We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not chose this motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #50 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“Do Not chose this motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We reserved our room through the group card and would NOT have stayed here had I seen it first. I could not cancel the room. I reserved one with a fire place---no fire place. Water stain on the all Dingy grey pillows. Stained comforter. OLD shower stall. The refrig. and mic were there. Didn't use micro----but the refrig is used for my husbands medicine. The furniture is out of the 70's ugly and had a very hard life. I haven't slept on the bed.---Thinking of brining my blanket out of the car and my own pillow. So not up to the other choice privilege places. Worst place I've stayed at in 10 years.

Room Tip: Ask to SEE the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for some cheap place to stay - here it is... I would definitely not recommend any one to stay here but if you dont want to spend too much on your accommodations, just stay here. I m glad that this motel atleast serves good breakfast :-)

Room Tip: get a suite room or jet a double queen bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

So after reading some reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. Finding this place was super easy, as it is right on the "strip". When we first walked in, there was a fabulous heart shaped hot tub to greet us. (first stop after that was safeway to get Mr.Bubble ;) with heated tile floors in the tub room as well as the bathroom. The king sized bed was a bit firm for our liking, but after a long day in Tahoe, it was great. Tv was a flat panel. Room also had a mini fridge and microwave, but no alarm clock.
Ron, the front desk guy, was pleasant. The breakfast was pretty simple, toast, english muffin, cereal, coffee and tea.
Overall Tahoe is stunning, one of the most beautiful natural places we have ever visited, and the Econo Lodge did not disrupt this wonderful trip whatsoever.

Room Tip: Get a heart shaped hot tub room, very romantic, and relaxing after a long Tahoe day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THE OWNER/MGR BALWINDER GILL OWNER OF B&B HOSPITALITY LLC HAS QUESTIONABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE PRACTICES. I accidentally reserved 2 rooms on the internet instead of 1 using my points. I spoke with Balwinder that night and he said he would cancel the extra room. When I called Choice priviledges the next day to ask for the points back i was told they would need to get permission from Balwinder. When they called Balwinder he refused to give up points saying he had held the room. Hmmm.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would differ with some of the recent reviews. This is NOT a resort or luxury hotel and is NOT priced like one.
For the price, I can't complain and have stayed here on several occasions. There is a microwave, refrigerator, free internet (you don't get all these in many of the resort hotels). Even a fireplace. Room is small, but beds are comfortable and room is clean. Didn't have the breakfast, as many appealing restaurnats are close by.
Manager is always helpful, whether it be for internet services, calling a cab, or whatever else is needed.
If you need a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price, this fills the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Lake Tahoe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

In the history of inn keeping...even when Mary and Joseph were denied room at the Inn and stayed in the stable....has there been such a horrible motel rental! AC did not work....manager had to re pug it in to another socket. Three of 6 days wifi did not work and two of six days no room service or fresh towels. Windows were so filthy you could barely see out of them.
Indian family innkeepers did barely enough to make things right. Don't mean to generalize ethnic backgrounds but they seem to always give barely enough to satisfy the customer. So cheap ! Pay $10 bucks a night more and stay at Motel 6 !

Room Tip: Stay away from this one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We traveled in California for 2 weeks and this was the worst motel we visited. We stayed there on June 25 2012. The room was dirty and it smelled, the bathroom was very poorly maintained, we slept under our own covers as the bed did not look clean. Not worth the money you save. The manager was unfriendly. The breakfast , again was the worst out of 14 days we spent traveling, poor choice, toast and grape jelly as main menu.
Monika U

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.