We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel Ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worst Motel Ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Upon arriving late at night during one of the coldest weekends in Tahoe history, we were less than thrilled to learn that the room to which we were assigned did not have heat. Even less thrilling was the visit from the "maintenance" man who confirmed that we had no heat but could do nothing about it. After the maintenance man spent several minutes on the phone with the manager, it seemed as if we were going to get a different room.

The manager assured us that he would be over within five minutes with keys to a new, heated room. Ten minutes later, I had to call him to ask where he was. Another ten minutes later, I was at the front door of his office, collecting a new key.

The second room was worse than the first: not only did it not have heat, it also didn't have power. There was just enough light shining in from the outside lights to make out a bed with no sheets.

One star for not making a fuss out of giving me a refund.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a great value! I stayed for a week and enjoyed the close proximity to Heavenly and many shops and restaurants. I liked the staff and my overall experience and I will be back to stay here as the price and the location are unbeatable.
The only con I experienced is spotty internet service offered by the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a fireplace and jacuzzi room, the first week of Jan 2013. It was so nice to come in after a day in the snow, to a jacuzzi, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a comfortable bed. My husband, I, and our teenage daughter were very happy with the cozy accommodations. It may not be as modern as some of the fancier hotels, but this was a really good value for the money. The breakfast was simple, but sufficient, and the staff, and the manager, Ron, were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ron, the manager their is very friendly. Room was recently renovated so it was very nice and clean. Its very good place to stay. Not expensive either. pillows were comfy. no stains on sheets.
Comfortable bed. It was quiet at night and the heat worked very nicely. Had a jacuzzi in room. It was clean and warm. so if you want to stay in lake tahoe and want best value for money then thiis is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We reserved our room through the group card and would NOT have stayed here had I seen it first. I could not cancel the room. I reserved one with a fire place---no fire place. Water stain on the all Dingy grey pillows. Stained comforter. OLD shower stall. The refrig. and mic were there. Didn't use micro----but the refrig is used for my husbands medicine. The furniture is out of the 70's ugly and had a very hard life. I haven't slept on the bed.---Thinking of brining my blanket out of the car and my own pillow. So not up to the other choice privilege places. Worst place I've stayed at in 10 years.

Room Tip: Ask to SEE the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for some cheap place to stay - here it is... I would definitely not recommend any one to stay here but if you dont want to spend too much on your accommodations, just stay here. I m glad that this motel atleast serves good breakfast :-)

Room Tip: get a suite room or jet a double queen bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

So after reading some reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. Finding this place was super easy, as it is right on the "strip". When we first walked in, there was a fabulous heart shaped hot tub to greet us. (first stop after that was safeway to get Mr.Bubble ;) with heated tile floors in the tub room as well as the bathroom. The king sized bed was a bit firm for our liking, but after a long day in Tahoe, it was great. Tv was a flat panel. Room also had a mini fridge and microwave, but no alarm clock.
Ron, the front desk guy, was pleasant. The breakfast was pretty simple, toast, english muffin, cereal, coffee and tea.
Overall Tahoe is stunning, one of the most beautiful natural places we have ever visited, and the Econo Lodge did not disrupt this wonderful trip whatsoever.

Room Tip: Get a heart shaped hot tub room, very romantic, and relaxing after a long Tahoe day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel
Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.