We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at Grand Residence Club Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Concord, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at Grand Residence Club Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Every time I stay at the Grand Residence Club I am reminded of why this is the only place to stay in Lake Tahoe. The rooms are exquisite, the service is great, and the proximity to everything makes your stay carefree. July in Lake Tahoe there are always crowds but Heavenly Village is so low key that you forget about the crowds. I don't stress out about rooms not being ready because I know the staff tries their best. Everyone needs to take it down a notch - you are on vacation people, enjoy the scenery or go have a beer and chill.

This is still the place to be at in South Lake Tahoe, why try anyplace else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    158
    44
    26
    15
See reviews for
189
187
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This Marriott Resort property is a time share but anyone can rent a suite. Marriott Vacation Club Owners can get really great rental prices without using their points or an exchange. We stayed here with extended family last weekend while in town for the Beach Boys Concert at Statline, NV just two blocks away. The property has Studio, one Bedroom, two bedroon and three bedroom penthouses for rent.

We secured their two story penthouse suite. The Marriott owner's rate was $395 + tax for three bedrooms, three full baths, two living rooms, a full kitchen and dinning area and fireplaces in every bedroom and in the main living room. There was lots of room and nice amenities throughout. The master bath also came equipped with a steamroom/shower. This place felt like home from the moment we stepped into the forth and fifth floor suite.

If available, the owner's rate is open to any Marriot Vacation Club owner. As is the case at all Marriott Vacation Club properties, you do not own at the property you stay at to get the owner rates, the rooms just have to be avialable for owners. This property has a fitness center and a year round swimming pool. Valet parking for non-property owners is $26 per day. (Tip) You can park your car 1.5 blocks away in Harrah's free parking lot.

Fun shopping is just out the doors and the casinos and entertainment is just a very short walk across the stateline in Nevada. The multiplex cinema and the full service Raley's grocery/pharmacy store is next to the property. The Driftwood Cafe, the best restaurant for breakfast and lunch in all of South Shore is right at the driveway to the property. Our food was outstanding and the service was excellent. (Tip) Go down and put your name in before you want to eat, this place is in high demand!

Room Tip: For a quiter stay request a room away from S. Lake Tahoe Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We reserved a one-bedroom and were treated wonderfully. What a treat to find out from the car valet to check to see if our room was ready early. It was at 1:00 p.m. even though check-in was officially 4:00. At check in were given passes to the beach. You can walk everywhere from this location. To the Heavenly Gondola, the beach, and the casinos at Stateline, lots of restaurants, bars. The one-bedroom had a pull out couch which could fit two kids if necessary. The pool was very nice and had bar service. Great value in the summer.

Room Tip: You don't want street view, that is ugly. Ask for either pool view or skating rink/miniature gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my family went to 2 hotels before coming to this one because there was some confusion. THANK GOODNESS THIS WAS OUR HOTEL! The lobby is very nice with a T.V. lots of room, couches, and water with fruit in it. The concierge was very helpful in things to do. Going to the room was scary because sometimes it is a tiny room and other times it is a huge room. IT WAS A HUGE ROOM! We are a family of 4. 1 room was 2 beds with a nice LG size (bedroom), the other was a couch bed, kitchen, dining table, and large LG t.v. in a huge spacious room. The bathrooms were very nice too except they do not lock :). After a long day there is a nice HEATED POOL which is pretty warm and easy to get into to. Plus 2 jacuzzis. The pool is not for swimming laps but it is fun to go in. The jacuzzi is just like a normal jacuzzi, warm and bubbly. And after all that you get hungry. Well Marriott has the best pizza place in Lake Tahoe just a few minutes away walking distance. It is called Base Camp Co. It is a must place visit to eat. So many people pick up but I liked eating there, they have outdoor seating. All the Pizza's are good and good size too. The Marriott has a private beach but it is 15 minutes away walking and is packed. It is not a very nice beach either but it is there if you want to check it out. Overall, this is one of the best hotels I have been in; in my life. I highly recommend it, P.S. FREE INTERNET!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in Lake Tahoe after driving from SF en route to LV. Been a long drive so Looking for a nice warm quiet bed to sleep in.

Reasonable drive in off shelf rate, nice comfortable warm room, good bathroom etc. Good in house restaraunts and amenities. Good location.

The only thing that spoiled the stay , and this is not reflected in the scores for this hotel, was that for some reason, maintenance work Was started around midnight in the room next door. Initially there was just moving noise, which we assumed was others moving in, but then drilling started intermittently around 1 am when I rang the front desk to complain. By 1:30 the sporadic drilling became more frequent, and at times sounded like it was occurring in the adjoining wall above our heads... So another call to the front desk... Lady again said she would look into it. At around 2:00am the maintenance work stopped and I heard (quite clearly the whole argument) the bell-boy (or whoever of lowly rank) who was eventually dispatched to deal with this, came in a bit heavy handed with the workmen/contractors, whom then took offense and decided to argue the contractual conditions of their services to the hotel. All this outside the door of probably the only room occupied in that wing.... Ours....Eventually a hotel manager came and got the workmen to move on.... So we finally got to sleep in preparation for our next days long drive at about 3am.

On checkout we complained re the maintenance work. We were offered free parking as consolation. We were either too offended or too tired to push it. Considering our prime objective was to get rest so we could safely continue our travels, we would have been better off sleeping in the car.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The situated in prime locatoin from walking to the lake, gandola and the casinos. The receptionst was very warm and also was kind to upgrade me to a suite which I think was awesome. There is a parking structure behind the hotel if you think valet price is expensive. It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The Marriott is in the centre of south Lake Tahoe and is prime for staying whether you come for snow or sun. It's rooms are good although some of the bathrooms are bad. The bad thing about the bathroom is that the shower door opens inward and anyone other than a size 0 super model will have no hope in getting in. The layout of the hotel seems somewhat dated as its hallways remind one of a hospital ward, with off yellow walls and deodoriser smell. That being said, the rooms are quite comfortable and some even contain a gas firands cosy and cute addition to what is a great hotel, whether for skiing or sun bathing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.