We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice staff, allows dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Save Saved
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free!
Ranked #20 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice staff, allows dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very nice, as is the shower and bathroom. Luxury for the price. We had our dog with us, and so we were surprised to get such a nice animal-friendly room. Unfortunately animals come with smells and our room had a slight sour aroma. The cleaning staff did not have air freshened or a candle. So we wandered in search of a drugstore where we could buy one. Had to call cleaning again as their was no shampoo in room and cleaning staff gave us a half used bottle of shampoo which apparently was the last one. Not sure how that happened. Other than those two things it was a nice stay. We borrowed the bikes and had an enjoyable ride down to the golf course. Loved the free Internet. Breakfast is a nice touch but it was pretty much decimated by the time we went to get it. Good location for beach and casinos. Staff was nice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your staff appreciation and insightful feedback. We sure do love our pets and absolutely do welcome well behaved ones to our lodge as part of your family.

While we agree that pets come with their scents, you should not have been affected in any way by another stay. It is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize. If I had known, we would have immediately remedied the situation with a room move or ??

Please know that because of your astute nose, we have had all of our carpets professionally cleaned earlier than our usual timeframe. Again, we appreciate your honesty and attitude. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
33
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful time at the Avalon Lodge this past month. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, especially the beds. I’d love one like that for my own home. The staff was friendly and helpful, always ready to answer our questions. The breakfast was just right for us, tasty and plentiful - and it was great to chat with the other guests in the morning. I think the hotel attracts friendly guests. The hotel is in a quiet area surrounded by huge pines and it was restful to sit outdoors in one of their several sitting areas. Since my mother has trouble getting around, she really appreciated being able sit outdoors in a lovely setting. We also used the hotel pass to spend a morning at the beach and loved that. There was a lot going on there! There were plenty of restaurants in the area to dine at and we even got in some shopping. All in all, the Avalon was a great part of our vacation. My mother rarely travels anymore but told me that she would go back to the Avalon anytime – and that is high praise from her!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at the Avalon for a week in July with my husband, our daughter and her boyfriend. The location was perfect for everyone to walk to whatever activity they wanted (beach, casinos, shopping, dining). The rooms were well appointed and very clean. The "continental" breakfast each morning was a real treat with delicious breakfast breads each morning. Nothing better than sitting on the deck looking at the beautiful blue sky and having breakfast. The front desk staff, especially Shannon and Theresa, were very helpful and friendly. It was such a peaceful and enjoyable "lodge" that I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We took our dog here and had a great time. All of the staff are incredibly welcoming, nice, and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious with good amenities including mini fridges and microwaves. You are also given a dog welcome basket which among treats and other things includes an old sheet for your dog so that he can sleep on the bed with you. You can also ask for a dog bed and a food and water bowl. Everyone there seems to love dogs and there are lots of places to hang out and relax on the property with or without your dog. The pool and jacuzzi are well kept and nice.
There are also bikes and kayaks to rent out for free, which would not be available at big chain hotels.
Overall this is a great place to stay with an amazing staff. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people with or without dogs, though if you have a dog this would be a great place to stay with them.

Lara S.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June Lake, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After searching and searching for an affordable dog friendly option that is also clean and comfortable I found the Avalon Lodge, located only 3 blocks from the journey concert we were going to see at the Harvey's South Lake Ampitheatre.

Upon arrival everything began falling into place, the front desk service was personal and the lobby was extremely clean with water, coffee, and even sangria! I felt as if I were being welcomed into someone's home. The front desk staff presented me with a dog basket which included some biscuits a tennis ball, a clean towel and a sheet for some dog bedding! THat worked out great.

There are no complaints with the recently renovated rooms, the bathrooms being the highlight (water pressure on the raindrop shower head was AMAZING!) The bedding is very comfortable, and the ceiling fan in the room kept us cool on a hot summer day. I have a really bad back and I slept better on this mattress than the one I have at home!

The pool and hot tub were very clean and at a great temperature, and the bikes to take out worked great to get down to the beach, only two blocks away! I will always be looking to stay at the Avalon Lodge on future trips to South Lake Tahoe.

Overall the best part of this dog friendly location was that I could not tell that this was a dog friendly hotel, the housekeeping staff is doing a great job and my allergies were not an issue when staying in the room! This place is the bees knees!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed amazing as our party had 3 all over...and they all exceeded par!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff at the Avalon made us feel right at home from the minute we checked in. They immediately offered us some delicious sangria while we were checking in and were eager to show us trail maps and boat and kayak rental information when they learned more about our recreation interests, so right away we knew we were going to love our stay. They offer a free breakfast in the mornings, and one day while getting ready for a hike I lost track of time and missed the breakfast, but when I wandered into the lobby to buy a snack from the adjoining store the desk clerk immediately ran into her kitchen to fix me a bowl of yogurt and granola (for free!) so I wouldn't have to buy anything. We felt like guests in someone's home during our stay because of the warmth and generosity of the staff. You can't beat the location, either: just a few blocks from Heavenly resort and the lake. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, AND they also offer free cruiser bike rentals so you can explore South Tahoe in style! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms near the corner are closest to the balcony, so if you stay there you'll feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind words! Aren't the complimentary bikes great??? We thank you for staying and hope you get to come and visit us and Tahoe again ~ and don't forget your 5% returning guest discount!

DP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff were very friendly. If we are going to visit that area again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.