We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4th Night Free
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our first impression was that the Avalon lodge was just another "motel". We were wrong, however and found our accommodations to be above standard, with amenities similar to a four start hotel. Nice bathrobes, top of the line shampoos and soap, etc. Very nice staff. A good location, quite. And, bonus, pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear RebFan,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a great review. We take great pride in providing the best in cozy comfort with elegant touches for our guests, and we know how important our four-legged guests are too! We look forward to seeing you again, and as a repeat guest, please take advantage of our 5% discount when booking directly with us. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
35
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pioneer, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was first stunned that we reserved our room 2 weeks in advance and told they would charge our accout that day....okay. When we arrived the room was just not as lovely as the photos, although,okay.....but certainly not for the price! The ';breakfast' was so sorry that we fed it to our 2 small dogs and laughed that we should cross the road to another place we had stayed before for a decent morning meal. We stayed for 2 nights and then found these little cottages right on Stateline....hope you can fine them too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon4075, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Judy,

We are disheartened that you did not enjoy your stay and more so that this was not conveyed to us while you were our guest but rather four months later via an online posting disallowing for us to resolve any issues for you or better understand your comments. We have searched our computer system so that we could contact you directly but are struggling to find a reservation that fits with the information on your profile and in on this review.

We are very upfront about our deposit policy and we do take a deposit equal to the first night of your stay to guarantee the room at the time of booking, this is a common practice in hotels and much less than the online sites like Expedia who charge in full at the time of booking. We would like to better understand the difference you felt in the photos to our rooms as we have never received this comment prior, we would like to understand your thoughts so we can clarify this for future guests. Our breakfast is a healthy continental breakfast featuring breakfast bread from the local bakery, yogurt, granola, oatmeal and juice, again we would like to understand your expectations and how we can alleviate any confusion for future guests.

We want you to enjoy your vacation and are glad that you found another hotel that you like. We are drastically different from the property you mention and I would imagine that you were looking for a hotel very different than ours. We pride ourselves in offering amenities and services that most small hotels do not. We want to ensure that we are accurately portraying our property to potential guests. We always ask for direct feedback so that we can resolve issues and improve from constructive criticism rather than receive anonymous posts that we cannot learn from. We would appreciate if you could directly contact us so we could better understand this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We (a couple) recently stayed for two nights and enjoyed the lodge as a very nice place. We had a room with two queen beds, a fireplace, a fridge and a microwave (which we did not use). This place is very conveniently located just two blocks from the Heavenly gondola and we had a great skiing vacation just walking over, without starting the car. Staff was very friendly and responding to our questions, especially Danielle. We had stayed before in a different lodge nearby (I will not write the name), but the Avalon Lodge is certainly the better place and value.
If I have to think of a negative point then it would be the small number of available power outlets. Nowadays you want to charge two cell phones, a tablet, your camera batteries etc. over night. But this was really a small issue compared to the coziness of sitting at the fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, General Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hiking-har,

Thank you for the great review. Our central location is one of the many reasons our guests choose to stay at The Avalon Lodge. We’re pleased that you found it convenient to all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer. It’s always good to hear that our staff is responding positively to our guests and that no question is too difficult for them to answer. We’re a small boutique hotel and while that comes with all the charm of a non-corporate setting, our staff has to wear many hats. One of the mottos of our front desk staff is: “If we don’t know the answer, we’ll find the answer!” We appreciate your feedback regarding the outlet situation. Of course, you are right, with all the different electronics we carry around outlets are a commodity. We will certainly look into improving that situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in an anniversary trip. The location is perfect- tucked away from the main street around the lake, so its quiet, but close enough to walk. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well designed. I loved the extra chubby storage in the bathroom!

We did have issues with the water changing temps, but it seemed to be a minor problem. Service was wonderful and breakfast was ample if you like hearty oatmeal.

My only complaint is that the fireplace is the heater, so unless it was cold, we couldn't enjoy it.

Great stay. Would go here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, General Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear CAtouristgirl,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your anniversary with us at The Avalon Lodge. We know how special these occasions are for our guests. We strive to create that very atmosphere of “casual elegance” our guests expect when they visit us. We hope you will decide to stay with us again sometime in the future, and when you do, please take advantage of our 5% repeat-guest discount when you book directly with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay in September on 2/2 then learned in another review that there was no air conditioning. I called 2/3 to cancel the reservation and was told there would be a $35 cancellation fee. I disputed this because I didn't recall seeing a cancellation fee when booking. It turns out that it's in small print and shorthand (Reg CXL:$35 fee if cxl 72 hours in advan FF dep if cxl within 72 hrs). It's now 2/13 and I still haven't received a refund of my deposit. An email requesting a refund has gone unanswered for the past 24 hours. Given this poor level of customer service, I would advise against booking with this company.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Cycler1,

I am regretful to hear of your disappointment and desire for air-conditioning. We find little need for it, living in the mountains, and we do have ceiling fans in every room; but some travelers prefer AC. We strive to ensure our potential guests book a place they like. Yes, we do have a cancellation policy and clearly outline it on our website and in our confirmation letters; as do most Tahoe-resort properties. We have no record of an e-mail, and do not know who you booked through, but if you would like to e-mail info@clehospitality.com, referencing this review and include your dates of stay and name, we will certainly look into it further for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in late September 2011. The website was a little misleading on the quality we expected. It was very quaint and the beds were nice. But the sound traveled through the walls. While the newly remodeled bathroom was a great design the stone tile showers mixed with the lukwarm water made for a quick cold shower. On the bright side, the fireplace cranks and the can lights lights above the bed doubled as heating lamps. The service was pretty mediocre, except one woman Kathy. She was refreshing to deal with but still no change in water temp even after she solicitated comments on our stay.

Going back to misleading, the store they advertise on line is actually just a little area in the lobby painted a differnt color with some overpriced items you'd find in a gift basket.

We did shop other hotels as we want to return here one day with our dogs. Considering the Park Tahoe Inn around the corner has a discounted room, they call their small room - lol, and 968 Park Hotel has a swanky bedroom feel, both of which matches there website advertising, We will not return to Avalon Lodge.

Maybe its not so bad if your not on your honeymoon and there is not a crying baby next door. I would have rated teh sleep quality and cleanliness excellent if not for the thin walls and dirty feel of carpet. If you just want a place to crash after a long day outdoors the room (less the dirty feel of the carpet) really was great!!

You must go eat at Cafe Fiore - if you don't go to Tahoe for the beauty of this lake and it's forest go for this restaurant!!!! Best place we have ever eaten, hands down.

Room Tip: Just ask for one that new carpet has been put in. They were finishing a remodel when we were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Lady Samms,

We are so sorry your expectations of us did not match your experience. We pride ourselves in being service minded in a warm, inviting, and boutique atmosphere. I should note that your review comes more than a year after your stay, and since then we have completely renovated the property, including the carpet in all the rooms. We appreciate your comments and will take this opportunity to learn from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was very nice, clean, and quiet at night. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower is fabulous. A great hotel in a location convenient to Heavenly and casinos. Friendly, responsive staff. I highly recommend this place and will stay there on my next trip to South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you were delighted with your visit to the Avalon Lodge. We pride ourselves on offering the most comfortable beds in South Lake Tahoe and are happy that you found them as comfy as we do. In addition, all of our showers were recently renovated to give you that unique feeling of being wrapped in luxurious stonework. We are always updating our training for our staff so that they are always available to ensure a memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit. Remember to call us directly and ask for our repeat-guest discount of 5% off your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.