We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Concord, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Still the best!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Saw Sammy Hagar and stayed at GRC. Aside from seeing the red rocker the GRC was the other high point, as usual. For those complaining about the parking charge - build a bridge and get over it. I will not stay anywhere else in Tahoe as no place comes close in terms of amenities and comfort. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    148
    42
    25
    14
See reviews for
177
170
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at this property for one night. The hotel and the room were pleasantly decorated and in good condition.The surrounding area provides a lot of nice shopping. Our room was a guest room - like a regular hotel room (no kitchen or fireplace). Unlike a regular hotel room it was missing a coffee maker. The walls were very thin - the guy next door was on perpetual business calls. The pillows were rock hard - worst I've ever tried to sleep on. Other oddities were the one and only incredibly small waste basket and the fact that the bathroom door would not stay open. They seemed embarrassed by the $24 valet fee - I think they realize it's out of line since there are no other real options. I would stay again - for one night and bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for two nights end of September with our parents and liked it instantly. Lots of space in the rooms, great amenities in the resort (e.g. washing machines for free use), great beds, very friendly and helpful staff. Even though the swimming pool area was undergoing renovation, one could sit and swim without being disturbed - for some reason they managed to do this pretty quietly and without disrupting the guests at the pool. As there is plenty within the resort in terms of restaurants etc we did not find it hard to find places for breakfast and dinner. One morning we even cooked breakfast in our own kitchen, which is equipped with everyone one could need.
Lake Tahoe is a lovely place, even more so off-season I guess, and we were lucky to experience it at that time. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here once before in 2004 and really liked it. Thought we would try it again on this trip. My husband and I just wanted to "get away" for a couple of nights to relax. This was the perfect choice. Excellent service from the moment we drove up. The room is immaculate, comfy bed, everything you could need in the kitchen and was very quiet. Close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Another trip to Tahoe for a personal holiday and a return to the Grand Residences. We had reserved our room online through Marriott, and went with a higher price point room based on availability of a room with an oversized jetted tub. It also advertised a separate shower. We had requested the room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise. The room we received was beautiful, large space with 2 bathrooms and complete with a loft. Unfortunately both bathrooms had simple regular sized shower/tub combination with no spa jets which was very disappointing given how well appointed the room was otherwise.

When we called down to the front desk we were advised that rooms with these features are not guaranteed and this was not in the system, yet (thank you iPhone) I was able to confirm the reservation for myself. Front desk staff were as helpful as they needed to be, but it felt as if we were an inconvenience to them and no apology was received for the situation or the delay. This was a huge contrast to prior stays here, and has more to do with the ranking this time than the rooms themselves. We've had such great experiences before we were expecting it again.

Staff did locate another beautiful room with an oversized jetted tub and we were allowed to move there. It was smaller, but there was more than enough room for us, and it was a lower price point. It was on the second floor at the intersection leading to the resort so there was some road noise but not enough to worry about. For some reason the bed was more uncomfortable this stay.

The vehicle valet services were very prompt and staff friendly. It's a shame that they charge so much for the overnight parking, but during heavier winter weather I'm sure it's worth it. The good thing about this location is it is within walking distance of many shops and activities so you may not need a car as much. Parking at the local casinos is free if you don't mind walking a short distance.

The Heavenly tram right in the resort area was not running again during this trip to Tahoe. It seems like every time we go it is only running limited hours, being maintenanced, or just closed altogether.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I did an exchange with II and my kids and I were very pleased with the suite. When we walked in to the room the first thing we saw was a full sized pool table in the room. It had a great kitchen, large bathrooms with jets in one of the tubs. The kitchen was large and had just about anything you would need to cook. The pool is large and the gym has a great range of machines. The only complaints were that you have to pay for just about any activity - the kids club charges for most organized activities (my home resort provides everything for free) the valet parking is expensive but you don't have a free option. The spa is really lacking. I had to wait 15 minutes for my lady to walk over from their other spa. Then she did not give me a discount and wanted me to give her a tip!
The resort has many easily accessible restaurants, shops, a Raley's, casinos and the gondola.

Room Tip: You can't choose a room as the resort has a unique ownership style. People own a 13 weeks of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

- Great hospitality staffs. Thank you all.
- Full facilities in-room, especially kitchen. No mini-bar but don't worry, just cross the street you'll find one in gas station.
- Room is as comfort as home, can stay for months. Feels like staying at a studio apartment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.