We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay-Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay-Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I wouldn't change a thing about our stay at the Marriott Grand Residence in Lake Tahoe! The staff were friendly and very helpful, the lobby was clean, spacious, and cozy, and the amenities (pool etc) were great. Our living room on the 5th floor was immense. We had more than enough room for the seven people in our group to hang out, cook dinner, and watch the MSU game (too bad they lost to Indiana!). We had two queen beds in the bedroom, and two bathrooms (one of which was HUGE) with spa tubs (my fav after being on the mountain!). It is a short walk (around the corner) in ski boots to the Heavenly gondola, and as a guest of the hotel there is a complimentary ski check at Heavenly Sports-right at the Gondola. As guests of the hotel, you also receive discounts at many places around Tahoe, so make sure to check this out (see other reviews). Loved it.

Room Tip: 5th floor had high ceilings and was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    171
    48
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
197
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Came to Tahoe for the Presidents day weekend with my kids, 20,18 and 11, tired of the cramped hotels or smokey casinos, found this place by chance, didn't bother to review, was a little pricey for the last ski weekend, rates are half otherwise,I was surprised how large the unit was, two story loft style, huge den upstairs and separate bedroom, downstairs fireplace, sofa bed, single bed size seating/ sleeping in front of windows. Room enough for all of us, independently, three tv's, full cable,HBO,Starz.free wifi connection. Gondola ride up the mountain in back. Beautiful heated pool, two Hot tubs, apparently these are timeshares but can be rented as a hotel room, fully stocked kitchen.I was pleasantly surprised, All my kids were happy. A rare moment indeed.
Couples will find it as pleasant, it is clean secure and worth a stay.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, the place was sold out and it was as if it was empty. Very well built
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Grand Residence is just steps away from the gondola. It is clean, comfortable and has good service. There is free wifi internet. The kitchen is a great amenity and grocery is across the street at Raley's.

Easy choice for a skiing trip in Heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took my family, wife & two kids 9 & 12, to Marriott Grand in Tahoe last weekend. The service was impeccable, the pool and hot tub were heated and hot as advertised. The accommodations were great, we had pots/pans, silverware, cups and glasses; everything you could want. The family especially enjoyed the fireplace in each room. The whirlpool bathtub got used extensively and we just really enjoyed our time there. We were just a stones throw away from the gondola at heavenly, we never had to get in the car to eat or ski the whole weekend. It was GREAT. The only blemish on the entire trip is that the mattress in the bedroom was of the hard stiff type. In the last 6 months we have stayed at other Marriott's in San Francisco, Intercontinental, The W brand hotel, Peppermill in Reno to name a few. I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. Now, maybe it was me, after all the last ski lift ticket on my jacket said Dec. 26, 1999. So maybe after all day on the slopes I was more sore than normal, but if you don't sleep well on firm mattresses, I would mention it when you make your reservation. Aside from that I give the resort a 9.5 out of 10. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bells, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently completed a 3 night stay at the Marriott Grand Residence Club in South Lake Tahoe, and I would highly recommend it. We were originally placed into a "Studio" room, however I thought I had booked a 1 Room with Kitchen. After talking with the front desk, they allowed us to move rooms without any problems. This is a perfect location if you plan to ski at Heavenly. The gondola is located about 20 yards from the side door. We really enjoyed the two hot tubs after a long day of skiing. Also the club is centrally located to all the places that you would eat and drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott whilst skiing Heavenly and it is an easy choice. The hotel is about 1-2 minutes walk to the gondola and equally close to ski shops and rentals. If you want to minimise the hassle, then this is an easy choice. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, which had a separate living area with pull out sofa, so very comfortable for 4. There is a generous kitchen with double door fridge, oven and dining area, plus 2 bathrooms. We previously stayed a the adjacent Marriott Lodge, but fond it noisy by comparison and not as well designed. The free laundry is a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. A few comments:
1) When I booked a "studio" room, I had a feeling it was going to be small. That's just what I think of when I think of "studio". Our room was anything but small. We had a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, kitchen sink, coffee pot as well as a blender and plenty of dishes as well as a small dining table. Also had a humidifier in the room, which was a nice perk because I've stayed in other ski resorts where you had to call and ask for one. Our dishes were cleaned daily when our room was cleaned.
2) So many walkable restaurants as well as other things to do. We only had a rental car on the first and last day of our trip. Three days in the middle were fine without a rental car as there is so much within a VERY short walking distance.
3) No casino on the premises which was a nice bonus as my wife does not like casinos. I did a little bit of gambling and it was a short walk. The lobby as well as our room were very quiet which we enjoyed.
4) Staff were all very courteous and helpful.

A few minor glitches:
1) Wife booked a massage and the day she was scheduled the resort's spa was closed and she was sent to their "sister" spa facility. It was not far but she was not overly impressed with the atmosphere, although the massage was good she didn't like the facility itself.
2) When I called the facility to ask a few questions before we booked, I was told it is a "ski in, ski out" resort. While the gondola is literally steps away, there are no ski slopes to "ski in" to the resort. It's a 15 minute ride on the gondola before you are actually at the slopes. This wasn't a big issue for us but it was a tiny bit misleading the way it was described.
3) As many other reviewers have mentioned, the overnight parking fee was a bit steep ($26). We were well aware of this going in and the price of the room was very reasonable for the quality of the resort so we weren't too bothered by it.

Despite the above on the whole we were extremely pleased and would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.