We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a time share property but they do book rooms to non-members. We had a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen. There was a queen bed and a queen sofa bed in the living room. It had one of the best appointed kitchens I have ever seen in one of these places. We do like to stay where we can make our own breakfast and meals if we desire.

The furnishings are very nice..."woodsy". There is a gas fireplace in the bedroom and living room. DVD player and great TV choices were available.

The staff was helpful and very friendly. It is close to a great market, a cinema, a great pedicure place...and of course it is close to the lake.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor facing the main street..it was quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    160
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
192
189
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because I got a fantastic rate from my brother who got me family and friends rate otherwise I would say this hotel is not worth $150+ a night in South Lake Tahoe. Room was tiny but good, view was front road facing with balcony but lake was not visible because the hotel is not elevated enough that the view would surpass all the existing building on the other side of the road but road view was good enough for us. Swimming pool was under construction so had to use Marriott Timber Ridge's pool which was bigger than this property but to walk 200 yards (depending upon which side you are staying at the hotel) to reach the pool.

Valet was super expensive $26 per night considering there was no self parking so either you public park your car in a city's parking structure and pay $25 for the night or park at the back of the casinos for free. Valet charges were not at all justifiable and I parked at casinos for both night.

There was everything you would like in a hotel studio like Microwave, dishwasher, gas, coffee maker, fridge, etc. so it was a nice stay but wouldn't stay unless I get a phenomenal rate I got this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The grand Marriott is an amazing place to stay this is more like it the staff are very nice and polite the large room with fireplace is wonderful the bed is very commftable the two bathrooms are very nice you also get a living area with a full kitchen and every thing you would need is supplied. I am happy to recommend this to all holiday makers looking for that little extra comfort it is in a great location right next to the gondolas the rooms also come with a safe deposit box I also got a telephone message each day telling me what is happening around the resort. If you stay here you should book up a treatment in the spa I had the hot stones today and it was amazing the staff are so nice I am leaving the Marriott tomorrow but will be back x

Room Tip: I came here with my husband and picked the large room with fireplace loved everything about it it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

WOW! We needed a place to meet our BC Canadian cousins who were in Reno for a conference. We figured at this point of their travels, they would need a laundry, home cooking, a place to park their slippers and, finally, somewhere they could walk to attractions, etc., rather than drive. After speaking to Tim Golobic of Heavenly Valley Condos, he knew just the place we needed -- a 2000 square foot penthouse. Because we were looking for accommodations in the bridge season (end of ski and beginning of hiking, biking, sailing season), we were able to get these accommodations affordably. It was luxury with the type of glad-to-be-of-service atmosphere you would expect from Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days whilst travelling. It was between the ski season and the summer season so everything was very quiet but that may not have been a bad thing. We had an apartment with a small kitchen so we could buy food at the local supermarket for breakfast and cook it ourselves saving money.

The hotel is beautiful and couldn't be better situated for attractions and amenities. All of staff are brilliant, particularly Connie, the concierge who could not be better.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the room. It would have been nicer to be a little bit higher up so we could have a better view. The room is nicely furnished and nicely laid out. I didn't feel cramped but everything you need is in the room. I had a place to plug in my iPhone next to the nightstand and the Tv was setup to take external devices. The bathroom is nicely done but I would have preferred a nicer shower head. I couldn't seem to get the flow just right. My only complaint is the parking. Only valet is available. You can park down the street at the casino for free but that is a cumbersome. I like to self park but that is not an option on their premises. If I was skiing this place is perfect because the lift is right there on property. Heavenly Village surrounds you so there is plenty of shopping and restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I returned to Tahoe for a week of skiing in March having previously stayed at Embassy Suites (nice) and Horizon Casino (cheap). We decided on the Marriott Grand residence mainly due to location but we had the added bonus of a discount for early booking making the price comparable with Embassy suites. The suite we were allocated was fantastic. A good size lounge area, lovely bedroom, excellent kitchen and dining area and a fabulous bathroom complete with his and hers basins and a large spa bath big enough for us both.
We were thrilled with the suite as we had only booked a standard one so likely it was an upgrade although there was a very limited view of the courtyard so maybe the additional space compensated for the poor view - either way we were happy. One of the best things about the suite was that it was located at the end of the hotel closest to the gondola so literally a few steps from our room to the gondola.

Kitchen, large fridge, microwave etc was perefct for preparing breakfast and the large supermarket across the road provided everything we needed to fuel up for a day on the slopes. Actually preferred breakfast in our suite but for dinner, we ate out every night and took advantage of the hotel discount scheme for meals (mostly 10% off food bill). Hotel guest discounts extended to many shops also and we took advantage of a good saving on ski hire. we also received unlimited free wifi in our suite which was important to us

There is a large heated pool and 2 large spa baths in the courtyard area which we used on a couple of occasions early evening - nice way to enjoy a few drinks and chat to like minded people

Tips for Tahoe:

Rent your skis from Powderhouse by the gondola. Great friendly service and better value than Heavenly sports next door although we did take advantage of FREE overnight ski storage at Heavenly Sports which is part of the hotel scheme. Both are a couple of yards from the Marriott room elevator

We rented a car at San Francisco airport on a one-way basis and then again on our return 7 days later. This saved a lot of money on renting a car we were not going to use during the week and also valet parking which is very expensive at every hotel adjacent to the gondola

Plenty of choice for dining out. We recommend Fire and Ice (mongolian BBQ style) and Stateline Brewery but we actually returned to Applebee's twice - great value food, friendly service and my wife couldn't get enough of the Margeritas which she thought were the best she had ever had.

Eating and drinking on the mountain is not cheap but we found the soups and chowders good value at Tamarack Lodge (quick and friendly service as well) and a late afternoon beer and margerita at the Snow Beach bar chilling on the sun loungers was a lovely way to wind down before the last few runs

We have skied at several resoprts across europe and a few in the USA. Tahoe is our favourite by a considerable margin. We just wish it were a little closer than 11 hours on a plane and 6 more hours on the road

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.