We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but pool sunk part of the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free!
Ranked #20 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
bay area, ca
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good stay but pool sunk part of the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I decided to book here because of price, location, and the fact that there's a pool. It's within walking distance to the casinos and guests get access to a nice private beach (also walking distance). Check-in went smoothly. The front desk staff was pleasant. There was sangria and coffee available in the lobby. I asked if the pool was heated and she said yes. We located our room and was impressed that it was updated for an older motel. The bathroom was very nice. The bedding and towels were plush. There is a large flat screen TV, small fridge and microwave in the room as well. The only negative thing I can comment on is the fact that the swimming pool was not heated and was dirty. This was a huge disappointment because we had called a week before to confirm it would be ready to use during our stay. My young son and husband were upset when they were ready to swim, only to realize the pool had not been cleaned (and was cold). My husband asked the front desk about the pool and was told a maintenance man was suppose to come out but didn't make it. The pool was murky and when my husband stuck his hand in it, there was this brown powdery residue on his fingers. We went back to the beach but it would've been nice to have access to a clean pool. I heard other guests walking by and talking about going into the pool but of course no one went in. The continental breakfast was fine: good coffee, oatmeal, and coffee cake. The cakes were yummy. Anyway, I would come back because the room is nice, the staff pleasant and the location is great. However, they really need to get their pool cleaned!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Liberrygal,

Thank you for your kind words about our property. Our property has many pine trees and in the mountains, the pine pollen is prevalent for a few weeks each summer. This year, the pine pollen was overwhelming to the area, and while we strive to mitigate it for the week or two it is here, this year we did not seem to be able to keep up. To assist in keeping the pollen out (and heat in) we have purchased a pool cover as well as upgraded the pool pump to better handle this issue. We thank you for your feedback and do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
33
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I made a reservation with a very polite "Ralph" several weeks ago for July 4-7, using a special I found online for $99 per night. The reservation system was down, but he took all my info, including my credit card info, in writing. Last weekend, I realized I didn't have a confirmation, so I called. Ralph was very polite and apologized that my reservation didn't get processed. He remembered talking to me. He researched and called me back, saying he couldn't find the note, but the hotel couldn't honor the special I called about, because of the holiday weekend. He never mentioned that when I reserved, and if it was on the special I saw, I missed it. Either way, it's two weeks out, I have flights to Reno booked family booked in another hotel, and few hotels to choose from--all at much higher last minute rates. As a business owner, I would have tried to work this out with a compromise, but this hotel was willing to let me "swing in the wind". If you deal with this hotel, get everything in writing. (I also read on one review that they do not have a/c. I don't know if that's true. ) --Linda Cannon, Las Vegas

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Linda,

We apologize for the confusion on our promotion and your reservation. It was stated in the promotion that this deal was not available over the holiday weekend. Because our computer system was down, Ralph did take down your information and offered to make the reservation if possible, but did let you know he would call back with an answer. Ralph did call you back, as promised, the same day at the number you gave him and left a message stating that the promotion was not valid over these dates and offered to book a reservation at an available rate. It seems that you did not receive this information and we do apologize.

When you spoke to Ralph the second time he did offer alternative rates however the Fourth of July is a very popular holiday in South Lake Tahoe and room rates do run much higher than $99 at the majority of hotels and you chose to find an alternative hotel. We do feel the promotion was advertised appropriately and we tried to do everything we could to assist you. We are very sorry for any impact in planning your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This looked like another motel in a long row of others on the street. But it isn't! Everything about it was impressive. The check in staff was professional, and the room was lovely. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were top quality. Our dogs were welcome and they were given a "cehck in" basket. The pool was superclean as was the room. The breakfast was good - hot oatmeal, delicious pasteries, fresh orange juice and fruit. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Debideclai, We are thrilled you picked our Little Boutique Lodge for your recent visit. We are all animal lovers and strive to make sure that not only our guests experience an amazing time, but that our furry friends also have a fabulous visit. Please visit us again and receive a 5% discount when you book directly with our front desk staff. We’ve got some ice cold sangria waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our first impression was that the Avalon lodge was just another "motel". We were wrong, however and found our accommodations to be above standard, with amenities similar to a four start hotel. Nice bathrobes, top of the line shampoos and soap, etc. Very nice staff. A good location, quite. And, bonus, pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear RebFan,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a great review. We take great pride in providing the best in cozy comfort with elegant touches for our guests, and we know how important our four-legged guests are too! We look forward to seeing you again, and as a repeat guest, please take advantage of our 5% discount when booking directly with us. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was first stunned that we reserved our room 2 weeks in advance and told they would charge our accout that day....okay. When we arrived the room was just not as lovely as the photos, although,okay.....but certainly not for the price! The ';breakfast' was so sorry that we fed it to our 2 small dogs and laughed that we should cross the road to another place we had stayed before for a decent morning meal. We stayed for 2 nights and then found these little cottages right on Stateline....hope you can fine them too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon4075, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Judy,

We are disheartened that you did not enjoy your stay and more so that this was not conveyed to us while you were our guest but rather four months later via an online posting disallowing for us to resolve any issues for you or better understand your comments. We have searched our computer system so that we could contact you directly but are struggling to find a reservation that fits with the information on your profile and in on this review.

We are very upfront about our deposit policy and we do take a deposit equal to the first night of your stay to guarantee the room at the time of booking, this is a common practice in hotels and much less than the online sites like Expedia who charge in full at the time of booking. We would like to better understand the difference you felt in the photos to our rooms as we have never received this comment prior, we would like to understand your thoughts so we can clarify this for future guests. Our breakfast is a healthy continental breakfast featuring breakfast bread from the local bakery, yogurt, granola, oatmeal and juice, again we would like to understand your expectations and how we can alleviate any confusion for future guests.

We want you to enjoy your vacation and are glad that you found another hotel that you like. We are drastically different from the property you mention and I would imagine that you were looking for a hotel very different than ours. We pride ourselves in offering amenities and services that most small hotels do not. We want to ensure that we are accurately portraying our property to potential guests. We always ask for direct feedback so that we can resolve issues and improve from constructive criticism rather than receive anonymous posts that we cannot learn from. We would appreciate if you could directly contact us so we could better understand this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We (a couple) recently stayed for two nights and enjoyed the lodge as a very nice place. We had a room with two queen beds, a fireplace, a fridge and a microwave (which we did not use). This place is very conveniently located just two blocks from the Heavenly gondola and we had a great skiing vacation just walking over, without starting the car. Staff was very friendly and responding to our questions, especially Danielle. We had stayed before in a different lodge nearby (I will not write the name), but the Avalon Lodge is certainly the better place and value.
If I have to think of a negative point then it would be the small number of available power outlets. Nowadays you want to charge two cell phones, a tablet, your camera batteries etc. over night. But this was really a small issue compared to the coziness of sitting at the fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, General Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hiking-har,

Thank you for the great review. Our central location is one of the many reasons our guests choose to stay at The Avalon Lodge. We’re pleased that you found it convenient to all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer. It’s always good to hear that our staff is responding positively to our guests and that no question is too difficult for them to answer. We’re a small boutique hotel and while that comes with all the charm of a non-corporate setting, our staff has to wear many hats. One of the mottos of our front desk staff is: “If we don’t know the answer, we’ll find the answer!” We appreciate your feedback regarding the outlet situation. Of course, you are right, with all the different electronics we carry around outlets are a commodity. We will certainly look into improving that situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in an anniversary trip. The location is perfect- tucked away from the main street around the lake, so its quiet, but close enough to walk. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well designed. I loved the extra chubby storage in the bathroom!

We did have issues with the water changing temps, but it seemed to be a minor problem. Service was wonderful and breakfast was ample if you like hearty oatmeal.

My only complaint is that the fireplace is the heater, so unless it was cold, we couldn't enjoy it.

Great stay. Would go here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, General Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear CAtouristgirl,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your anniversary with us at The Avalon Lodge. We know how special these occasions are for our guests. We strive to create that very atmosphere of “casual elegance” our guests expect when they visit us. We hope you will decide to stay with us again sometime in the future, and when you do, please take advantage of our 5% repeat-guest discount when you book directly with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.