We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - Hotel guests may be asked to change rooms mid-stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beware - Hotel guests may be asked to change rooms mid-stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Remarkably convenient property, completely betrayed by the conflict of running a timeshare/fractional ownership property as a hotel.

Basically, Marriott's hotel room reservation system is incompatible with the unit-specific scheduling demands of a timeshare operation. Meaning, you may have to move from room to room during your stay.

The lodging is a relatively newly-built property that is essentially connected to the Gondola at Heavenly Village: Rental shops and ski school check-in is essentially downstairs, with the Gondola station 10 yards away. Furnishings are well-kept, the full-size kitchen is great for families, and the staff are friendly and professional. Comfy beds and nice mid-grade sheets.

But all of that may be for naught, as we discovered during a peak ski weekend: Upon check-in, we were told that our 3-night stay would be broken up into two different rooms. Why? Because owner A of the first unit is scheduled to use the unit after the first night, and the second unit doesn't become available until tomorrow, because owner B is still in there. Please have your things packed and leave them with the bell captain when you go skiing tomorrow morning, and you can unpack them in the second room after 4pm check-in tomorrow.

Maybe this is a minor inconvenience for a lightly-packed trip to a tourist city, where you might be outside from 9am-5pm anyway.

At a ski resort, where you may have paid the premium to stay close to the village, so maybe the small kids in the family can wrap up skiing early and come home, right after lunch, this is a disaster.

If you have babies small enough to need naps mid-day, in a warm place, this is a disaster.

And, if you were looking to place a weekend's worth of keep-cold foods in the refrigerator, this is a disaster.

The front-desk staff was friendly and sympathetic, but completely hamstrung at the lack of continuous room availability. And thus, unable to help this shocked family. We both nervously smiled at each other and each recognized that "Well, during peak periods, these things happen."

In our particular case the situation was resolved when owner A chose to cancel at the last minute. Thanks, I guess, but I think we just got extraordinarily lucky and dodged a bullet.

But even the possibility of such things happening on a regular basis, has me forever avoiding reserving this property through the Marriott website, and warning others to do the same. Instead, seek VRBO sites like HeavenlyVillageCondos, which feature reservation engines that display continuous availability for specific rooms.

Room Tip: Book through a VRBO site, not Marriott.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    155
    43
    26
    15
See reviews for
186
182
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our suite was very comfortable indeed, very spacious and well equipped. The valet parking is a great feature and a quick call gets your car delivered within a couple of minutes. The staff are first class, polite and helpful. The location right by the gondola is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A. MGR is less than an hour from the Reno airport.
B. Suites are large and fully appointed.
C. Indoor valet parking, so car is never covered with snow.
D. Staff is extremely responsive to guest needs.
E. Skis are even valeted to ski shop at bottom of Gondola
F. Heavenly Gondola is steps away from your suite.
G. Stores, ice rank, Casinos, etc. is within walking distance.
H. We keep coming back every year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Just choose one that will accommodate your group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I wouldn't change a thing about our stay at the Marriott Grand Residence in Lake Tahoe! The staff were friendly and very helpful, the lobby was clean, spacious, and cozy, and the amenities (pool etc) were great. Our living room on the 5th floor was immense. We had more than enough room for the seven people in our group to hang out, cook dinner, and watch the MSU game (too bad they lost to Indiana!). We had two queen beds in the bedroom, and two bathrooms (one of which was HUGE) with spa tubs (my fav after being on the mountain!). It is a short walk (around the corner) in ski boots to the Heavenly gondola, and as a guest of the hotel there is a complimentary ski check at Heavenly Sports-right at the Gondola. As guests of the hotel, you also receive discounts at many places around Tahoe, so make sure to check this out (see other reviews). Loved it.

Room Tip: 5th floor had high ceilings and was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Came to Tahoe for the Presidents day weekend with my kids, 20,18 and 11, tired of the cramped hotels or smokey casinos, found this place by chance, didn't bother to review, was a little pricey for the last ski weekend, rates are half otherwise,I was surprised how large the unit was, two story loft style, huge den upstairs and separate bedroom, downstairs fireplace, sofa bed, single bed size seating/ sleeping in front of windows. Room enough for all of us, independently, three tv's, full cable,HBO,Starz.free wifi connection. Gondola ride up the mountain in back. Beautiful heated pool, two Hot tubs, apparently these are timeshares but can be rented as a hotel room, fully stocked kitchen.I was pleasantly surprised, All my kids were happy. A rare moment indeed.
Couples will find it as pleasant, it is clean secure and worth a stay.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, the place was sold out and it was as if it was empty. Very well built
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Grand Residence is just steps away from the gondola. It is clean, comfortable and has good service. There is free wifi internet. The kitchen is a great amenity and grocery is across the street at Raley's.

Easy choice for a skiing trip in Heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took my family, wife & two kids 9 & 12, to Marriott Grand in Tahoe last weekend. The service was impeccable, the pool and hot tub were heated and hot as advertised. The accommodations were great, we had pots/pans, silverware, cups and glasses; everything you could want. The family especially enjoyed the fireplace in each room. The whirlpool bathtub got used extensively and we just really enjoyed our time there. We were just a stones throw away from the gondola at heavenly, we never had to get in the car to eat or ski the whole weekend. It was GREAT. The only blemish on the entire trip is that the mattress in the bedroom was of the hard stiff type. In the last 6 months we have stayed at other Marriott's in San Francisco, Intercontinental, The W brand hotel, Peppermill in Reno to name a few. I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. Now, maybe it was me, after all the last ski lift ticket on my jacket said Dec. 26, 1999. So maybe after all day on the slopes I was more sore than normal, but if you don't sleep well on firm mattresses, I would mention it when you make your reservation. Aside from that I give the resort a 9.5 out of 10. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.