We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Motel

Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Motel to your Saves list
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Motel
2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT SAVE MORE
Ranked #33 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean enough and warm, but eg the jacuzzi was broken and the overall look of the place is quite dated. However, I'd you're on a tight budget, it's an ok choice.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although low on the frills, this is a lovely little motel in South Lake Tahoe. Exceptionally clean, and extraordinary service (friendly and helpful!) from the mother and son who run it. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, etc. Everything is definitely a bit dated, but it doesn't smell, everything works (tv, lights, hot tub, etc.), and you can't beat the price. Perfect for those looking for a very basic bed to crash in at night after a long day hiking/skiing etc. Not recommended for those looking anything fancy or new - this is sort of like staying at your grandmother's house (in a good way, if you don't mind old but clean things). Again, definitely recommended for those just looking for a clean bed to crash in.

Room Tip: Some of the bottom floor rooms have jacuzzis, which are like the oldest hot tubs I have ever seen bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

When we entered the room my boyfriend thought it smelled like cigarettes even though we requested a non smoking room. They sheets were not clean, we weren't sure that they changed before we got there. The carpet was very dirty and stained and I did not want to walk around without my socks. The shower was very small and the temperature was uneven it switched from cold to scaling without warning. There were cobwebs behind the curtains, they fixtures were very old and there was a LOT of road noise. Not to mention that nothing in the rooms has been updated since the 80's.

Room Tip: Use this motel as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Super-clean and comfortable room, especially for the price. Jacuzzi(!) in the room, along with a microwave and fridge. The clerk welcomed us cheerfully, even though we arrived very late (we'd called to let him know). Gave us coupons for a local breakfast spot. I'd return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed with my wife. The room was clean and comfortable. It had WiFi and a decent TV. The room was well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for a couple nights at the Matterhorn, and we decided to extend our stay another night. Unfortunately they had already booked every room before we could reserve it a 3rd night. So we were forced to look for another location. The mother and son felt really bad that my family and I had to pack up and find another motel for the night, so they went out of there way to help me find another room in town, which was a very nice gesture.
I'd give the facility a 3* just because it's a little dated on the inside, however, the family who runs the establishment are extremely friendly and the hospitality alone is worth a star in of itself. I would definitely consider staying at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Lesson learned; you really do get what you pay for. I found this hotel on Priceline and will never stay here again.
My Fiance and I were up looking at wedding venues and wanted to keep our trip low cost. Upon arrival, we learned our standard King room had been given away and instead were placed into a 2 Queen room. Okay whatever, I can deal with that.
Entering the room; we noticed four things right away:
1. One of the beds was broken. If you sat on the edge one corner would life up.
2. No towels in the bathroom so we had to request those later on. And then when drying off the next morning after showering; we noticed the towels smelled like curry. Lovely.
3. The ceiling light/fan had exposed wiring and the light bulb was not secure.
4. The shampoo bottle on the counter in the bathroom had been used before.
The only plus was that that heater warmed the place up pretty well and fairly quickly.

We were tempted to check out of the motel that night and grab a room (plenty of hotels closer to the casino had vacancies) at the Fantasy Inn where we've stayed before and love and would have only cost us another $20-30 to stay there instead of the Matterhorn. But we just had a few drinks and stayed out late and dealt with it.
And its true the parking lot is difficult. It's in and out one way and the spots are angled on both sides.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fantasy Inn or Motel 6 even.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Motel

Address: 2187 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Matterhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.