We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Timeless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Timeless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We trusted fellow reviewers and were so pleased with this lovely little inn. Driving up, it looked like a family motel from the sixties and in the best sense it is! The staff is so friendly and helpful, the rooms so large and nicely furnished, and the price so reasonable that it feels as if you've stepped back in time. Even so the flat screen TV, Ipod deck alarm clock, ceiling fan and rare extra of AC in such properties leave no doubt about the commitment to modern comforts. Yes, breakfasts could improve. However, with full coffee makers, fridge and microwave en suite, just pick up a fresh bakery item the night before and enjoy it at your own private dining table or up on the delightful outside deck. The bottom line is this gem is spotless clean, quiet, within walking distance to the main shops at the ski lift, very comfortable and affordable. What more could you ask for in a resort area crammed with cookie-cutter casino hotels and too many family motels that are stuck in time--not surprisingly timeless. We were charmed and will make it our home when in south Tahoe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    72
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
181
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have been coming here for the last 10 years and 2 years ago we missed, then 2013 we came in and found a very beautiful room changed for the better. My wife did not like the colors, but i have no objection. Found the same courtesy and helpfulness, also noticed the change in coffee to a flavorful one, not bad and our room had A/C much to our delight, i have recomended this place to all my friends and they also have nothing but good things to say abour. Keep up the good work Hanna. Look forward to see you in good health next year. Jesus and Suzanne aguilar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg belge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nothing to really complain about in this hotel : helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, quiet neighborhood. Only breakfast was a little disappointing : no eggs, no fruit juices, rather "artificial" pastries but this downside does not justify a poor rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SappiNY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lake Tahoe is beautiful and definitely one of my favorite places to visit. I booked this room for a two-night stay for my mother and me. We wanted a place that was clean, safe, and relatively inexpensive. We had the Black forest room on the second floor. It was well-supplied with utensils, plates, fridge, a small dining table. The manager and another older gentleman who worked at the front desk were very helpful in giving us tips and where/what to visit, places for lunch, etc. However, we did face some issues like one of the restaurants being closed for lunch and only open for dinner and another problem with directions to a certain location based on their recommendations, so you should double check things and routes before departing. The main reason I'm giving this place a 3/5 is that from the website it seemed to pride itself as being an inn/ B&B with a European touch. The breakfast was MINIMAL, which for a B&B is very disappointing. We are not big eaters so we managed ok, but they mainly had cereal and a few baked pastries that did not look fresh or appetizing at all. I think they had fruit as well. If you are a big breakfast type person you will probably have to supplement with another meal. We also had an issue with our toilet not flushing SEVERAL times during our stay. Once we had to call the manager who advised us that it was a European model designed to save water.... what's the point of saving water if the darn thing doesn't flush and you have to press the button several times? She was aware of this and stated she will probably opt for a wester type flush.

Some highlights are that it was is walkable to the downtown area where the gondola ride is (which is definitely overpriced, but was a cool experience). Also the casinos are right there as well as some shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed here twice, both times we really enjoyed it. This is a gem of a property, well maintained, very nice rooms - each decorated differently. The property is close to everything the South Shore has to offer, a short walk through the quite neighborhood and you are at the lake, you are within walking distance to restaurants, stores and the State Line. The staff here are very friendly and this is a dog friendly property too. A light continental breakfast is provided each morning for the guests

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floor are "pet friendly". The Tahoe Room is very nice, our favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again and for your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We purchased a 3 day package from Sinqueaway so we got a very good off season price. We brought along our shih tzu so that added $10 a day, which we considered reasonable. Please note though the pet fee has been increased to $15 per day.

We were initially given room 1. Upon entering the french doors I noted the wall hung flat panel tv, the overall space of the room and the down home coziness of the accommodations. I explored the area and found to my delight a large walk in shower and what appeared to be fairly new bath furnishings. What was a little uncomfortable was the smell of the room. I really have no idea what exactly it was but due to my highly sensitive olfactory senses I found it off putting. As I was considering to request a change of rooms I was asked by an employee if we would mind changing rooms. The room we were given was carpeted and the room next door usually reserved for pets had laminate wood flooring, obviously a much better situation for animals. (that solved the odor problem)

The room we settled in was again large and accommodating. Alas it had a regular bath but was more than sufficient. The king bed was comfortable and warm. We were given two sheets to cover the comforter so our pal could sleep with us. (a policy that I think all pet hotels should consider) This property probably dates back to the 60's or possibly 70's but has been well maintained and has aged gracefully. It is a motel, no if's and's or but's about it. That being said it is a motel as I remember them in my youth, managed by the owners, and trust me that makes all the difference.

The room had a kitchenette that was well stocked with all the basics you could ask for. There was no stove but does have a nice small microwave. Supplied was dish soap and a sponge. Also supplied were feeding and water bowls for our dog.

The overall appearance of the room was a nod to the alpine location of the motel and inviting.I do think it has been a while since this room was updated but the overall condition was very good. The room did not have a flat panel but the tv worked fine and the property provides cable tv and free wireless internet. The wireless is easily accessed and provides a fairly good connection.

The only negative was the bathroom floor. Along the bathtub and walls was loose dirt, probably from shoes and human hair. This is something that is easily picked up with a vacuum and I was very surprised to find that, especially since the floor is vinyl and should have been mopped. I decided to not make an issue of it and actually wanted to see if it would be addressed the next day during the room cleaning. Unfortunately it was not.

To sum up I would highly recommend the Alpenrose to anyone visiting Lake Tahoe. The location is perfect, the staff and owner friendly, welcoming and the accommodations clean, comfortable and homey, and the price at the right time a true bargain for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review. It is really good to hear what we are doing well, and also very helpful to know what we need to be more aware of--we will certainly make certain that our housekeepers do a more thorough job on the bathroom floor. We are very sorry for that issue, and look forward to seeing you more often. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice location, older property. Would all be fine, except it smells when we come to our room. Like pet odor cover up. So my wife is spraying, we have the window and door open, fan going even though it is chilly, and a candle going. Have complained, but in same room.

Room Tip: Check your room out before you move in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the problems with the smell in your room. Because pets are not permitted in that particular room we are still trying to locate the source, perhaps stuffiness if the room had been closed for a few days. We are sorry that we were unable to move you to another room as the hotel was full. Please give us another try in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.