We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Lodge far superior” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Timber Lodge far superior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are members of Marriott Vacation Club and own at the Timber Lodge which is just next door. I thought we would try something different this year, since I was told this place has a higher rating. We traded into the Grand Residence on Marriott destination points. We booked a 2 bedroom unit. Upon arriving into our room I was very dissapointed. This unit is so much smaller than the 2 bedroom units at the Timber Lodge. When you open the sofa bed in the living area you cannot even move around in the room. We did not have adequate drawer space in any of the bedrooms. We did not even have a drawer in the nightstand to put things. I went down to the front desk and spoke to management about a room change. They told me that there are only a few rooms available at Grand Residence using destination points and the few rooms that they had were occupied. I even offered to pay more money for an upgrade and even said I would give up more destination points but they said this was not an option at this time. The one plus to this place is that the employees are very nice and try to be very helpful. I would not stay at this property again unless I was booked into a penthouse unit. I would also recommend not trading into this place using destination points because there is no flexibility if you have a problem with the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    159
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
191
189
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friends and I went to ski vacation at the end of February. We could not have made a better choice of hotels! Its location is just perfect – a few steps from the Heavenly gondola. You do not have to carry skis with you – for the hotel residents there is a free valet storage in the store right across the gondola. For five people we had a two-bedroom, three room, spacious suite with full kitchen that sleeps 6. Each room had a flat screen TV. All rooms are connected but have separate entrances. The hotel provides free internet service (the speed is not great though). The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. After skiing we enjoyed the sauna and the steam room which were good and clean. If I ever go to Heavenly for skiing, the Marriott Grand Residence Club would be the hotel of choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for a week & had a nice experience here. The location is wonderful - only a few short steps to the gondola, ski rental, shops, food, casinos, etc. The condo unit was nice, spacious & clean, kitchen was a little dated, but clean, definitely functional & big enough for the two of us. Nice living room with an adjacent dining area, decent sized bedroom, 2 large (full) bathrooms, whirlpool tub, flat screen TV's & lots of storage.

Super friendly front desk & concierge staff & the valet parking was very prompt. The valets were great at helping load & unload when needed.

The layout of the buildings due to the location at the bottom of the mountain is a bit odd & finding your way around the complex may be a little difficult the first day, but you catch on.

The area in general is so gorgeous & you really will want to rent a car in order not to miss out on things. BTW - for those of you traveling in winter & who are not used to snow - get an SUV and they really do mean it when they tell you to use chains (esp if you have a car!). You won't be allowed past checkpoints.

Room Tip: Our room faced the shops & noise wasn't an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We like the Timberlodge better but this is a good spot too. It is close to a grocery store and shopping, a movie theater and the gondola to Heavenly. Casinos are just down the street. Several reasonable eating places are within walking distance. But to see the sites you really need to rent a car. We recommend a trip to Fallen Leaf Lake. Driving all the way to the end of the road with stops along the way will take a half day or more depending on how long you stop to admire the beauty. A cruise on the lake is a must see. We liked the sail boat but the paddle wheelers are OK, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Family of four who stayed here for 5 nights. Although the location is ideal to skiing , the 2 bedroom suite we stayed in was disappointing. When we checked in, the kitchen cabinets was sticky of grime and dusty. Refrigerator was dirty. Floors was not cleaned well with dirty grout. Bathrooms had mold on shower wall and shower curtains. This property needs serious updating. For the price we paid ( $500/ night inc tax) , it is not worth it! We are Hyatt Vacation club owners and this property is not at par with Hyatt in terms of cleanliness and upgraded amenities. Valet upon check in was rude! When we asked where to valet the skis, he said" you didn't do your research?" Sarcastic! Complained to front desk, front desk understanding though and supervisor apologized and comp our valet. Washer and dryer not enough for whole floor! Always busy. Should put in each room. Kitchen appliances old and plates cracked. Very dissatisfied with this Marriott property!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed her for the second part of our honeymoon and couldn't have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is convenient to shops and restaurant right outside your door. The supermarket and a few other chain restaurants are right across the street. The gondola to heavenly is right there as well.

The rooms are perfect after a long cold day; you can fix dinner, drink some wine and cozy up to the fire place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Remarkably convenient property, completely betrayed by the conflict of running a timeshare/fractional ownership property as a hotel.

Basically, Marriott's hotel room reservation system is incompatible with the unit-specific scheduling demands of a timeshare operation. Meaning, you may have to move from room to room during your stay.

The lodging is a relatively newly-built property that is essentially connected to the Gondola at Heavenly Village: Rental shops and ski school check-in is essentially downstairs, with the Gondola station 10 yards away. Furnishings are well-kept, the full-size kitchen is great for families, and the staff are friendly and professional. Comfy beds and nice mid-grade sheets.

But all of that may be for naught, as we discovered during a peak ski weekend: Upon check-in, we were told that our 3-night stay would be broken up into two different rooms. Why? Because owner A of the first unit is scheduled to use the unit after the first night, and the second unit doesn't become available until tomorrow, because owner B is still in there. Please have your things packed and leave them with the bell captain when you go skiing tomorrow morning, and you can unpack them in the second room after 4pm check-in tomorrow.

Maybe this is a minor inconvenience for a lightly-packed trip to a tourist city, where you might be outside from 9am-5pm anyway.

At a ski resort, where you may have paid the premium to stay close to the village, so maybe the small kids in the family can wrap up skiing early and come home, right after lunch, this is a disaster.

If you have babies small enough to need naps mid-day, in a warm place, this is a disaster.

And, if you were looking to place a weekend's worth of keep-cold foods in the refrigerator, this is a disaster.

The front-desk staff was friendly and sympathetic, but completely hamstrung at the lack of continuous room availability. And thus, unable to help this shocked family. We both nervously smiled at each other and each recognized that "Well, during peak periods, these things happen."

In our particular case the situation was resolved when owner A chose to cancel at the last minute. Thanks, I guess, but I think we just got extraordinarily lucky and dodged a bullet.

But even the possibility of such things happening on a regular basis, has me forever avoiding reserving this property through the Marriott website, and warning others to do the same. Instead, seek VRBO sites like HeavenlyVillageCondos, which feature reservation engines that display continuous availability for specific rooms.

Room Tip: Book through a VRBO site, not Marriott.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.