We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those in need of pet friendly travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free!
Ranked #20 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for those in need of pet friendly travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, despite the fact that they had given away all the king size bed rooms on the lower floor. I have a back injury and can't take our pets up and down stairs. We were given two queens in a nicely appointed room. An hour or so later, the manager knocked, and asked if we would be willing to move upstairs as they were sold out, and needed our two queen beds. When I again explained my back problem, she said they'd find another solution and apologized for the inconvenience. She was so nice, I wish I could have made the move, but its simply not do-able. Everything was clean and well appointed. I loved the slate tiled shower. The bedding was very new and the beds were comfortable. This is an older, refurbished property, and I congratulate them on doing a great job! If you only like new, modern looking rooms, this is not the property for you. The rooms are painted in very dark, forest tones, and could use brighter lighting, but we liked it. If the weather had been cooler we would have used the gas fireplace. We will return to the Avalon on our next trip - they're good decent people trying to offer good value to their patrons.

Room Tip: Be very clear if you need a downstairs room. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
33
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Avalon Lodge. This a pet friendly lodge and we were worried about the room but, we were very surprised to find the room was very clean and there were no smell of dogs. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets for each bed. Our room had a microwave and mini fridge, and the heater was an electric fireplace, which kept the room warm when needed. The room was a little dark, but the staff offered to bring lamps to our room. Complimentary breakfast was oatmeal, yogurt, blueberry bread, coffee, tea and orange juice. Late afternoon they had complimentary Sangria. Close to lake, casino, shopping-we walked almost everywhere. Stayed 3 nights, and only 1 night had a little noise, but nothing to complain about, other nights didn't hear anything. Definitely would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I and our 5month old enjoyed our weekend getaway at Avalon Lodge South Lake Tahoe. We don't have a dog so we were a bit worried about the room but, were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful clean room without any evidence or smell of dog at all. Location is great we could walk to the casino, beach, shopping, restaurants, and Heavenly Gondola. The staff was very friendly. Loved the complimentary Sangria in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in SLT and Gardnerville at their sister property. Both were great service and fabulously decorated.

The owners care - and we will recommend it to everyone!

Breakfast was great, too!!

Merci to Jasen and Anne

Room Tip: No fitness center Healthy breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Old and stinky room. Rude staff asking for additional money after check in for even babies 1. Never will stay here again and will consider a franchise option than mom n pop type of hotel like this. Breakfast is nearly non existing and the heater never worked which made all of us sick.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
At the Avalon Lodge, we do charge for all additional people over double occupancy in our rooms. Additionally, we have a maximum occupancy of 3 people of any age in a room. These policies were put in place based on guest feedback and to provide a quiet and private retreat for our guests. Due to your upset nature, we made exceptions to both of these and this unfortunately impacted our other guests as well as our staff. The information was clearly stated on the website (Expedia) on which you booked your reservation as well as all other websites. In addition to reading the information on the website, it is important to include the correct information when making your reservation, when you booked your stay you simply booked a room for 2 adults, if you had included your children on the reservation there would have been no surprises.

All of our rooms were remodeled in 2011 and do have a fireplace heater. Your heater did work during your stay, our front desk did confirm that with you upon your arrival. Additionally, we offer a fresh and healthy continental breakfast of oatmeal with toppings, yogurt with granola and berries as well as breakfast breads, coffee, tea and juice. We are very open about and proud of our rooms, small intimate nature of our property and offerings, we do strive to protect this atmosphere to ensure the experience that we promote is the one we provide. There are many hotels in Tahoe, all offering different experiences, and it does seem that our experience was not the experience that you were looking for. It is important that you do research and understand the hotel that you are reserving a room at to ensure that you find the right hotel for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would call my experience with the Avalon Lodge the best hotel experience I have had yet. The staff is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable and nice. When we arrived at the airport we realized we were going to be vary late coming in so we called the hotel to let them know and they were very understanding and held our room for us. Very happy with the room and had all the amenities listed. However the Wi-Fi would not connect with my iPad and the coffee Maker In the room did not make a good cup of coffee. I can't blame the hotel for the Wi-Fi it is more the providers fault then the hotel for having old equipment. In any case we just walked up two blocks to the nearest Starbucks to check email and Facebook. As for the coffee the front lobby always had a fresh pot Available so that wasn't a problem either.

We ended up eating more at the hotel then we did out at any restaurant. The hotel provided a wonderful breakfast of oatmeal yogurt and other Healthy items every morning which was a great plus. There was a mini fridge and a microwave in the room which we Made great use of. The staff was very nice to allow us to use their dishes and silverware for our dinners and lunches. In the afternoon they offered sangrias for the over 21 crowd to relax by the pool with. that was possibly one of my favorite parts.

The location was awesome you could walk two blocks one way and be on the main highway and close to The heavenly Village shops or roughly 2 blocks the other way and be right at the private beach on the lake. The private beach has a marina and a very nice little outdoor restaurant. The casinos were only about two blocks away however we did not visit And contribute.
We spent a very nice afternoon relaxing by the pool, And an evening relaxing in the hot tub. They do not use chlorine in their hot tub, This was very nice for me because I am very sensitive to the chlorine smell. All in all we had a wonderful time and plan to return to the Avalon Lodge very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I did a lot of shopping around for a good deal for a 3 night stay midweek near the casinos, This place like it was a great deal- so I took a chance and made reservations, The room as very nicely appointed, and we were very happy to see the microwave and mini fridge, The bathroom is very nice, with a slate shower. I did not realize how pet friendly this place is, but was a bit concerned when I saw all of the dogs- I am happy to say that my stay was not marred by barking dogs. The front desk employee named "Lovely" lived up to her namesake by following up on reservations for us after another employee gave us the wrong phone number as the fax number. She fixed the wireless internet immediately when we reported it not working, and tried to get a light fixture fixed for us, but it didn't happen. The location is great, and the lighted entry way from the street make it easy to find when you return after a full day. I would prefer staying here over a casino anytime! Btw- iPod docking stations were advertised but none were in our room.

Room Tip: Top Unit at the end- really nice. (but no elevator- so I hope you like dragging luggage up the steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.