We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gondola at Heavenly

The Gondola at Heavenly
Ski Run Blvd., Heavenly Ski Resort, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
775-586-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$27*
and up
South Lake Tahoe Snowshoe Rental
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard an 8-passenger glass cabin and be whisked 2.4 miles up the side of a mountain for breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada mountain range. Riders can hop off at an observation deck, located half way up, for even more spectacular sights.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Go early so you can enjoy the activities up top. We went late in the afternoon and missed out on tubing. It was 4:02 and they would let us go down the hill. The view is great. Its a little pricey but I would suggest a first timer take the gondola and hang out up top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaddyMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It is well worth the trip up, do dress warm, comfortable shoes. The view up there is spectacular. The employee's were very friendly. The only thing I would say negative. They have someone up ther taking picture when you gback on the gandola. It would be nice if they were taking picture of you with the awesome view. Then I would have paid $20 for the picture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Azgirl18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Awesome views from the gondola and ski lifts. Tubing is fun for kids. Jackets recommended even in summer as the peak can get pretty chilly. Food option is limited, but bathrooms are clean and well stocked. Overall, other than food atthe peak, it is a good attraction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great trip up the mountain. I injured my ankle right before our week vacation in the snow and was very disappointed that I wasn't going to get on the mountain. This was a sightseeing trip I could handle and there was a great bar at the top with dj and all. If you don't ski or snowboard it's a way to still see what it's like in the high altitude and snowy mountains ! But I probably won't do it again because it was a little pricey just to get off and buy lots of drinks. I think the bar could help support the trip up (at least with customers like me and my group!)!!! still gorgeous views at the lookout point and a nice way to spend a few hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not yet opened”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did not actually ride the gondola due to the fact that it was still closed the beginning of June. Very unfortunate

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gondola at Heavenly also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Gondola at Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing