We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE - GREAT PRICE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE - GREAT PRICE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was hesitant at first since there was a wedding chapel on the premises. The owner, Ron, showed me a 2 queen bed room. Everything looked clean, had a fireplace and flat screen TV. I was even more pleasantly surprised to find upgraded bedding, i.e., down comforters between 2 clean sheets and a high quality bedspread. Ron was most accommodating when we reported slow water pressure and the problem was resolved when we came back to the room after a day of sightseeing. Wi-Fi was slow but he explained he was changing the router system over to a more efficient one. I was sorry we didn't stay there the second night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    10
    15
See reviews for
16
9
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I will admit that the check in process was slow. However, once in our room everything was as expected. The beds were comfortable (not better than my serta at home, but me and my wife slept well). The hotel appears to have been recently renovated and under new management (as per the clerk at the front desk). Long story short, we will stay here again. And bearing in mind the price, you will definately get a little more than you paid for :).
-just thought i would take a moment to write something down, because it looks like the only people who took the time to write something down had a bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

After waiting for 10 minutes to get someone to actually check us into our room we were Initially were put into a room that had not even been cleaned, then was switched to a room with a king size bed and only two pillows. When we asked for 2 extra pillows, the manager accused us of having other people staying in our room with us, after I offered to let the manager come inspect our room he declined and advised they would see if they could locate some extra pillows... They never came. The next day after being out all day long, we came back to our room with no fresh towels, no pillows, the bed not made, we were still out of facial tissues. I called the front desk and was told that nothing was done cause the maids said we refused service. After convincing the manager that no one was in our room all day long, we finally got the towels we needed but it took 3 phone calls to resolve that. Overall a very poor and disappointing experience. On top of it all, the bed was in horrible shape, back for both me and my girlfriend's backs and the room overall was not comfortable. Next time I am in Tahoe, I will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010 via mobile

I'm sitting in the room on the computer & my boyfriend was sleeping....all of a sudden, we hear the door open! thank god the latch lock was on! when we confronted the front desk, the clerk acted like it wasn't a big deal. come to find out when he issued the room to us, somehow he entered room "211" on the computer instead of room "212" which was the room we were in. so that means he tried to issue the room we were in to someone else! can you imagine what would have happened if the latch lock wasn't on or if we weren't in the room at the time the strangers were trying to enter? we would have came back to an empty room. laptop & everything else would have been gone!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I would of rather sleep in a sleeping bag on the ground under the stars, then stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Renovated rooms are clean and functional, with a good tv, comfortable bed, decent lighting, micro-fridge and microwave, desk and chair. Wi-fi worked on and off in room, fine in dining area. No coffee maker, iron, or other amenities, and the loose-fitting front door was worrisome. Noise from main drag was audible even in the back room I requested, but that may be true everywhere along busy Lake Tahoe Blvd. I slept well anyway. No A/C, but I didn't need it; old gas wall heater for cold nights. No tub; shower only. Good desk service, mediocre breakfast. The managers are trying hard to get this place up to speed and, for the price, it's acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

stayed there on Memorial day room had a small fridge that make noise like a plane taking off. shower water went from hot to cold and back again, room never got made up we after 1st day. Wall heater did not work they sent someone over to move wires to make a better connection. NO A/C no hair drier they said their would be. even the knobs on the sink were on backwards hot on cold and such. Tried to talk with maid but no english. It was cheap but even for the little money I would not recommend it. no pool and NO INTERNET IN ROOMS

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe

Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.