We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable - Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Very Comfortable - Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I purchased 2 Groupon Vouchers (2 consecutive night stays), for a first time visit to Lake Tahoe. It was a much needed getaway for my wife and I. Had no problem redeeming our vouchers for the nights we wanted. Property was easy to find and on check-in we found the front desk to be extremely helpful. We were given some great recommendations for restaurants and things to see as we travelled around the Lake. Our room was tasteful, clean and quite comfortable. Much to be found within a short walk or drive. Not a high end resort hotel, but we weren't looking for one. Great Value. Very Cozy. Would return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the drive around the lake! Very glad you finally made it to Tahoe! Thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    68
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
178
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I purchased a Groupon voucher last night, called today to redeem it, and they told me they would not honor the voucher because they had no rooms left. If there service while staying at the inn is anything like their customer service before even arriving, it has to be really bad. I will advise anyone I know to stay away from this inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to honor your request. We really do our very best; however as a small inn there are times when we are unfortunately unable to accommodate every guest. Hopefully you will give the Alpenrose Inn another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed with my girl friend for 3 nights during the winter. Very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to the Gondola and easy access to restaurants and shops. Very nice hot tub. I would suggest to put a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate your review and hope to have a small refrigerator in the room soon. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This property is well-located and well-managed. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The property was quiet - we were unable to hear even adjacent guests. Management was very friendly and accommodating. In the mornings, they served coffee, tea, cereal and sweet rolls which we were able to bring to our room.
We were in a deluxe king room and would definitely stay at Alpenrose Inn again.

Room Tip: We had a luxury king room upstairs in the corner farthest from the office. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Alpenrose is walking distance from a ton of restaurants, cafes, pubs, the Heavenly Gondola, and a beach on Lake Tahoe. Alpenrose has very nice, clean rooms on the inside; our room even had some memory foam padding on the beds that made them really comfortable. There is a deck on the 2nd floor with chairs. Mid-April was a great time to go - the skiers were mostly gone, but the summer travelers hadn't yet arrived. Only issue we had was the remote control for the TV in our room - the channel up/down buttons weren't working.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and found the beds comfortable. Sorry to hear about the remote control--please let us know so that we can change the batteries. We will do whatever we can to make your stay perfect. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Alpenrose Inn at South Lake Tahoe for a wedding and enjoyed the pleasant stay! Highly recommended, clean and quiet! Compared to the other location that was booked for the wedding, I am so satisfied with the choice we picked for Alpenrose, simply because of the walking distance to the lake and the cleanliness of the Inn. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings were up to date and the front desk staff very friendly! Will have to return again next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for letting us host your stay in Tahoe for the wedding--we look forward to seeing you again! Also, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a Groupon deal and decided to stay for a 1 night at Alpenrose. The location was very good close to stores and other locations. The room wasn't bad at all either. I really like the sink. The room has a modern look so dont let the outside fool you. If I had to come back to Lake Tahoe this would be the place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We hope to see you in the future. We will be planting the spring flowers soon to add color after the winter. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.