We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it-you waist your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Matterhorn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Matterhorn Motel to your Saves list
Matterhorn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE ON RATES
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it-you waist your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our room was, not very clean and there was a musty and kitchen smell to it. I was not impressed and would not recommend !!! The carpet was very dirty and stained and I did not want to walk around without my shoes. The curtains are dirty and they fixtures were very old and there was a LOT of road noise. When you enter the reception you can see how dirty it is. Have a look at the heater

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am looking at other reviews who talk about nice rooms and clean location... well I guess we were not lucky...

Our room was tiny, not very clean and there was a musty smell to it. The way the room was setup was terrible (you had to jump over the bed to get access to the fridge and microwave). The bathroom felt old and rusty. The worst was the bed: you could feel every single spring as you slid to the middle of the bed. The entire place just seems outdated, old and a little cringy. Maybe we're used to better but overall I was not impressed and would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Exceptional customer service; got free room upgrade; asked for coffee maker and iron -- got both delivered to the room within 2 minutes.
There is no AC in the rooms but it was rather cold than hot in the room so it is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean enough and warm, but eg the jacuzzi was broken and the overall look of the place is quite dated. However, I'd you're on a tight budget, it's an ok choice.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although low on the frills, this is a lovely little motel in South Lake Tahoe. Exceptionally clean, and extraordinary service (friendly and helpful!) from the mother and son who run it. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, etc. Everything is definitely a bit dated, but it doesn't smell, everything works (tv, lights, hot tub, etc.), and you can't beat the price. Perfect for those looking for a very basic bed to crash in at night after a long day hiking/skiing etc. Not recommended for those looking anything fancy or new - this is sort of like staying at your grandmother's house (in a good way, if you don't mind old but clean things). Again, definitely recommended for those just looking for a clean bed to crash in.

Room Tip: Some of the bottom floor rooms have jacuzzis, which are like the oldest hot tubs I have ever seen bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

When we entered the room my boyfriend thought it smelled like cigarettes even though we requested a non smoking room. They sheets were not clean, we weren't sure that they changed before we got there. The carpet was very dirty and stained and I did not want to walk around without my socks. The shower was very small and the temperature was uneven it switched from cold to scaling without warning. There were cobwebs behind the curtains, they fixtures were very old and there was a LOT of road noise. Not to mention that nothing in the rooms has been updated since the 80's.

Room Tip: Use this motel as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Super-clean and comfortable room, especially for the price. Jacuzzi(!) in the room, along with a microwave and fridge. The clerk welcomed us cheerfully, even though we arrived very late (we'd called to let him know). Gave us coupons for a local breakfast spot. I'd return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
4.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#38 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.9 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#13 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Address: 2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Matterhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Matterhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.