We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package for $109!
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Cupertino, California
1 review
“Very comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was very nice, clean, and quiet at night. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower is fabulous. A great hotel in a location convenient to Heavenly and casinos. Friendly, responsive staff. I highly recommend this place and will stay there on my next trip to South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you were delighted with your visit to the Avalon Lodge. We pride ourselves on offering the most comfortable beds in South Lake Tahoe and are happy that you found them as comfy as we do. In addition, all of our showers were recently renovated to give you that unique feeling of being wrapped in luxurious stonework. We are always updating our training for our staff so that they are always available to ensure a memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit. Remember to call us directly and ask for our repeat-guest discount of 5% off your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
34
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked the Avalon Lodge on Expedia for a last minute ski trip and are glad we did! The rooms were huge, the beds so comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with dinner reservations. It was a short walk to the gondola and dinner, but far enough from the highway that there was no traffic noise. The showers were amazing! Next time we will ask for a corner room with a view. We had a great stay and will be back next week!

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon4075, Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while skiing in the area. We pride ourselves in being a unique hide-away that is close to everything our guests desire while visiting South Lake Tahoe. Our showers get rave reviews consistently, as do our soft and luxurious beds and comfortable décor. We look forward to seeing you again, and as a repeat guest, please take advantage of our 5% discount when booking directly with us. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Another business trip took me back to the Carson Valley and I was able to get a good deal at the Avalon Lodge and spend a day on the slopes. I'd been there soon after they first opened and was happy to see all the progress they'd made. The staff was very welcoming and eager to recommend restaurants and entertainment opportunities, and just to talk. The room was spacious, well furnished, very comfortable and the bed really felt great after a long day. I slept well and the next morning thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and chatting with the other guests. Everyone was friendly and my feelings of staying in small, locally owned hotels was reinforced. I'm not a big hotel type. I'm hoping to make it back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are always hearing wonderful comments about our beds, which having a place to sleep is the main reason one gets a hotel room. So we decided to be sure that we have the most comfortable beds in South Lake Tahoe and we do! But a hotel is not just about the bed. We are constantly revisiting training with our staff so that we can provide you with the best professional, knowledgeable and courteous staff possible. Thank you for your kind comments about the progress that has been made since your last visit. We think our rooms are special too with warm fireplaces and exceptional amenities. It’s always a delight to see our guests mingling in our living room-type lobby over breakfast in the morning or a cup of hot Mulled Wine in the afternoon. Thank you for being a part of the growing family here at the Avalon Lodge. As a repeat guest, we will extend to you a 5% discount when you book your reservation directly with us. We look forward to seeing you again (and again) soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel. It was my birthday weekend and I was really looking forward to a nice getaway in the snow. This hotel just about ruined it. I wouldn't stay here again if I were paid to. We have been to many, many hotels and this was the worst place I have ever stayed.
* The bathroom reeked of wet dog. I understand some people stay with dogs here, but I expected it to be cleaned. Between the dog smell and the little black hairs in the bathroom, it was obvious dogs had recently been there and the place hadn't been well cleaned. Add to that the caked-in-dirt old sock underneath the duvet, and I wondered if the place had been cleaned at all before we checked in. There was also dog poop on the walkway and all around the parking lot.
* I was told at check-in that there would be a $200 hold on my credit card "in case I walked off with something from the room". I understand the practice, but really?!?
* The bathroom was tiny. One very nice slate shower (the one positive for this place), an itty bitty sink and a toilet. The shelf was four inches wide and we couldn't put more than a tooth brush on it.
* Worst of all, there is almost no soundproofing. The people in the room above us were up until 3 am. We heard every conversation, every sneeze, every toilet flush. They had a whole lot of fun, and I literally thought there was an earthquake with how much OUR headboard was shaking, because of what was going on in the room above us. My 5-year old son asked me what a vulgar female anatomy name meant was because we could hear their every word before we left our room in frustration. I don't think they were even being that loud, the soundproofing is just non-existent. So they went to bed at 3 am, and the neighbors to our right got up at 5:30 am. And we could hear *their* every word and toilet flush. We got just over two hours of sleep. Worst night ever in a hotel room, and we've done some traveling.
I went to the front desk to ask for a partial refund as we chose to check out a night early rather than suffer another night of sleeplessness and gross dog smell. I was told they were aware of the noise issue, and there was no refund. We checked out anyway, cutting our stay in beautiful Tahoe short. I'll be contacting the Better Business Bureau about their "boutique" hotel.
My husband tried to cheer me up by saying at least we didn't spend that much on the hotel. He thought by the look of the place it was $50 a night. Nope. $200 a night for the worst night of sleep ever.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay and save yourself the headache!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon4075, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We truly apologize for your experience, this is not something that we find acceptable either and our manager did extend a refund to you upon learning of your experience from our staff. We do wish that you had contacted the front desk about your noisy neighbors. The property is staffed 24 hours a day and we do walk the property several times during the night to do everything possible to ensure all guests are quiet. Our lodge is small and we try our best to cater to a respectful clientele who are looking for relaxation, amenities, service and location – we are not a haven for party seekers or guests who are looking to stay up all night and do not condone this behavior as it does disturb our other guests.

We are a pet friendly hotel and do require additional and extensive cleaning after a pet has been in a room. When we remodeled the property in 2011 we did open up the walls and add modern soundproofing to the rooms. Even the best 5 star hotels have issues when a neighbor is inappropriately loud. Again, we wish we had received a call from you.

We do thank you for your feedback and as you can see from our many positive reviews, we strive to provide superior guest service and an amazing stay and will use this to train our staff and resolve any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge because we saw a good deal on TravelZoo. This place is a 5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola so it was perfect for my husband to ski. Our room was a nice size, a warm fireplace, big bathroom, big tile shower, and very comfortable bed. There is a microwave and fridge in there as well.

Every day at 3pm the lodge serves Mulled Spice Wine which was great since it was about 10 degrees outside. The continental breakfast was nothing to brag about, just bread, plain granola, plain yogurt, oatmeal, and some fruit that had no flavor.

There is a hottub, but it was too cold for us to go outside in our swimsuits.

We would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us here at the Avalon Lodge. We also love our location because it is so central to all things fun, both winter and summer. We’re happy that you found our rooms comfortable and appealing. We’ve appointed them with the things we knew our guests would enjoy. Our complimentary Mulled Wine is always a big hit after a day of sightseeing or out on the slopes, and we try to satisfy the masses with our healthy, complimentary continental breakfast. Your comments serve to provide us with what we need in order to do so. We look forward to seeing you again and, as a repeat guest; you can enjoy a 5% discount when booking directly with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The room was excellent. Huge comfy bed, contemporary furnishings, great lighting, a fire on the wall if you needed it (we didn't) as Sept is still very warm, and a gorgeous, modern bathroom with slate shower. Walking distance from the beach in one direction and the main strip of the town in the other. I'd love to go back in the winter and stay. There was an outdoor jacuzzi but it was closed. Breakfast was cereal, juice and coffee in the Reception area which was plenty.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip with our 3-year-old pup, and it couldn't have worked out better. Not only had he never seen snow (he LOVED it), but he had never stayed in a motel before! The staff was awesome - there was a welcome basket with treats, doody bags, his own sheet so he could choose which bed to sleep on, and towels to wipe him down from the second biggest snowfall during Christmas of all time! He had never seen snow, had a blast, and the staff was very accommodating to work around his schedule to clean so that we were never inconvenienced! Jim, Teresa, and Beth were awesome, and treated Murphy very well. Not to mention the mulled wine, yummy, every night! ;>) We will definitely be back! KC

Room Tip: I can see how a corner room for a dog would have been better - less woofing during the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are thrilled you picked our lovely Lodge for your first snow experience at Lake Tahoe!! It sounds like Murphy was a hit with our Staff! We are all animal lovers and want to make sure the guest and pet experience exceed your expectations. After a day on the slopes or just enjoying the amazing outdoors of our beautiful mountains, we know the Mulled Wine is a warm-welcome back. We look forward to seeing your family and Murphy again soon. Visit in the summer when we have complimentary bikes and kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.