We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodelled rooms, Bad Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stateline Economy Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stateline Economy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Stateline Economy Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   966 La Salle, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Remodelled rooms, Bad Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Nice rooms. Remodelled rooms with new & comfortable bathrooms. Hotel is right across the street from the Gondola and so is very convenient. Do not expect anything for breakfast. There was no place even to sit and have breakfast - we had to take the coffee to our room!!

Room Tip: Try to have rooms on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    4
    2
    18
See reviews for
10
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed in Lake Tahoe many times many different hotels but this one has the best location and price! Front desk was very nice, room was very clean. Room has fridge and microwave... only bad thing is the towels were very old and cheap. Overall good place to stay.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This place was in the perfect spot but it was so disgusting. The refrigerator smelled like dead fish. There was mold in the shower. They didn't use a fitted sheet on the bed, just a flat sheet so it wouldn't stay on. There were small chunks of plaster all over the bathroom counter & floor.The bathroom door didn't stay shut & the shower door would hit it. To get out of the shower, I had to reach over the shower door, push the bathroom door shut hard then open the shower door fast before the bathroom door opened again.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This hotel/motel is a bit outdated. As for the A/C a lot of people do not realize that in South Lake Tahoe, CA. those can be far and few between due to the fact most of the time it is not actually needed. There was a standing fan in our room and it did the job. It was cool enough that in the middle of the night I actually had to turn it down or off. It was a disappointment that the pool or the so called spa was not up and running but due to the drought situation we took that into consideration, after all this place does offer you a beach pass for free!
They could really use a decent maid as the bathroom shower had quite a bit of soap scum on it... New curtains that completely cover the windows would be another plus, (I wedged ours into the window ceil) It is quite sparse when it comes to parking, we had to move several times to accommodate other per the Managers request. This motel office does not open till 7:30 which upset my husband as he wanted coffee and could see that it was made but was not allowed to have any even though the manager was there!?! We stayed for 5 days and were treated quite well, would we stay again? I think we would but would definitely want a different room where we would not have to smell the marijuana from the guy & lady who resides on the top floor, this was brought to the managers attention and he said he had called the police but they don't care...hum! Great location when it comes to walking to desired places... My husband love the comfort of the bed!!!

Room Tip: check the room out after you get your key, if unsatisfied request a different room...we preferred th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We got there and the front desk seemed nice. Got up to our room and it was 95 degrees in there, went to turn on the AC and relax after a long drive. IT DIDN’T WORK. Went to the front desk and he said “some AC’s work and some don’t”, asked for another room and he said “no other room” then he said “there is a fan in there”.. ugh.. Then we go to take a shower and cool off and there is hair all over the shower and looked like it wasn’t clean at all. Toilet was dirty. The room had a funky smell. The neighbor had his TV to volume of 100. We left and barley went back long enough to sleep and get out of there.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed here a couple weeks ago while attending concert at Harvey's.
Grime on door jambs, hair on sheets, dust on headboards, black marks on towels.
Shredded carpet inside and out, pool and hot tub not open probably for years.
Patched curtains. Have stayed in shabby but clean rooms for less.
Pay a little more somewhere else and save yourself this experience.
Manager/owner had nerve to ask if all okay when passing us in parking lot as we were checking out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel appeared to be updated with granite counter tops and refrigerators in every room, however there were a few things that were a little too dirty for my liking. We had lipstick stains on the hand towel, and hair in the drain in the bathroom. Other than that, everything was fine for a one night stay. The price was right. Very close walk to Heavenly Village and the beach.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floor to avoid the noise from the parking lot, this motel style lodging and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stateline Economy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stateline Economy Inn & Suites

Address: 966 La Salle, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stateline Economy Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stateline Economy Inn and Suites is a South Lake Tahoe Motel located across the street from Heavenly Ski Resort's Gondola and the Marriott complex with shopping, dining and entertainment. Gambling, golfing, and water sports are all nearby. For winter fun, Squaw Valley Ski Resort, Heavenly Mountain Ski Resort, and Sierra at Tahoe Ski Resort are all close to the Stateline Inn and Suites.The pet friendly Stateline Economy Inn amenities include a free continental breakfast, free high speed internet access, and parking is always free.All guest rooms feature free high speed wireless internet, hair dryer, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, alarm clock radio, free local calls, iron and board. All pets are welcome at a fee per pet, per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stateline Economy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stateline Economy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stateline Economy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.