We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel that could use a few upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine Basket
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel that could use a few upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Pros: Great location (walking distance to beach and the village), friendly staff, clean facilities, easy parking, very comfortable bed, great mid-week special deal.

Cons: Very thin walls (for both people noise and water pipe noise), less than decent breakfast, mid-week special food/wine package hardly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
35
67
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife and I went to Tahoe for a backpacking trip with our dog, and planned to finish backpacking and check into the Avalon Lodge for our first wedding anniversary. I did a lot of research for dog-friendly lodging before booking the Avalon. The other reviews were right, the Avalon Lodge was perfect! We arrived a little early and they got our room ready right away. The concierge, John, was super friendly and helpful. He directed us to a fantastic local restaurant where we could sit outside with our dog. When we got back to the lodge we took advantage of the well-maintained hot tub and pool. The room was very tastefully and modernly decorated. So many places in Tahoe are trapped in the 80's! Bedroom, bathroom and shower were plenty big. It was quiet and comfortable. The staff had left us a bottle of wine with a note congratulating us on our anniversary. The location is very quiet, but just a couple of blocks from the big hotel casinos where we went for a fancy dinner at the Montbleu. (try the Elk at Ciara for a fine dining experience) When we got back, the bed was super comfortable. Next morning we took advantage of the convenient continental breakfast of oatmeal with lots of delicious toppings, yogurt, cranberry bread, coffee and OJ. We ate outside by the pool. Just lovely! We obviously really enjoyed our brief stay at the Avalon Lodge. They paid great attention to detail and made all of the guests feel special. And, it was relatively inexpensive. I anticipate that this is going to be an annual event for us.

Room Tip: We had room #16, which may have been their best King bed room. First floor with a view of the woode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were debating about staying at the Marriott Residence Inn or the Avalon Lodge and chose the Avalon Lodge based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. In retrospect we made the wrong choice.

I think the Avalon Lodge is trying hard to be a boutique motel and in a year may be able to pull it off but it is not there yet. As noted in other reviews they are in the process of renovating rooms and at the time of our visit they were down to the final two. The renovated rooms are very nice but the lack of air conditioning is a major drawback. Although it gets chilly late at night, during the day and early evening the room was very warm and we had to keep the windows open throughout the day and night which really affected our ability to sleep. They do provide a small fan which was a minor help and I understand that they will be getting portable air conditioners but they were not available at the time of our visit. The beds were very comfortable and the comforters were also very good quality. Also the Movie on Demand was not yet available and it would have been nice to have had a DVD player in the room.

One of the major reasons why we chose the Avalon was the availability of bicycles and kayaks for free use. However when we got there one of the 3 bikes were broken and another broke while I was riding it about a mile away. There were two kayaks which were both one person kayaks and transporting them to the beach would have been difficult without an SUV or truck since the beach is a 10 minute walk away. In my mind, if you are going to offer bikes and kayaks they should at a minimum have enough for a family of four and ideally enough for a couple of rooms to access. We wound up renting bikes which was an additional cost I did not expect to incur.

The breakfast was as advertised with oatmeal and yogurt and usually blueberries and/or raisins. They also had orange juice, coffee and a cranberry or raisin bread. However for those who dont eat as healthy, there were no bagels.croissants, etc. I didn't expect a full eggs, waffles, pancakes breakfast but it would have been nice to have some alternative particulary for the kids.

The location was convenient to the casinos and Heavenly and walking distance to the private beach. The pool was small and the hot tub is located across the parking lot but about what should be expected for a 20 unit motel.

Lastly, we had to replace our own towels and there was only one bar of soap for both the sink and shower. The shampoo and conditioner were not replaced when empty. However the bathrobes were very comfortable and a nice touch.

Ovearll, we were slightly disappointed with our stay. I understand that soon the outside and parking lot will be undergoing renovations and maybe in a year or so it will be the place that the new owners envision.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and for your positive perspective. I am very sorry you were slightly disappointed during your stay. We were very aware from the beginning that you desired to stay at the Marriott. We strive to provide accurate and thorough information to our guests about our lodge as we want you to stay at a hotel which makes you happy – even to our breakfast inclusions.

We strive to be Eco-conscious and for this reason do provide one soap in room, though we are happy to provide additional products as desired. We only wash towels if left on the floor and change our linens on the third day of your stay unless otherwise requested; as stated in our in room literature. We provide reusable water bottles and glasses in room and also plates and silverware at breakfast. We donate used amenities to the Clean the World Foundation.

One of our amenities is to have complimentary bikes available for our guests. Most of our guests have enjoyed them, and we usually do have enough bikes available for a good first come; first served system. Due to unforeseen issues, we did have 3 break in the same week (your week) – one during your ride! We are happy to report that they are all back in working order after a summer of heavy use. We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the Avalon and were impressed by the service and friendly check in. It has a pleasant feel and the pool/patio is well kept. The breakfast offerings were extensive with quality granola, sweet bread, oatmeal and fruit. The cons are few and can easily be fixed: No overhead fan or air conditioning. There is a floor fan but it's noisy and the lowest setting was too powerful. They need to add lamps on the night stands. The room is too dark and the overhead spotlight over the bed is too bright. The bathroom sink is too small and it was hard not to splash water onto the floor. There was only one bar of soap, so just add an extra one. This really is a quaint and friendly property, but for the price, I think the rooms need to be kicked up a notch with some of the basics.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and review. We truly appreciate when our guests give us such great feedback - it means we have reached the right market.

You are exactly right that the ceiling fans with a light are needed and in fact we are preparing to install in October. While the mountain nights are chilly, we have learned that the warmer mid-summer days do require more air circulation than we originally thought. We have just completed our major renovation and a few upgraded furniture pieces, the fans and lights, some exterior work and expanded market cafe are our finishing touches this fall.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Vt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

From the friendly greating to the amazing beds,linens, pillows and bathrooms, this hotel never failed to exceed our expectations! The simple, fresh breakfasts that can be eaten on a quaint little deck, by the fire or in your room, were exactly what we needed to jumpstart our days and we truly enjoyed riding one of their bicycles along the beach at sunrise each morning. The rooms were well apportioned, clean and nicely decorated plus the bathrooms were not only roomy but the showers were works of art with their stone work. While this hotel is only a block from the casinos and beach, its quiet surroundings and unique decor totally escaped the hotel-chain feel. Can't recommend this facility strongly enough and will definitely stay again whenever we are in the area. Thanks for the Sangria happy hour as well!! Also note, the hotel was willing to match the lowest rate posted on the internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We needed a reasonable place to stay while meeting friends in the area. It was clean, pretty quiet and comfortable.ideally we would have preferred a more remote place and didn't realize it was right downtown but it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

As other reviews have pointed out, the Avalon may look like your ordinary motel from the outside, but it is not. It is a hidden gem. We did not see any sign of the ongoing renovation -- everything was in order. The room was spacious and with a fireplace (which we did not need in July), the carpet was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom featured a huge, beautiful shower and white robes. The windows had yet to be renovated, bot other than that everything was perfect. The location was great -- a short distance from a private beach and several local attractions and restaurants, yet very peaceful. The staff was nothing short of spectacular. Best of all, the free breakfast: a bowl of fresh blueberries, home-made cake, fresh yogurt, juice, oatmeal... What a welcome change from the horrific waffle machine, plastic eggs, and mystery meats of the chain hotels. One more thing: we had no reservations, it was a mid-week two-night stay during a road trip; we saw the online room rates before walking in but did not book online. At the desk, they offered us a walk-in mid-week rate that was half (!!!) the online one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.