We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always bring your Bleach.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Green Lantern Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Green Lantern Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Lantern Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4097 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always bring your Bleach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I always disenfect...no matter where I stay. This was a last minute pick and location is great...but the rooms could use some kind of air freshner. The room didn't stink...but it wasn't welcoming. After Lysol, scrubbing bubbles abd Clorox wipes...I can do four nites here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    11
    7
    16
See reviews for
9
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The motel looks old and shabby. The room we got had broken door into bathroom and stained carpet, old TV and even older looking furniture.

But overall we enjoyed our stay. The beds and the bathrooms were clean and fresh, the location was perfect (walking distance to the beach, food/groceries and the casinos). It's also far enough from the street so it's very quite and we had nice refreshing sleep over.

The breakfast was just coffee and muffins, we liked them. The Internet was ok and the staff was friendly.

I would actually stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great pricing and location. Rooms were dated and had the smell of an older hotel. Walking distance to casinos. Free wi-fi. The front desk representative gave excellent service and was was friendly. The check in and check out process was very smooth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying at the Green Lantern for five years, two years of this was every weekend. The family has been more than accommodating to any request I've ever had. The hotel is older and does show the normal wear and tear but it is clean and very well maintained! If you have any requests or need advice for hidden treasures off the tourist trap they will gladly share!!! I don't understand people's complaints, you are paying $30 a night most every weekend, you aren't going to have your own bellhop people.. Take it for what it's worth a great hotel that's in the best location possible! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is well located and priced right.
It's about due for a tear-out and re-do, but it's still ok for the price.
Maybe if they just repaired the sheetrock, stopped the shower from flooding the bathroom floor, and refurnished it, it would be a lot better.
Oh, and those heating units are NOISY!

Room Tip: The rooms in the older section have very noisy heating units. Ask about a room that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Not perfect but I have stayed there for 25 yrs. I have family there and this Motel is close to everything anyone needs. It has keys to the private beach with a a very nice place to eat on the beach. What you dont get in the room, you get outside of it.
I would honestly check this one out for yourself.

Room Tip: They also have a small home for rent too. Ask about it. I think it has room for 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I Dont know how this place is still open for service , we arrived at 3pm TAHOE , THERE was beer bottles in front of ever room. there was 10-15 ppl.. drinking in the parking lot., we checked into our room #110 there where stains on all the walls,from food or some kind of body fluids, the room states no smoking, yet there are ppl. standing in there door ways, smoking***and that would be the good part, ... the worse part, is that when we checked into our room #110 in the bathroom there is a 2 X 2 board nailed in the bathroon roof, then i seen that there was water pouring from the roof into our shower from the toilet / shower of the room above us.and the mang. told us there nothing he could do. they were full , but he might be able to let us into another room to shower,and go back to our room to sleep.
there were ppl. out side the rooms drinking until 3am in the morning,

Room Tip: dont do it, this place is not a good motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlanterntahoe, Manager at Green Lantern Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
This guest stayed at the motel during memorial day weekend. Late in the evening they mentioned that the water from the shower upstairs is leaking into the shower stall downstairs. It was already late in the evening so our maintenance person had already left for the day. We offered to give the guest full refund for the reservation which the guest declined. Eventually we managed to find them a different room upstairs. After they moved into the new room I personally called them and they mentioned that everything is fine in this new room. When they came by the lobby to checkout the next morning I apologized for the inconvenience for the night prior & they again mentioned that everything was fine in the new room. Even though the guest stayed in the room for the night and did mention the next morning that room was OK, they been asking to get a full refund for that night. I don't see a reason why they should get a full refund after they spent the night & mentioned twice upon asking that everything is fine in the new room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.5 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#48 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#30 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Vil...
#40 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Villa North Lodge
Tahoe Villa North Lodge
#47 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Budget, Free Pa...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Tahoe Chalet Inn
#39 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Spa, Budget, Po...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#42 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lantern Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Address: 4097 Manzanita Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Lantern Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Green Lantern Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Green Lantern Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Lantern Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.