We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We bought our room last minute on expedia, and the only rooms available were one bedroom, two bathroom suites... It. Was. HUGE. We only stayed for one night as we were literally 'passing through', but did really enjoy our stay. The room was massive, clean, tidy and with a full kitchen if we had wanted to cook our meals.

Not knowing much about South Lake Tahoe, the concierge was excellent in pointing out what we could do for our very short stay, and the customer service at check-in was exceptional.

The hotel has their own 'private beach' down on the lake, which was really lovely except, and the hotels location to restaurants and other things to do around town were excellent. If you're planning on going for skiiing, the resort is RIGHT next door to the gondola up the mountain - very convenient.

Overall, it was a really nice stay and I would go back... Just a shame our stay was so short!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    182
    50
    29
    17
See reviews for
232
213
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed last week at the Marriott. This is the third time out of four staying at a Marriott where I have called in advance to ask to have all of the down removed and when I arrive, it is all still down. Last year the Marriott Grand Residence made me change it al myself. The room smelled like curry. We arrived a day late. Do you think they made an effort to get rid of the smell? No.
The property is beautiful and the kids club is great. The kids wanted to be there all the time. The staff is friendly and went out of their way to make the kids feel welcome.
One thing to watch for when making reservations. The property has lots of different types of rooms. We got a two bed, three bath. I thought it would be a huge room (sleeps 8). What we got was three small rooms with pass doors. A small master, I mean one of the smallest hotel rooms I have stayed in, a small kitchen, nearly a partial kitchen, and a small living area. The table was for 8, but you could not get around it. The kids room was two queens and decent sized. The shower in the middle room did not work and maintenance was unable to fix it.
I am not sure if it is a sure fire fix, but don't book a room with three baths. The two bed, two bath we had last year was far superior.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful place to stay if you are a family or couple. Ours was a one bedroom/two bath and full kitchen large unit. It was probably the cleanest place we have stayed. Being on the fifth floor, our windows were small and high not being able to look out, that part was not so great. The master bedroom was huge as well as the bath. The living area was a nice and workable size. We loved the fireplace! Had it on the whole time we were there. Plenty of seating area. The kitchen was fully stocked of all the necessities (cookware, plates, sliverware, glasses, etc)
The appliances were a bit out dated but worked just fine. We cannot wait to go back.
Check in/out was a breeze. The entire hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The paking was valet only and priced at $26 per day. The valet attendants were quick, friendly, helpful, and had the car waiting when we requested. There was shopping surrounding the facilities. Grocery store right across the street, walking distance. October was a great month to go due to no crowds although some things were closed for the season or being maintained for the upcoming snow season. But still a lot of things to do! Great hiking weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are Marriott owners and traded into the Grand Residence through Interval International. Last year we traded one of our weeks for a 2 bedroom at Timber Lodge. This year we thought we would try the Grand Residence for a change. Even though these are both Marriott properties, there are some differences.

When we arrived at the Grand Residence, we went to our room and found it was directly over the entrance to the car park. Our balcony sat right over where the valets park the cars. We were unable to use the balcony because of this. Outside the living room windows was the intake/outflow of air for the building, causing the room to have an odd odor the entire time we were there. At first, when I walked into the room, I thought it was a garbage smell. It never went away. I couldn't open the windows because of this smell. I had to buy a lavender scented candle to try and mask the odor. We went downstairs to the front desk to try and change our room. We were told since we traded through interval international we were stuck with the room.
When we stayed at Timber Lodge last year, we asked to trade rooms because we were on the top of the building where the roof is slanted and the windows are small. There was no problem changing rooms at the Timber Lodge......this is the first difference between the two properties.

The cost of parking at the Grand Residence is $26. per day. It doesn't matter if you own other Marriott properties, you pay anyway. At the Timber Lodge, if you are an owner at other Marriott properties, they waive the fee for parking......difference number two.

These are my two gripes about the Grand Residence and the reason I gave the property 4 stars instead of 5. The smell of the room being what bothered me the most. When I asked the maid about it, she offered to spray an air freshener. (there is no maid service with a timeshare trade, she was working on another room where the guests did have maid service.)

Now to the excellent parts of this property. 5 stars all the way for:

The front desk staff, especially Benjamin who couldn't be more kind, understanding, and professional when I was grumbling about the room location and parking fee.

The friendly, fast, valets.

The provisions in the kitchen, everything you would need to stay in and cook the entire week you are there. (if you fancy that)

The room itself. We had a 1 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was spacious and clean. Everything was in working order, the furniture was comfortable, the carpets clean, the big flat screened TV's with HD, the flip of a switch fireplace, and the cozy bed, made our stay most comfortable.

The gym had everything you need. We went the first day and decided why are we inside? Walking around town was our exercise the rest of the triip. The outside mountain fresh air does wonders for your mind and body.

There was a nice looking pool and hot tubs. We didn't use them, but did see other happily soaking in the hot tubs.

The location of the property. You could park your car and leave it the whole week, as you can walk everywhere......grocery shopping at Ralleys across the street, the gondola a few minutes, walk, the casinos a five minute walk, lots of shops and restaurants right there.

Marriott's Grand Residence Club was a very nice place to stay. However, for the two reasons mentioned above, the parking fee and the room location with no chance to change rooms, we will stay at Marriotts Timber Lodge next time.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to pick your room, choose one away from the main street and the valet parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can't say enough about the experience we had at the Grand Residences by Marriot in Tahoe. Me and my wife thought of Tahoe as our highlight of the Bay area/north Cali trip we just took, and this hotel was definltely a major part of that.

We got to check in early, (without request), were given ANY information we requested from the very courteous staff. Our room was magnificent (one bedroom suite) , it comes with ample space, balcony, view of the very nice pool/hot tubs, a huge pull out bed, 2 flat screens, full kitchen and more. Valet was always prompt and car ready by the time we got down. The location was BY FAR the best point, walking distance from : Casinos, Lake, Kayaking (hotel provided us coupons), Raley's multi-purpose store, at the base of the Heavenly Gondola and many more food (subway, blue dog, basecamp pizza etc) and drink options.

The pool /hottubs were amazing ! tons of chairs, perfect water temperature, and theres even a bonfire pit too where you can sit around at night and tell funny/ghost stories while sipping on something :) .

The Spa was excellent (according to wife) where she got pampered with a massage and facial (75 minutes for $120 combined). We were a part of the Heavenly village, and felt safe throughout our stay walking and roaming the main streets (even at night).

ONE CON : the vending machines wouldnt take any of our bills ($1, $5, $20) so unless you have exact change or bank-fresh notes dont bother, we just walked to Raley's and stocked up on everything anyways.

All in all the Grand Residences at Tahoe by far exceeded expectations, and we are already planning our next trip with my brothers family for the 2013 summer and you can bet we're staying here !!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a one bedroom at the least, and view facing the pool is really nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first stay at a Grand Residence with two other couples was great, the 2 bedroom loft unit was large and included a second story living room (which could be another bedroom), 3 bathrooms, and a very well stocked kitchen. The location was convenient to a grocery store, many restaurants and a short walk to the casinos if that is your game. We received outstanding service and assistance from Connie at the concierge station and highly recommend her to future guests. Connie had a coupon or discount to every restaurant or attraction we went on and saved our group hundreds of dollars during the week. This was restaurant week in the Tahoe area and the participating restaurants were outstanding - highly recommend this week for travel if you enjoy dining out.

Room Tip: We liked the view of the pool which also included a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I took my young daughter and my mother here for the weekend at the end of September 2012, and we all had the best time! For the 3 of us, the 2 bedroom/3 bath was almost too huge for us. We loved it all. The two fireplaces, jacuzzi, comfy beds, large balcony, kitchen, and a great view of the gondola from our rooms 3238/3240/3242. The rooms are set up so that the Master King Bed bedroom is on side of the main living area, and the 2 Queen Bed bedroom was on the other. We had one fireplace in the main living area, and the other fireplace was in the Master - my daughter really enjoyed the fireplaces, since we don't ever use ours at home. The jacuzzi tub, of course, was in the Master as well. Although the kitchen was fairly small, it was more than adequate. We mainly used the refrigerator and microwave. My mother commented on how large the refrigerator was. We enjoyed the heated pool once. It's a nice resort pool and was not crowded at all. The front desk said the place was almost fully booked, but it felt very empty to me! We did have an occasion to use the washer/dryer, which was down the hallway on the same floor - nice GE front load w/ds - 2 sets of each (laundry detergent can be requested from the front desk).

Not only was the hotel room fantastic, the location was top notch. Everything was within walking distance for us. We walked across the street to the Raley's to get groceries, since we had a full kitchen - wow, how convenient is that? The first night, we played miniature golf, which was next door. We then later took a stroll towards stateline, which was just a few minutes walk away. The next day, we took the gondola up, enjoyed the views, took a ride to the summit via chair lift, and did some tubing. The weather was beautiful (mid 70's!) on the mountain that day. We also took a stroll twice to the private beach that Marriott gave us access to (about 10 minute walk), where my daughter enjoyed the playground on the beach, and I enjoyed the beauty of Lake Tahoe and the sunset. On the last day, we took the Duck Tour, which was located next door, and this gave us an opportunity to get on the water, as well as to see things on the main street. I just called the concierge, Connie, and she set up the duck tour for me since they didn't offer online bookings. The weather this weekend was ideal for me, ranging from 75 to 80 highs and 35-40 lows. We just wore light jackets in the evening.

We thoroughly enjoyed the mountain air and the overall roominess of the 2 bedroom suite offered here. This was certainly the largest hotel suite I've ever stayed in, with over 1000+ sq feet of space for 3 people. Everyone working at the hotel was very professional. Valet and Bellman services were very prompt, and though valet service was expensive ($26/nite), it was definitely nice to have. I am not much for staying at the same hotel more than once, but I might make an exception with this hotel. My daughter is already asking when we will be returning!

Ok, what about negatives? We experienced only two issues - 1. my request for laundry detergent had to be made twice - took almost 45 minutes total to get it (someone forgot). 2. master shower - the door wouldn't close all the way, and thus, it leaked. But, we just put a towel down and didn't worry about it; this was just a minor detail that I didn't bother mentioning it til after we checked out, since I was only there 2 nights. Other than these 2 small issues, we loved everything, and would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We specifically requested for and was thrilled to have a gondola view - we had a 2 bedroom and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#11 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.