fabulous staff. It was perfect. It's located at Heavenly Village which was great as we had a 7 year old with us and it rained for a few days. The movies, restaurants, mini golf (ice skating in the winter), shopping, casinos were all right there. I will definitely be looking to rebook for our next summer getaway!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings - the hotel is only 4 stories tall. If you can get a pool view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful lobby,warm & welcoming. We stayed in 1 bed,2 bath, full kitchen & 2 fireplaces. No washer/dryer in room, but free washer/dryers on every floor, so worked out just fine. Our friends stayed in a suite/with kitchen which was very roomy. Not all rooms have the same lay out, so are not always sure what you will get. Make sure you check out the restaurant book at the concierge desk & special discounts. Even though it was cold in May, the pool area was enjoyable. Overall service was great, staff was very friendly. No restaurants on property, others in walking distance. Grocery store right across the street. The Only Minus is $26 a day for parking. The general parking garage in Heavenly Village is $25 a day. So valet parking at the Marriott is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually had 3 bathrooms!!! We brought 2 teens and this alone would rate high, but the suite was spectacular...2 fireplaces 2 balconies, a huge living room, dining area with a table big enough for our 6 player card game and pizza party. Staff was friendly and you can walk to to anywhere in the village. The teens liked these cute window sleeper bunks and we had to pry them out each morning. We could live here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.