We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continental breakfast?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Inn to your Saves list
Apex Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1171 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“continental breakfast?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beware of the Continental Breakfast- one of those packaged pastries you buy in a huge box at Costco. The hotel is really an old motor court with tiny rooms. The price was too high for such a tiny place and such weak breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
14
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great restaurants nearby. Friendly service. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at apex inn. This summer time. We enjoyed our stay.apex inn provide very clean and nice room.wi fi works great .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was one of the best Budget hotels I have ever stayed at, anywhere. I am a travel writter so I have a lot to compare. The reception staff was nice, the room was clean, smelled good, everything worked. The have in roon coffee maker and fridge. The best thing after the good rate is... they plough the snow out of the parking lot and provide you with brushes to get your car out after a snowy night. The room's size could be classified as cozy. This is exactly what you need if you are skiing during the day and need a place to sleep, that is pleasant, clean, quiet and affordable!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed here over the weekend. Arrived late with no problems checking in. WiFi available but was slow. Booked a 2 double-bed room which came with a small TV, microwave, mini-fridge, small table, and one chair. No problems with the heater. The room is supposed to fit upto 4 people, but felt it would be too small for 4 adults. The bathroom was small, had only a small shower stall (no bathtub); the inn provided shampoo packets, lotion packets and facial soap. Other reviews had mentioned thin walls, but it's hard to tell since no one was staying in the room next to us or below us. Overall, it's a very basic inn with a convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Small but friendly, clean and neat. The Apex was a wonderful solution for our family vacation. Half of our family was camping at the Encore RV Park, but we didn't have camping equipment. We were able to stay at the Apex Inn and walk a very short distance (1/10 of a mile) to the campground. Best of all, our rooms had AC, so in the evenings, we could get away and cool off. Next door to a wonderful Italian place and across the street from the best pizza I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

rooms are small, but very clean. location a bit off from heavenly, but convenient if you ski at kirkwood. for the money paid definitely a good deal, and there is restaurants in walking distance!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Apex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Inn

Address: 1171 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apex Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apex Inn is conveniently located on Emerald Bay Road, Hwy Fifty-Eighty-Nine. in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. We offer clean, quiet non smoking rooms in a serene Alpine setting near the campgrounds. We are also near restaurants, shopping, ski resorts and other Lake Tahoe activities. Come stay with us and enjoy South Lake Tahoe in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Hotel Lake Tahoe
Apex Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.