We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets or something else causes smell in room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pets or something else causes smell in room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice location, older property. Would all be fine, except it smells when we come to our room. Like pet odor cover up. So my wife is spraying, we have the window and door open, fan going even though it is chilly, and a candle going. Have complained, but in same room.

Room Tip: Check your room out before you move in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the problems with the smell in your room. Because pets are not permitted in that particular room we are still trying to locate the source, perhaps stuffiness if the room had been closed for a few days. We are sorry that we were unable to move you to another room as the hotel was full. Please give us another try in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    75
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
190
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is super cute and comfy! I would definitely return back and recommend to my friends and family. Staff is super friendly and very informative on places to explore. The rooms are super clean and quite spacious. I actually found this hotel through the ratings and reviews here at Tripadvisor. Alpenrose Inn is definitely a hidden gem! Glad I found it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are very glad you found us as well! Thanks for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, Iowa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Mgmt is very nice! We were close enough to town that we could have walked to dinner if we wanted (we ended up checking out a pub and walking 2 miles back :) ) There was a Groupon deal and when I called the hotel directly to check dates they informed me that the Groupon had sold out but they would honor the rate. We had a newly remodled king room- I think it was the accessible room since it has a walk in shower. It was beautifuly decorated and the bed/pillows were amazing. The website pictures do not do this place justice. It was clean, new flat screen TV, stylish bedding, lamps and fixtures were contemporary. There was a free breakfast- not much but kept up well by the front desk. Soem packaged danishes and a few little muffins. I had honey bunches of oats. They offered what looked like a oat/cranberry breakfast bar that was really tasty. Also, old school locks :) We were given an actual key to our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We are planning in the not-too-distant future to add a breakfast room and should then be able to expand our breakfast offerings. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This cute hotel is very well situated in South Lake Tahoe, very silent and clean.
The rooms are very nice, very good beds, nice decoration and furnitures. The shower was amazing! They have a hot tub perfect to relax after a long day.
The Owners have very good suggestions on what to do, to see, best places to eat...
A very good place to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you! It was our privilege to host your stay with your cousin. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It was my first trip to South Lake Tahoe ever and got tickects from Groupon and enjoyed this lodge/hotel very much. Rooms were very-very clean, nicely decorated, cozy, staff was very friendly. Room had little kichten area with coffe and tea and bathrooms very clean and well decorated. we got more than enough clean towels. they served continental breakfast.I would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your very kind words. It is good to hear that you enjoyed Lake Tahoe, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I purchased 2 Groupon Vouchers (2 consecutive night stays), for a first time visit to Lake Tahoe. It was a much needed getaway for my wife and I. Had no problem redeeming our vouchers for the nights we wanted. Property was easy to find and on check-in we found the front desk to be extremely helpful. We were given some great recommendations for restaurants and things to see as we travelled around the Lake. Our room was tasteful, clean and quite comfortable. Much to be found within a short walk or drive. Not a high end resort hotel, but we weren't looking for one. Great Value. Very Cozy. Would return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the drive around the lake! Very glad you finally made it to Tahoe! Thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I purchased a Groupon voucher last night, called today to redeem it, and they told me they would not honor the voucher because they had no rooms left. If there service while staying at the inn is anything like their customer service before even arriving, it has to be really bad. I will advise anyone I know to stay away from this inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to honor your request. We really do our very best; however as a small inn there are times when we are unfortunately unable to accommodate every guest. Hopefully you will give the Alpenrose Inn another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.