We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great two night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was out first stay at Alpenrose and we'll be back.

First of all, the Inn was located at a great location - a couple of blocks away from the main streets so we didn't hear any traffic noise, but was still close enough walk to restaurants and Raley's. A semi-private beach - when the teenagers were there to man the gate - was only 5 minute walk away. The best part was that being hotel guests, we had free passes to the beach for the duration of our stay! It would have cost us $5 per entry otherwise.

The hotel check-in was no hassle. Hannah was there and she tried to multi-task a lot. Funny thing was that she loved Lake Tahoe so much that she moved there to do more outdoor activities. Maybe someone forgot to tell her that running an Inn was probably not the best way to go about it...

The lobby was cozy and nicely decorated. There were huge pine cones (some the size of pineapples) lining the lobby with some indoor plants dotting the surroundings. They were building a new stairwell leading to a new upper deck when we were there.

We booked a double room and it was ready when we arrived early afternoon. The toiletries were mostly organic products so we appreciate the nice touch. We were on the second level and our neighbors were quiet and considerate. The beds were nice, not too soft.

Continental breakfast was included in the stay. John was at the front desk in the mornings and he was a character. He was very friendly and took the time to show us some places we could visit around the lake. I could tell that he loved the outdoors and encouraged us to visit other national parks.

All in all it was a pleasant stay that didn't cost us an arm or leg.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    72
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
58
181
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just got back from a weekend at the Alpenrose Inn. On arrival the staff was very welcoming and gave us all the information we needed for our 2 day stay. We got a pass for the nearby beach and a map with all the places to visit on Lake Tahoe. The best thing is this Inn is walking distance to Harvey's Casino and my husband loves to play Poker. We were so close to Harvey's that we could hear the concert going on at their amphitheater. The room was recently renovated. Room is small but had a King bed and a nice bathroom. There was air conditioning but we did not have to use it as the room had a ceiling fan. Included breakfast as coffee, bagels, danish, bananas, cereal and hard boiled eggs. Perfect weekend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed a couple of nights (with our dog) to enjoy some hiking and biking in cooler weather. Our room was very clean and nice and appeared to be recently remodeled/updated. The location is perfect, within walking distance of restaurants, bike trails, lake, etc. Hannah has added a lot of personal touches...and takes great care of the landscape.There was a pleasant patio area to sit and enjoy a glass of wine (which Hannah provided). Continental breakfast was in a roomy sitting area with lots of windows to look out. In addition to the standard items for self-serve, there was a very nice gentleman who personally served us orange juice and a toasted bagel with cream cheese. He was also very helpful in providing information about the area. One suggestion I would make for the bathroom is to add some hooks to hang clothes while showering or towels to dry. Otherwise, the room was close to perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #4 which was downstairs between two rooms. It had large French doors that provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third stay at the Alpenrose and with vast choices of smaller motels in the stateline
area, we'll continue to stay here because it is a quiet, friendly, consistent stay in a convenient location.
We like the European feel with the friendly staff and continental breakfast in the newly built dining area. Beach access is about a block away, and walking to casinos or the restaurants/shops at Heavenly Village is 5 minutes.

Room Tip: This is a two story motel, so with small kids or older guests you may want to request the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went up for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The location is perfect for access to downtown, casinos, lake and golf. The hospitality was wonderful. Hannah was very helpful pointing out things to do. The room was quaint, extremely clean and comfortable. Overall, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We met Hannah, the innkeeper, who was very hospitable and accommodating. We arrived before the room was ready, and she offered us complimentary passes for walk-on access to the beach while we were waiting. She also recommended having lunch at the nearby Edgewater Bar and Grill, excellent suggestion. She's very knowledgable on the best hiking trails, restaurants, and activities to do in the area. Our room was comfortable, clean, and very quiet. We had a view of two backyards of local houses, which was just ok. It is a motel layout, with a quaint European facade. The building is two story, all room doors are outdoor. She has a very simple continental breakfast (muffins, bananas, etc.). There is outdoor seating available on a rooftop deck, as well as indoor the lobby area. The only thing we missed after a long day of hiking was a nice hot tub to soak in in the evening. This would be a lovely addition. I would definitely recommend this inn to others, as well book a stay here again.

Great tips by Hannah for less crowded (2-3 mile) Hiking trails during the busy summer season / weekends, here's a couple to consider that we really enjoyed:

- Tahoe Rim Trail (Castle Rock)

- Eagle Lake Trail

Also, after hiking Eagle Lake Trail, be sure to make a pit stop at the very popular Richardson's Ice Cream Parlour on the way back to the Inn. :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor is always best to reduce overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I visit the Lake Tahoe area once a year and this time chose to stay at the Alpenrose Inn.We were so happy that we did! Hannah was very helpful and also proud of her fine establishment. The new addition of a sunroom and terrace gave us the chance to enjoy the continental breakfast while visiting with other travelers in a lovely setting. The location was perfect! We were within walking distance of a private beach, restaurants and casinos. Super quiet, nicely decorated, clean rooms....we will be back.

Room Tip: We chose a room with fireplace and kitchenette. Perfect for our needs during our four night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.