We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holly's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holly's Place to your Saves list
Holly's Place
1201 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 91651   |  
Hotel amenities
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Holly's place is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Lake Tahoe. The place is especially great for those who travel with pets, as it provides a large, open space for the dogs to run around.

We visited as part of a small wedding party, and it was our first stay at Lake Tahoe. The property is a 10 minute walk to the beach, and nestled in a camp ground area of South Lake Tahoe. It is about a 20 minute drive to Camp Richardson and to some nice hiking at Fallen Leaf Lake. Some of the hotel accomodations are attached units, and there are a couple of cabin suites. The property is ecclectic, as one would expect with most B&B's. Some of the decorations and electronics are a little dated, but I think it adds to the charm of the property overall.

The kitchen area is quite nice and spacious. (though a dishwasher would be nice).

If you are looking for 5 star amenities, fancy beddings, and flat screen TV;s, this isn't the place for you, and you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking to enjoy the Sierra Nevada Mountains, be right around the large pine trees, and sit around a camp fire at night time, this place might be the right one for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to Lake Tahoe to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We picked the perfect place to stay! Very relaxing! Our cabin was perfect for the two of us. At first we were a little disappointed at the lack of up to date electronics - but we quickly learned that we didn't need that here. We soaked up the sounds of birds chirping and the breeze blowing through the trees. Next time we will definitely bring our dog with us. It is so rare to find a place like Holly's. Thank you So much Holly and staff for an amazing visit. We found exactly what we were looking for! Peace and Quiet!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a great weekend getaway at Holly's Place. "Dog friendly" doesn't do this place justice. It is designed for dogs and their people. We had a great time sitting on our front porch, sipping wine, and watching our dog play in the open area with her new dog friends. We were walking distance to several dog-friendly restaurants and a Safeway, but you wouldn't know it when you are inside the gates--inside it is wooded and feels secluded.

The kitchen was small, but had the essentials. There is a large common area with games, a full kitchen, DVDs to take back to your cabin, and we played ping pong outside while the dog explored. Close to hiking and the walking distance to the lake.

The best way I can describe it is to say it was like summer camp for grownups (and their dogs). We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bear's Den, but all of the cabins seemed pretty comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Holly's Place is heaven on earth for great dogs and their people -- located just two blocks from the Lake and 2 miles from Stateline! There are 2+ FENCED and GATED acres of well-maintained, safe grounds with clean and exceptionally well-appointed cabins. Dogs can run free and enjoy the spacious property while people relax, breathe the fresh mountain air and the beautiful accommodations. Comfortable beds, lovely linens, great reading material, videos, DVDs, as well as a super large lodge-like room complete with fireplace, huge wall-mounted TV, ping pong table and well-equipped kitchen - great for larger gatherings. Holly and her staff are not only friendly and helpful but available and so accommodating. Lodging ranges from studio sized cabins to 3 bedroom/2 bathroom houses with full kitchens. Gas grills come with each accommodation. We have stayed with Holly on several occasions in all seasons and each experience has been better than the previous one! We highly recommend Holly's Place for the South Tahoe traveler!

Room Tip: The Bear and Wolf cabins are our favorites! Yes, a bit small, but oh, so cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you have a dog and want to visit Lake Tahoe there really is no better place than "Holly's Place"- a little piece of heaven for you and your 4-legged friend(s). Holly and Karen are the most incredible hosts, they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. I am a regular visitor to Holly's place with my puppy Louis- I love it as we both get a wonderful vacation- Louis, with all the other dogs and me, with the serenity that Holly's place offers. Recommend a million times over- you won't go wrong here!

Room Tip: Holly's place has a range of options- The Tischer is wonderful if you are travelling solo, or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, CA.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I needed to get away for the weekend after suffering a loss in the family. My one stipulation was that I wanted to bring our dog. We found Holly's Place through Dogfriendly.com. It was a perfect oasis for us and a fantastic place to get away and bring your canine best bud. The inninkeepers were so accommodating and all about personal service. Wenloved how we could let our 5 month old puppy out the front door and not have to worry about her... And she had plenty of friends to play with. We'll definitely be back and next time bring the kids!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree National Park, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I found this place when looking for dog-friendly accomodations in Lake Tahoe. It is a sweet little place, great for when traveling with dogs, but it does seem like there are some money issues here. A previous reviewer mentioned all the little "don't do this and that" signs posted about the place and they ARE a little annoying, espec. when you've paid a fairly steep price for a room (or in our case, a cabin). The cabin was clean and, although quite tiny, very comfortable with a loft for our 11 year old which definitely kept her from being underfoot. But, it was about the dog, and this is the PERFECT place if you are traveling with a dog. The grounds are completely fenced in. Upon waking in the morning you simply open the door and let the dog out, just like as if you were at home! There is a little doggy pond for the dogs to play/wade in, and plenty of trees to sniff around. One night we decided to eat out at a restaurant and, after alerting Holly that we were leaving, we just left the dog out on the grounds. He didn't seem to mind and Holly seemed to keep an eye on him and even tried to engage him at one point. The peace of mind we got leaving him was very valuable. Holly and her partner seem to be very nice people and were pleasant to deal with. I would definitely stay here again if traveling with the dog, but i'm not so sure I would stay here if not with a dog mainly because for the price I imagine I could find something more luxurious. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Heavenly Valley Lodge Bed & Brea...
#1 of 4 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly's Place

Address: 1201 Rufus Allen Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 91651
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly's Place is a unique dog friendly cabin retreat. The property includes over 1 acre of fenced in space for the dogs and people to enjoy. While you are here, you can enjoy a safe place for you and your dogs to stay. Whether you are after solitude or wish to meet new people, this is the place for you. We are centrally located, yet of the beaten path, and only 2 blocks from the lake. Many local area restaurants and coffee shops are within walking distance as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Holly's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.