We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 Romance Package
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Luis Obispo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great value in a boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend of mine and I stayed for three days and really enjoyed the hotel. I was torn between four and five stars, but gave it five because of two important elements. First, it is a really clean hotel. I place that above all else. Second, it was a really good value. I was making late reservations and all of the really nice resorts were either filled, or were charging over $500 per night. I got an outstanding deal through a third party vacation rental broker. Since we usually stay at the Grand Residence or the old Embassy Suites, I was a bit apprehensive about staying at a "motor lodge." That was put to rest right away when I first spoke with Ann. (You will read a lot about her in the reviews.) Ann is so personable and professional that she immediately makes you feel that you are staying somewhere special. When we got to the room, it was updated and very clean. They handle the bedding just like the top chains, placing the blanket between two fresh sheets. The clientele at the hotel were generally middle aged couples or groups and the place was really quiet despite being so close to Stateline. I did not eat the breakfast there......I like ham and eggs....... I did not use the pool, but it looked clean and heated. The fire pit was a great place to kick back in the early evening and meet other travelers. Parking was a bit tight, but was plentiful and free.
There were only two criticisms that I had. One was the lack of air conditioning. It wasn't that the temperature was so hot during those days, but you have to leave the front windows open to the front walk all night. If you close the blinds, it stops the air flow anyway. Given the amount of comments about this, they may want to consider making this investment. It would be the difference between me coming back, or going to the larger resorts. Second, (and this is a really little thing) they don't give you any real bar soap for the shower. The really little "round" of soap that is meant for hand washing at the sink barely does it.
Lastly, they are pet friendly, and Ann told me that they feel that pet owners make good clients. I saw several dogs there and never once heard a bark. Make sure that your pet is well traveled and behaved. I think it is an unwritten rule that if you are going to bring a four legged companion, you need to make sure it understands the rules. Again, this is a quiet and clean place.
I recommend this hotel to couples who want easy-in/easy-out access, personalized service, and want to stay away from the busy resort hotels. You will love the staff, and you will appreciate how well it is kept.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    42
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
34
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a delightful 4 night stay! Ann & Camille are great hosts! Only thing is - if you cannot offer milk for cereal at no charge, perhaps make small containers available for sale. Otherwise great stay! Two blocks from the Lake, & 2 blocks from casinos & shopping. Very clean & comfortable rooms! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff at Avalon Lodge (especially Ann! Hi, Ann!) were so great to us from the moment we arrived to check out. We were in town for an SUP race at El Dorado beach, so we had our boards on the Jeep and our dog, Bindi, in tow. They're located near stateline (we easliy walked to the casinos & Heavenly village) but also only steps from the lake and off the main road just enough that we felt safe leaving our equipment on the racks of the Jeep when we weren't using it at the lake. The room was very comfortable, clean, and looked like it had recently been remodeled. My mother-in-law and her friend came to visit us and it was large enough to non-awkwardly host a few drinks in the room with all four of us + Bindi. It even had a microwave and fridge, in addition to the usual coffee maker... and an honor bar! What a cool little treat. When we arrived, there was a car basket for Bindi on the bed with her own sheet, towels, a ball, and quite a few treats. Everything had been thought of for us. She was welcomed in any area of the hotel, which was a refreshing change. Even in the pool & hot tub areas! Did I mention those? It was really a little gem with a fire pit area, as well. We didn't get a chance to take out the courtesy beach cruisers, but definitely next time. Thanks Avalon for the wonderful stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

in the summer, South Lake Tahoe can be hot and stuffy, The rooms do not have AC nor do they have adequate ventilation. We were thinking of staying two days but because of lack of clear / clean / non- polluted / no construction air we had to cut our trip short by a day.
The staff was great, but that doesn't excuse the lack of basic ventilation for a room at this price point. One last thing, the staff was mis-imformed regarding dogs on the beach after 7 pm--- we were chased off and the only way to get to thee beach was a drive to Nevada beach at 6:00am

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you took the time to write a review and are sorry you felt the need to cut your trip short. Lake Tahoe, like most high altitude mountain & lake resorts, typically boasts the perfect mix of warm sunny days and cooler nights.

Usually there are only a few days in the summer which are above 80 degrees, but this summer we have experienced a heat wave! We do not advertise air-conditioning. We do have windows, ceiling fans ans even an added in room mobile fan for just such days.

We have discussed the idea of adding air conditioning, but to date the few extra warm days has not warranted it. This weather trend however, has us talking about it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm really torn between 3 and 4 stars...

We booked this hotel mainly because of the amenities listed (free kayaks available, bikes, pool, breakfast, fire pit, fireplace, etc). Yes, these amenities were technically there, the ones we actually cared about were pretty disappointing....

Let me explain:

- "Kayaks" were a joke. They were far too small for adults (children maybe) and were unusable in the water. We are not big people - I barely weigh 130 lbs and the 'kayak' would have sunk within 5 minutes on the lake. We ended up having to pay to rent kayaks somewhere else. This was a HUGE disappointment.

- If you want to use the fireplace, the pilot light needs to be lit by hotel staff. I brought this up and the front desk attendant said "oh yeah, we should really have signs that say that". Ummm yes, you should. We really would have liked to use it the first night. After that it warmed up and we didn't need it.

- Breakfast is extremely limited. They put out a crockpot of oatmeal with a tiny bowl of yogurt and a tiny bowl of cut up strawberries. You are literally restricted to taking maybe a tablespoon of yogurt and strawberries (if you don't want to be a jerk and take all of it). There is also granola, but no milk or anything to put on it. They also have a platter of a few pastries, but again, very very limited. We were satisfied, but I still thought this was dumb.

- Free sangria in the lobby gave me a raging headache. I think it was pre-made...Why not just serve inexpensive wine?

- Pool was not heated (unusable), but hot tub was great and we used it nightly.

Fortunately our room was clean (minus a few stray hairs), comfortable, and updated. My favorite part was the huge shower with the rain shower head.

Conveniently located to a private beach 2 blocks away and the casinos just up the street. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but were really disappointed with the mediocre amenities.

Tip: Ask for a room upstairs

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor to avoid noisy neighbors and shallow floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My 3 person family recently stayed at the Avalon. The location was perfect, you could walk to the lake and to restaurants. Room was very comfortable and the staff super nice. They have an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again soon, please that remember returning guests always receive a special discount when they book direct through the Avalon Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Avalon Lodge. When we arrived we were met by Ann and she made sure we had everything we needed. We told her we were going to make reservations for the Tahoe Queen Boat ride and she said she would make the arrangements for us. It was nice to have that kind of personal service. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. We will certainly stay here again the next time we travel to Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do always strive to provide the best guest service and assist you in planning your vacation. Our staff is always happy to arrange activities, dinner reservations, gift baskets, special amenities and more! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.