We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, it's a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Green Lantern Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Green Lantern Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4097 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away, it's a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is very close to not liveable. The first room we got looked like a patched over crime scene with the roof caving in. the next room was not much better. Mildew, dirty, patch-up work everywhere and water coming in when it rains. We checked out one night early, although we had already prepaid through an online booking service, because it was not bearable to stay any longer. Don't book this place. It's a dump!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    11
    7
    15
See reviews for
9
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are looking for bells and whisltes, this is not your place. The Green Lantern is a small older motel. Rooms are dated, bed is hard, but if it is just a place to spend the night to enjoy the Tahoe nightlife or an event...it works. Located within walking distance to the Stateline casinos and dining options. They do have a large 5-bedroom unit with full kitchen for large parties and families. The pool is small with limited seating area (only 2 tables with maybe 6-8 chairs and 2 loungers) where we enjoyed some vibrant conversation with other guests. We were able to check into our room earlier than the posted check-in time of 3:00, a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I always disenfect...no matter where I stay. This was a last minute pick and location is great...but the rooms could use some kind of air freshner. The room didn't stink...but it wasn't welcoming. After Lysol, scrubbing bubbles abd Clorox wipes...I can do four nites here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The motel looks old and shabby. The room we got had broken door into bathroom and stained carpet, old TV and even older looking furniture.

But overall we enjoyed our stay. The beds and the bathrooms were clean and fresh, the location was perfect (walking distance to the beach, food/groceries and the casinos). It's also far enough from the street so it's very quite and we had nice refreshing sleep over.

The breakfast was just coffee and muffins, we liked them. The Internet was ok and the staff was friendly.

I would actually stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great pricing and location. Rooms were dated and had the smell of an older hotel. Walking distance to casinos. Free wi-fi. The front desk representative gave excellent service and was was friendly. The check in and check out process was very smooth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying at the Green Lantern for five years, two years of this was every weekend. The family has been more than accommodating to any request I've ever had. The hotel is older and does show the normal wear and tear but it is clean and very well maintained! If you have any requests or need advice for hidden treasures off the tourist trap they will gladly share!!! I don't understand people's complaints, you are paying $30 a night most every weekend, you aren't going to have your own bellhop people.. Take it for what it's worth a great hotel that's in the best location possible! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is well located and priced right.
It's about due for a tear-out and re-do, but it's still ok for the price.
Maybe if they just repaired the sheetrock, stopped the shower from flooding the bathroom floor, and refurnished it, it would be a lot better.
Oh, and those heating units are NOISY!

Room Tip: The rooms in the older section have very noisy heating units. Ask about a room that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Lantern Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn And Suites
Green Lantern Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Green Lantern Hotel
Address: 4097 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Lantern Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Green Lantern Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Lantern Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.