We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay in South Lake Taohe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Beautiful Place to Stay in South Lake Taohe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was in a bind looking for a place to stay for my friends wedding and happened to find the Alpen Rose online last minute. I loved this place! The room was clean, cozy, and decorated with all the right touches. The location is perfect too, close to the casinos, beach, great shopping, and my freinds wedding (supper plus!) I will for sure be staying here again on my next trip to South Lake! Thanks Hanna!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    65
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
171
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for a night as part of our California Road Trip, and it was a highlight for us. The staff were superb giving advice on walks and traffic, and pointing us to the fantastic Labor Day firework display on the lake. The room was classy, clean and well though-out, and the shower room was immaculate. Breakfast was limited, but really enjoyable as we took our tray into the little garden and enjoyed the sunshine. To cap it all, the hotel is located within walking distance of the lake shore and very good restaurants, and it was one of our cheaper hotels on the trip. If you are in South Lake Tahoe (and it is well worth a visit) stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location . . . plus they are very pet-friendly! Inn located 5 minute walk from beach, and 5 minute walk the other way to the base of Heavenly ski resort, and the restaurants, bars, activities associated with it. Inn a bit dated inside and out, but spotless!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our second visit here but this time with our two children aged 10 and 12 who like us loved our short time here. Hannah the owner is lovely and really welcoming and John the breakfast guy a wealth of knowledge and a really great man. Both of them really make the visit special every time. Like before we did some BBQ having bought the food from Raleys just up the road. We really do like staying here and would put this in our top five places to stay anywhere. Thanks guys...we will come back again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, very nice staff and excellent rooms; what else? I shared a room with a friend for 3 days, we had a kitchen with a microwave and a fridge, the room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpfull and gave us good advice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

At first this looked like a charming, smaller hotel with tastefully decorated rooms, fully equipped kitchenette, and within walking distance to the casinos. Unfortunately sound insulation is non existent. We had a downstairs room and it sounded like a herd of elephants was stampeding in the room above. Any doors opening and closing on our floor created loud bangs. The bed was rock hard, the remote for the TV didn't work, and the breakfast consisted of packaged pastries and a banana. I could forgive most of this if this had been a cheaper hotel, but at $200 for the night (including tax to be fair), I was hoping for a more comfortable stay.

The staff were very pleasant and it does not give me any pleasure to give Alpenrose Inn only one star. Perhaps if we had an upstairs room it would have been better but this place did not provide good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel . Facilities were very good in the rooms which were comfortable and clean .
The location was excellent and the owner was very helpful .
My only critasism would be the breakfast . It's a shame there wasn't a better choice .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.