We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Room at the Alpenrose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sugar Land, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Room at the Alpenrose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I always stay at the Alpenrose Inn for our yearly visit to South Lake Tahoe. This year Hannah surprised us with her newly remodeled room, the Heavenly Suite. This is a wonderfully decorated room. It has a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub with a separate tiled shower. I really enjoyed the glass enclosed fireplace which separates the bedroom from the large living area, complete with a sofa and coffee table. The kitchen is also large with windows looking out to the open field next door. It has a full size kitchen table for 4 and a separate seating area for 2. The room is very spacious and bright. We always stay for a week so this is the perfect room for a long visit. Thanks Hannah for the wonderful service and great hospitality everytime we stay at the Alpenrose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    68
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
178
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Alpenrose Inn, a wonderful location only a 10 minute walk to casinos at Stateline. Hannah, the owner, made us feel welcome and provided a map with information. At this time of year there were not many people here. We had Room 1, the Tranquility room on the first floor, which had a nice king size bed, flat screen TV, in-room coffee, everything was very clean and comfortable. It is a 5 minute walk to the lake. The location amid pine trees is very quiet and tranquil. The breakfast is simple, but adequate, there is no breakfast room but trays are provided to take the breakfast back to your room. There is construction for a new breakfast area but was not a problem. We had a great stay and highly recommend Alpenrose Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are very convenient to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were way off-season, so having some construction/repair work being done on the property with accompanying noise was to be expected. Considering the inconvenience, we were upgraded to a beautifully decorated suite with a central fireplace and wonderful bath. The owner/manager, Hannelore, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The location is perfect--easy walking distance to the lake & beach, and the casinos across the state line. Add to that a delicious cold breakfast with plentiful hot coffee and a fair price. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for four nights.The hotel is 2 minutes off the main road through south lake tahoe.Its so quiet at the hotel.Hannah the owner made us very welcome and had maps and marked were to go for walks and what to see in the area.Our room was really clean and comfortable.Others have stated the breakfast room is small and yes it is,but building work was just starting to extend the breakfast room.The breakfast itself didnt have much choice but was adaquate.
We really enjoyed our stay here while visiting lake tahoe and the scenery is really breathtaking

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Alpenrose Inn, just a few blocks off the main drag.
Close enough to walk but not all the noise associated with town.
Absolutely charming individually decorated rooms, many with gas fireplace/stoves.
Not the rubber stamped rooms of the chains.
Fabulous beds, perfect after a soak in the private hot tub...
Microwave/mini fridge/wet bar, complete with real china, silverware, and wine glasses.
Extremely friendly attentive owner and staff.
Three nights wasn't long enough at the Alpenrose Inn!

Room Tip: Any room would be comfortable! There are also suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelias, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice looking place, very cozy in a quiet area just off the main road. Visited it for 2 nights with my wife. We absolutely loved our stay, very friendly reception, with our hosts quickly (at arrival) giving us maps and pointing out what to visit, etc.
Our room was spacious, shiny clean, with a nice flat screen and comfortable beds.
We wished we could stay longer but were off to continue our US vacation tour.
Only minor thing, the breakfast was kinda poor and the breakfast area is very tight (reception roomd). Would go again tho in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, take a ground floor room, upper floors don't seem to have elevator (or at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The Alpenrose is literally 20 seconds drive from the Nevada state line and the massive casino hotels, and just minutes away from Heavenly village and the main highway through South Lake Tahoe, but it's situated on a very quiet back street, one block from the beach (which is excellent, and the Alpenose gives guests a beach pass) and is very quiet and peaceful. The rooms seem to have different facilities - one of ours had what looked like a recently remodelled modern bathroom with a very large shower and shallow sink, but no fridge - and were clean and comfortable, with coffee machines, flat screen TVs and free WiFi. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfast lobby is very small and can only seat two or three guests at a time, which is fine in the summer when it's warm enough to sit on the roof terrace or in the peaceful little garden. We found the breakfast fine, with excellent coffee, hot water for tea, cereal, pastries and some fresh fruit, and John (?) at breakfast was very friendly and full of good tips about laces to visit and good, cheap places to eat. Would happily recommend the Alpenrose, which is very convenient for visiting all the Lake Tahoe attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.