We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning area, great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning area, great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Residence in Jan 2013. Three daughters, my wife and I in two bedrooms separated by a large lounge/kitchen/dining room. It was bitterly cold outside but the rooms were very warm, very well fitted out, and spacious. Great value for money and great to come back to after a day on the slopes. The chair lift is literally a 2 min walk from the front door of the residence, and the shopping centre is 2 mins the other way, and you can park just around the corner undercover rather than at the lodge (cheaper). There is a communal laundry (on each floor I think), a tourist desk, a lounge to sit and have a hot cider in the evening, and a heated pool if you're up for it. Highly recommended place to stay.

Lake Tahoe is undeniably beautiful in winter, at least on the California side. Drive up the end of town and Nevada is the other side of the traffic lights along with two casino buildings that look as if architecture was an unknown option when they were built. A real shame, but ignore them, drive around the lake at night and take the chair lift to the top of the mountain for a spectacular view of the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    159
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
191
189
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My spouse and myself stayed in a Studio for the weekend of May 31st - June 2nd. The Studio was just the right amount of space for 2 people. It had a kitchen with full size appliances and a table to seat 4 people. It also had all the necessary kitchen items. We only had to bring the food. Raley's Grocery store is right across the street. The room also had a Queen size bed with a 42" TV. The bathroom had a huge Jacuzzi bath tub which was large enough for two people at the same time.

The location of the Grand Residence is also ideal for walking to all kinds of other activities. The Heavenly Villages is great for shopping/dining. Harvey's and Harrah's Casinos are only 2 blocks down the street. Cannot wait to return again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room near the pool for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney aust
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed at the marriott Gand residence in January for 10 nights on a family ski holiday,you could'nt ask for a better place to stay,we had aone bedroom apartment witch had full kitchen two bathrooms and a lounge room with a fire place.its great for families sking as you can store your skis at a shop right beside the lift up to heavenly ski resort at no cost if you are a guest of the hotel.A short walk away is a great market place where you can buy all the things you will need for a fun holiday.

Room Tip: the rooms that look out over the gondela are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms for our 5 family members. Little pricey but really used the kitchenette. Very clean and comfortable beds. We had 3 adjoining rooms. Big dining room table and full kitchen for cooking. Market is within walking distance so that worked out well for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The 3 bhk apartment was like a dream come true with 2 storey, steam bath in the master bedroom, huge bath tubs with Jacuzzi in all bathrooms.the sofas and couches were top notch quality. Bedrooms were huge with state of the art furnishings. The property has 2 awesome hot tubs, a temperature controlled pool,steam, sauna and 2 spas.there is a free WiFi throughout the property which is very slow though. The property doesn't provide any food, however number of restaurants and a super market across the street make up for it.the kitchen is well appointed with everything that one can imagine. I would definitely like to come back here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at- I want to take the time to write a review for them and thank them for a great time my family had on our last trip. I booked this Marriott for a Memorial day weekend trip, one of the busiest times of the year and got a pretty decent rate (compared to $350 night at Harveys or $250 at Harrahs). I booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath model for my family with 2 kids and 2 grandparents. I couldn't have asked for better accommodations. First, the location is perfect. It's in the nicest part of South lake downtown at Heavenly village. Lots of restaurants nearby and 1.5 block walk from the casinos. Across the street is Raley's and Starbucks for our essentials. It is also 2 blocks walk to the private beach which we get a free pass to as a guest. Now the room: The moment we walked into the room, we all said, WOW, this place is huge. I would approximate 1000 sq feet? Larger than most people's condos. The kitchen is fully stocked with all utensils, pots/pans, and even a blender/crock pot. Very spacious U shape design allows for lots of counter space. I love how the 2 bedrooms are on opposite sides so we each get some privacy. The spacious living room allowed our toddler to run around. The fireplace was really enjoyable at nite. The attention to detail is also appreciated as there are 3 seperate thermostat controls. Everything was very clean as well and modern. Our balcony wrapped around since we got a corner unit - another 250+ feet of hanging out space. It felt so comfortable I can live there for months on end without any issues. The pool was heated so even though the weekend dropped down to 60 degrees, we were able to place in the pool with the kids. The firepit next to the pool was a nice touch to hang out. Service was great, the entire staff always greeted you warmly with a smile. Really, because of how pleasant things were, shelling out $26 for valet parking which everyone griped about wasn't an issue. It's funny, I'm a cheapskate usually but I think this hotel is great value because of everything you get with it. I can't wait to go back to Tahoe again in the summer. Where else can you get warm weather, nice beaches, tons of nature things to do, crystal clear water, view of the snowy mountains as a backdrop, casino night life all in one city - 4 hrs from bay area?

Room Tip: pool view rooms also has view of the mountain. Opt for those if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned home from a short stay in south lake tahoe, california. my husband and i were looking for the full pampering experience and we both found it at the marriott. it all started when we pulled in to the valet parking and were greeted by some of the kindest most professional young men i have ever had the pleasure of visiting with. each morning was always greeted with a smile and a kind word. the frost desk staff was equally cordial, professional and accommodating. our one bedroom villa was more than i had hoped for! 2 gas fireplaces, large living room, full service kitchen and huge bathroom suite made it hard to check out 2 days later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.