We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gondola at Heavenly

The Gondola at Heavenly
Ski Run Blvd., Heavenly Ski Resort, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
775-586-7000
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Trams, Ski/ Snowboard Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hop aboard an 8-passenger glass cabin and be whisked 2.4 miles up the side of a mountain for breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada mountain range. Riders can hop off at an observation deck, located half way up, for even more spectacular sights.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It is well worth the trip up, do dress warm, comfortable shoes. The view up there is spectacular. The employee's were very friendly. The only thing I would say negative. They have someone up ther taking picture when you gback on the gandola. It would be nice if they were taking picture of you with the awesome view. Then I would have paid $20 for the picture.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    110
    34
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Awesome views from the gondola and ski lifts. Tubing is fun for kids. Jackets recommended even in summer as the peak can get pretty chilly. Food option is limited, but bathrooms are clean and well stocked. Overall, other than food atthe peak, it is a good attraction.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great trip up the mountain. I injured my ankle right before our week vacation in the snow and was very disappointed that I wasn't going to get on the mountain. This was a sightseeing trip I could handle and there was a great bar at the top with dj and all. If you don't ski or snowboard it's a way to still see what it's like in the high altitude and snowy mountains ! But I probably won't do it again because it was a little pricey just to get off and buy lots of drinks. I think the bar could help support the trip up (at least with customers like me and my group!)!!! still gorgeous views at the lookout point and a nice way to spend a few hours.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not yet opened”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did not actually ride the gondola due to the fact that it was still closed the beginning of June. Very unfortunate

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Expensive, but amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Did this in the summer. Great views, but eat before you go. Watch out for their OUTRAGEOUS prices in the cafeteria. We had just basic sandwiches and soft drinks and paid close to $60.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gondola at Heavenly also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to The Gondola at Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gondola at Heavenly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.