We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package for $109!
Ranked #19 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Fremont, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge because we saw a good deal on TravelZoo. This place is a 5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola so it was perfect for my husband to ski. Our room was a nice size, a warm fireplace, big bathroom, big tile shower, and very comfortable bed. There is a microwave and fridge in there as well.

Every day at 3pm the lodge serves Mulled Spice Wine which was great since it was about 10 degrees outside. The continental breakfast was nothing to brag about, just bread, plain granola, plain yogurt, oatmeal, and some fruit that had no flavor.

There is a hottub, but it was too cold for us to go outside in our swimsuits.

We would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us here at the Avalon Lodge. We also love our location because it is so central to all things fun, both winter and summer. We’re happy that you found our rooms comfortable and appealing. We’ve appointed them with the things we knew our guests would enjoy. Our complimentary Mulled Wine is always a big hit after a day of sightseeing or out on the slopes, and we try to satisfy the masses with our healthy, complimentary continental breakfast. Your comments serve to provide us with what we need in order to do so. We look forward to seeing you again and, as a repeat guest; you can enjoy a 5% discount when booking directly with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
34
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The room was excellent. Huge comfy bed, contemporary furnishings, great lighting, a fire on the wall if you needed it (we didn't) as Sept is still very warm, and a gorgeous, modern bathroom with slate shower. Walking distance from the beach in one direction and the main strip of the town in the other. I'd love to go back in the winter and stay. There was an outdoor jacuzzi but it was closed. Breakfast was cereal, juice and coffee in the Reception area which was plenty.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip with our 3-year-old pup, and it couldn't have worked out better. Not only had he never seen snow (he LOVED it), but he had never stayed in a motel before! The staff was awesome - there was a welcome basket with treats, doody bags, his own sheet so he could choose which bed to sleep on, and towels to wipe him down from the second biggest snowfall during Christmas of all time! He had never seen snow, had a blast, and the staff was very accommodating to work around his schedule to clean so that we were never inconvenienced! Jim, Teresa, and Beth were awesome, and treated Murphy very well. Not to mention the mulled wine, yummy, every night! ;>) We will definitely be back! KC

Room Tip: I can see how a corner room for a dog would have been better - less woofing during the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are thrilled you picked our lovely Lodge for your first snow experience at Lake Tahoe!! It sounds like Murphy was a hit with our Staff! We are all animal lovers and want to make sure the guest and pet experience exceed your expectations. After a day on the slopes or just enjoying the amazing outdoors of our beautiful mountains, we know the Mulled Wine is a warm-welcome back. We look forward to seeing your family and Murphy again soon. Visit in the summer when we have complimentary bikes and kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Avalon Lodge. The rooms have been updated elegantly, with a nice bed, great little details and a wonderful stone shower with good pressure and plenty of elegance. The breakfast was fresh oatmeal and baked bread along with some fresh cut strawberries and blueberries which we very much enjoyed. One thing is that the staff at breakfast did not monitor the consumption, thus most options would be empty and we would constantly have to ask for replenishments, but when they arrived they were delicious.
The location is a walking distance from the slopes, and you come back to a nice pot of mulled wine mmm delicious. Thanks for all the added extras much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We appreciate your favorable comments on your recent stay. We take great pride in providing the best in cozy comfort with elegant touches for our guests. We are glad our tasty breakfast was replenished quickly for you and we have now added larger bowls for those peak days. There’s something about the snowy weather that enhances our appetites! Come and see us again soon, there’s a pot of Mulled Wine brewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Avalon Lodge was the perfect escape for our 5th anniversary. It is just a short drive from where we live, but we felt miles away with the warm atmosphere, beautiful slate showers and comfy beds. They even had spiced wine in the lobby for us to enjoy by the fireplace. We were close enough to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The staff couldn't be better. They helped us make reservations at Cafe Fiore for our anniversary and while we were out at dinner they placed champagne and chocolates in our room as a surprise. The hotel and staff were absolutely charming, we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28, which had a view of the field behind the hotel, only a few rooms seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your Anniversary with us. We know how special these occasions are for our guests. Our thoughtful amenities and beautifully appointed rooms help us to create for our guests what we call “casual elegance defined”. We look forward to hosting you on your next getaway up the mountain. And don’t forget our 5% returning guest discount when you book direct for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I apologise for the late review. I stayed here summer of 2011. I think they had just finished renovations so we got a great deal to check out the upgrades.

This place was amazing. The most friendliest staff that made you feel at home & welcome. Cosy atmosphere, but the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Quite luxurious feeling to it. The free bikes were a nice touch, so was the outdoor spa (and this cured every ache in my body I had acquired after spending a day riding around San Fran on a bike two days earlier - I could barely walk!)

Location excellent.. You can walk to the border & casinos - It was safe to do so at night if you want a few drinks! Heavenly a couple minutes walk too & there was a bit of snow in mountain so we could play around - and it was hot too!

Summer was a quiet time of course, but it was perfect. I would definitely come back here if I'm in that part of California .. perfect, perfect, perfect! Thanks Avalon.

Also recommend the ten min drive to Zephyr Cove beach in the Summer (water a bit chilly, but its beautiful).

Room Tip: I think we had mountain view room. It was cosy but not in the small sense, it was just beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Better late than never…we appreciate your taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We love our location too and combine that with our dedicated and friendly staff and attention to guest comforts, we hope the Avalon Lodge will be at the top of your return visit list! Thanks again and visit us on your next trip to the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My experience with the Avalon Lodge was a great one the staff were extremely friendly and helpful the room was large,clean and the bed was comfortable. Its a short walk to the lake and to the casinos I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Though there isn't a fitness center who needs one while on a weekend getaway

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We love our location too – in between the lifts and the lake, as we say. While we are an intimate lodge that does not have a fitness room we do offer complimentary bikes and kayaks in the summer and snowshoes in the winter to help keep you active and exploring, make sure to save some time to try them out on your next stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.