We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very comfortable hotel in quiet neighborhood (despite rather poor breakfast)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Luxembourg belge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and very comfortable hotel in quiet neighborhood (despite rather poor breakfast)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nothing to really complain about in this hotel : helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, quiet neighborhood. Only breakfast was a little disappointing : no eggs, no fruit juices, rather "artificial" pastries but this downside does not justify a poor rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    65
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
171
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SappiNY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lake Tahoe is beautiful and definitely one of my favorite places to visit. I booked this room for a two-night stay for my mother and me. We wanted a place that was clean, safe, and relatively inexpensive. We had the Black forest room on the second floor. It was well-supplied with utensils, plates, fridge, a small dining table. The manager and another older gentleman who worked at the front desk were very helpful in giving us tips and where/what to visit, places for lunch, etc. However, we did face some issues like one of the restaurants being closed for lunch and only open for dinner and another problem with directions to a certain location based on their recommendations, so you should double check things and routes before departing. The main reason I'm giving this place a 3/5 is that from the website it seemed to pride itself as being an inn/ B&B with a European touch. The breakfast was MINIMAL, which for a B&B is very disappointing. We are not big eaters so we managed ok, but they mainly had cereal and a few baked pastries that did not look fresh or appetizing at all. I think they had fruit as well. If you are a big breakfast type person you will probably have to supplement with another meal. We also had an issue with our toilet not flushing SEVERAL times during our stay. Once we had to call the manager who advised us that it was a European model designed to save water.... what's the point of saving water if the darn thing doesn't flush and you have to press the button several times? She was aware of this and stated she will probably opt for a wester type flush.

Some highlights are that it was is walkable to the downtown area where the gondola ride is (which is definitely overpriced, but was a cool experience). Also the casinos are right there as well as some shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed here twice, both times we really enjoyed it. This is a gem of a property, well maintained, very nice rooms - each decorated differently. The property is close to everything the South Shore has to offer, a short walk through the quite neighborhood and you are at the lake, you are within walking distance to restaurants, stores and the State Line. The staff here are very friendly and this is a dog friendly property too. A light continental breakfast is provided each morning for the guests

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floor are "pet friendly". The Tahoe Room is very nice, our favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again and for your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We purchased a 3 day package from Sinqueaway so we got a very good off season price. We brought along our shih tzu so that added $10 a day, which we considered reasonable. Please note though the pet fee has been increased to $15 per day.

We were initially given room 1. Upon entering the french doors I noted the wall hung flat panel tv, the overall space of the room and the down home coziness of the accommodations. I explored the area and found to my delight a large walk in shower and what appeared to be fairly new bath furnishings. What was a little uncomfortable was the smell of the room. I really have no idea what exactly it was but due to my highly sensitive olfactory senses I found it off putting. As I was considering to request a change of rooms I was asked by an employee if we would mind changing rooms. The room we were given was carpeted and the room next door usually reserved for pets had laminate wood flooring, obviously a much better situation for animals. (that solved the odor problem)

The room we settled in was again large and accommodating. Alas it had a regular bath but was more than sufficient. The king bed was comfortable and warm. We were given two sheets to cover the comforter so our pal could sleep with us. (a policy that I think all pet hotels should consider) This property probably dates back to the 60's or possibly 70's but has been well maintained and has aged gracefully. It is a motel, no if's and's or but's about it. That being said it is a motel as I remember them in my youth, managed by the owners, and trust me that makes all the difference.

The room had a kitchenette that was well stocked with all the basics you could ask for. There was no stove but does have a nice small microwave. Supplied was dish soap and a sponge. Also supplied were feeding and water bowls for our dog.

The overall appearance of the room was a nod to the alpine location of the motel and inviting.I do think it has been a while since this room was updated but the overall condition was very good. The room did not have a flat panel but the tv worked fine and the property provides cable tv and free wireless internet. The wireless is easily accessed and provides a fairly good connection.

The only negative was the bathroom floor. Along the bathtub and walls was loose dirt, probably from shoes and human hair. This is something that is easily picked up with a vacuum and I was very surprised to find that, especially since the floor is vinyl and should have been mopped. I decided to not make an issue of it and actually wanted to see if it would be addressed the next day during the room cleaning. Unfortunately it was not.

To sum up I would highly recommend the Alpenrose to anyone visiting Lake Tahoe. The location is perfect, the staff and owner friendly, welcoming and the accommodations clean, comfortable and homey, and the price at the right time a true bargain for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review. It is really good to hear what we are doing well, and also very helpful to know what we need to be more aware of--we will certainly make certain that our housekeepers do a more thorough job on the bathroom floor. We are very sorry for that issue, and look forward to seeing you more often. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice location, older property. Would all be fine, except it smells when we come to our room. Like pet odor cover up. So my wife is spraying, we have the window and door open, fan going even though it is chilly, and a candle going. Have complained, but in same room.

Room Tip: Check your room out before you move in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the problems with the smell in your room. Because pets are not permitted in that particular room we are still trying to locate the source, perhaps stuffiness if the room had been closed for a few days. We are sorry that we were unable to move you to another room as the hotel was full. Please give us another try in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is super cute and comfy! I would definitely return back and recommend to my friends and family. Staff is super friendly and very informative on places to explore. The rooms are super clean and quite spacious. I actually found this hotel through the ratings and reviews here at Tripadvisor. Alpenrose Inn is definitely a hidden gem! Glad I found it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are very glad you found us as well! Thanks for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Mgmt is very nice! We were close enough to town that we could have walked to dinner if we wanted (we ended up checking out a pub and walking 2 miles back :) ) There was a Groupon deal and when I called the hotel directly to check dates they informed me that the Groupon had sold out but they would honor the rate. We had a newly remodled king room- I think it was the accessible room since it has a walk in shower. It was beautifuly decorated and the bed/pillows were amazing. The website pictures do not do this place justice. It was clean, new flat screen TV, stylish bedding, lamps and fixtures were contemporary. There was a free breakfast- not much but kept up well by the front desk. Soem packaged danishes and a few little muffins. I had honey bunches of oats. They offered what looked like a oat/cranberry breakfast bar that was really tasty. Also, old school locks :) We were given an actual key to our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We are planning in the not-too-distant future to add a breakfast room and should then be able to expand our breakfast offerings. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.